We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay but over rated if you are looking for boutique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Puertecita Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place to stay but over rated if you are looking for boutique”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Boutique is an overstament for this hotel. Attention is great from front desk to services. Rooms are clean and comfortable. In my room bathroom had no ventilation wich was really disturbing, brick and tile bathtub does not invite to use it at all.
Pool fine and warm, probably the best experience in the facility. We were looking for spa which we decided not use because it is not much more that couple massage beds. Gym is a joke.
If marketing images would really tell what it really is, there would be no disapoinment on expectations.
Price 20% overrated, Boutique far from

Room Tip: Be sure baths are ventilated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santiago V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    58
    20
    6
    10
See reviews for
40
77
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leon, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Our room was overbooked, but there was no exlanation during we were waiting for 15 minutes,
then we were presented other hotel in the same city. New hotel was much cheaper hotel, but this hotel refused to pay the difference.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank islasolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed on la peurtecita for 2 nights. The Hotel is good, the staff are really friendly. And they know english. The only hiccup was the wifi availability in my room which is not of great concern, if you step into the lobby it works. The restaurant offers really good food.
The location of this hotel is ideal, it is a 15 min walk down the slope to the principal church. The walk back is really difficult, because you have to climp up the slope, which is really steep.
The staff are friendly and polite and solve all your doubts. since mine was a short stay, i would definately visit again and stay at this place.

Room Tip: The Junior suite which I had taken, is really big and has a deck which faces a hill. it is really qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayaram G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel is built in a very nice spot with nice view and room but, for the price charged, offer a very poor service... Swimming pool was not heated (dirty most of the time) breakfast took a long time to be served, hot water in the room was not constant and the reception staff did not really matter with the complaints...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrible_impression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

On the long journey north from Mexico City, the first time one visits the fabled San Miguel, you wonder - is it worth it? Then out of nowhere, seemingly leading nowhere, you pass through a charming old archway, wind along cobblestones lined with lovely Sotheby homes and gracious pastures, the stresses of the industrialized world magically dissipate, and the sanctuary that is La Puertecita couldnt be more welcome. It is true that this private upper part of San Miguel, above the old town, is the perfect place from which to go explore and wearily retire home to. And this boutique hotel and property, supposedly the first of its kind in all of Mexico, gets it right from the genteel, responsive service to the lush, well kept grounds and spacious suites, to the delicious breakfasts. My girlfriend and I stopped into all the special boutique hotels in the town to see what we may want the next trip (Casa Misha was our favorite along with Guadalupe and L'Otel) but we agreed we could easily just stay at La Puertecita evertime.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVEN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay in San Miguel, It is just a few block away from the "Centro Historico" and this allows you to go in less than 5 minutes but it also give you a very quiet stay in the forest. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated in a classic Mexican style. The service is great and the place allows you to disconnect and relax after a long day.

Room Tip: The place is full of stairs so if you are not in great condition ask for one near to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delpalaciodaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We visited San Miguel de Allende for the first time in May 2013. La Puerecita was recommended by friends who visit often.

The setting is perfectly lovely. Perched in the hills east of the Jardine, the hotel avoids the crowds, noise and church bells of San Miguel. It is an easy and refreshing walk to the town center, but my guess is that you will opt for one of the inexpensive taxi rides to get back up to the hotel.

The rooms (some with well furnished living areas and kitchens) are well appointed and architecturally interesting. The gardens and pools that that form the spine of the grounds are lush and attractive.

The reception staff could not have been more helpful. They were very attentive to our every need, and answered questions quickly and effectively.

The end of May is the "low season" for San Miguel, and the property was nearly empty during our visit. We did have very nice meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) in the restaurant, but were pretty much the only ones there. Those seeking excitement should come during the busy season.

We truly felt like "a member of the family" here, and would certainly return.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main building, which we did not see. We were in the middle structure, at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alvinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 mi away
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
#40 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suites & Spa Dona Urraca
Suites & Spa Dona Urraca
#33 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#17 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#9 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#14 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Puertecita Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Puertecita Boutique Hotel

Property: La Puertecita Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Santo Domingo 75 | Col. Los Arcos, San Miguel de Allende 37740, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#9 Spa Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Puertecita Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel is nestled in a tranquil park surrounded by gardens, waterfalls and flowering trees. Its pretty colonial architecture is perfectly combined with sculpted stone-framed windows, colorful and comfortable furnishings, and a traditional Mexican atmosphere that is warm and welcoming. A visit to La Puertecita is a refreshing experience for mind, body, and spirit. Fine dining includes traditional Mexican dishes and international cuisine in an ambiance that reflects the heritage of colonial Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Puertecita Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Puertecita Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing