We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Stay in San Miguel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Puesta Del Sol
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We love staying at Casa Puesta Del Sol every year. Wonderful views, far enough from town to be tranquil, but close enough to walk into town.
Dan and Gabi are the most gracious of hosts, ably supported by Francisco and the girls.
Breakfast is delicious, especially after a brisk walk around the countryside first and you get to meet so many interesting people at the large family style table

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CaboDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2007

This was our first trip to San Miguel de Allende and it was everything we had hoped for....people, weather, beauty, accommodations. Our stay at Casa Puesta Del Sol was a wonderful experience from our room (Stained Glass) to the breathtaking sunsets on the terrace, where Dan, the owner, joined us several evenings. Francisco was most helpful in recommending places to eat and things to see and do and making reservations for us. The 10-15 minute walk to the Jardin wasn't so bad, but the walk back was rough so you will probably want to take a cab. Be sure to wear good walking shoes. We are looking forward to our next trip to SMA.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MRTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2007

We are from Singapore. It was our first time visiting Mexico and we have gotten lots of tips from our Mexican friends before we went on the trip.They told us that we must stay in the B&B in San Miguel or Guanajuato. We decided that we will stay in one at San Miguel and it turned out to be a wise choice. The B&B is absolutely beautiful and the staffs (Francisco and his team) are wonderful and super helpful. The house is beautifully decorated, with unique theme to each room. It is also located on top of the hill with a excellent view of the beautiful San Miguel town. In the morning, all guests are being served with yummy mexican (or american) style breakfast. All in all, we truly enjoy the stay at the B&B! If you do take a trip to San Miguel, try out this beautiful authentic B&B, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank simpleenjoyment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2006

We (The Traveling Homebodies,) normally travel in the Yucatan and wanted to try something different. We had heard wonderful things about San Miguel de Allende so decided to give it a go.
We arrived late at night from Queretero (QRO) and were shown to our beautiful room at Casa Puesta del Sol. We were up at sunrise, stepped out to our balcony, and were blessed with the most amazing view of San Miguel. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, but each room has a special theme and view. Our room was elegantly decorated,and exceptionally clean.
Our first morning we were greeted by Francisco and the staff in the most genuine manner. We had a wonderful breakfast (they all were great and varried), and pleasant conversation with other visitors. Happy hour at the bar is a MUST so that you understand why this B&B is named Casa Puesta del Sol, House of the Setting Sun. The sunsets ARE "camera friendly," and Francisco's Margaritas are truly A1 zingers! You can walk to town from Casa but you had better have really good walking shoes (you know, the really ugly ones that you really didn't want to bring)--- Plently of downhill and up on cobbles. Taxis are readily available and inexpensive if needed. San Miguel de Allende is everything that we expected and much more. The colonial architecture is magnificent, and the colors at every turn joyful. There are many nice restaurants withing walking distance of Casa, or El Jardine, the town square. Tour the city by foot if you are able. There are so many special encounters (people and places) that you might miss by bus. For those who shop, San Miguel offers plenty of opportunities. We certainly did our share! --- It is astounding how much one can get done in a short period of time. Our short stay included trips to Guanajuato (do it, do it, do it,) and Queretaro, the industrial hub of the region. Francsico is happy to arrange a qualified driver for your side trips. It has been a month since our vist and we are already dreaming of our return to San Miguel. We will certainly stay with the folks at Casa Puesta del Sol, and look forward to their kindness and hospitality

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelinHomebodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2006

Great B & B..! Just outside of town, with beautiful views.
10 minute walk (downhill..!!) to downtown San Miguel.
Breakfast is the best. Service very good.
Lovely tropical garden with ponds.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kalikgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2006

My fiance and I stayed at Casa Puesta Del Sol for 5 nights and could not have wished for a better experience. The Honeymoon Suite is so beautiful with an outstanding view of the colonial town. Dan, Gabriella, Francisco and the whole staff are very warm hosts. We can't wait to go back.

Stayed: October 2006
Thank lagunajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2006

We loved the property, the people and the views. We will come back.

Stayed: September 2006
Thank george112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#19 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
183 reviews
1 mi away
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
#7 of 153 in San Miguel de Allende
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 153 in San Miguel de Allende
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Don Pascual
Casa Don Pascual
#23 of 153 in San Miguel de Allende
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Carmen
Casa Carmen
#25 of 153 in San Miguel de Allende
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casaluna Hotel Boutique
Casaluna Hotel Boutique
#10 of 153 in San Miguel de Allende
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Puesta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Puesta Del Sol

Address: Calle Fuentes # 12 | Col Arcos de San Miguel, San Miguel de Allende 37740, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £69 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Puesta Del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Puesta del Sol, an intimate San Miguel de Allende B&B experience. This unique hideaway, nestled on a hillside overlooking Mexico's colonial jewel, San Miguel, offers all the modern amenities with old world charm. Whether you're watching a spectacular sunset over coctails on the Sunset Terrace or relaxing and reading in the luscious gardens, you'll find it hard to leave the hospitality and romance of Casa Puesta del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Puesta Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing