We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, quiet, relaxing but serious problem with breakfast ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel,gives a good impression immediately on arrival - lovely eclectic decor, light, peaceful, full of plants. The rooms are spacious and attractive with lots of nice attention to detail and comfortable beds. Very well located, near enough jardin Allende and other attractions to walk but very peaceful. Good value for money. BUT .... The breakfast I had was terrible! I ate relatively late (breakfast was from 8 - 11, I was there at 10). I was served coffee from a pot sitting on the side board that had clearly been there for some time as it was completely,stewed and bitter and tepid. The fruit plate had also obviously been sitting around Unrefrigerated for some time and, having ordered scrambled eggs, I was served an omelette that had clearly been cooked hours before and then heated in a microwave which was rubbery and inedible. I was the only one at breakfast and didn't ask for anything that was not on the menu nor did I expect gourmet standard, just a freshly prepared, simple breakfast. Frankly, it was inexcusable laziness from the person supposed to be serving and cooking the breakfast and such a shame when everything else about the hotel suggests real attention to detail and care.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IrlandesaenMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Villa Mirasol was a lovely place to stay in SMA. It was close to the center of town, without being on a noisy street. The breakfast is well down and the service is attentive.

Fair warning, in wandering around town we were shocked how many small, winding streets had large buses traveling down them at all hours. We were lucky in choosing Villa Mirasol and you will be too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This small hotel is uniquely special because of the hotel staff. I had several email communications with Evangelina before we arrived and she was patient, reassuring and organized. Her English is excellent. She arranged for bus tickets from Mexico City and gave us several options for Christmas Eve dinner. Travel to San Miguel went smoothly and after we arrived, she was just as helpful with recommendations and information. The rooms and bathrooms are very large and the decor is old world charm -- comfortable, clean and quiet. The hotel is located just outside the city center and it is an uphill walk to the main square. If you have mobility issues, this may not be the place for you. I've rated the Villa 4 stars instead of 5 because of the restaurant. Food quality was not the best. Breakfast is included but we opted to have breakfast at other establishments. I'd recommend Villa Mirasol highly for anyone looking for good value and a nice stay..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank masapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed four days at the Villa Mirasol hote in San Miguel de Allende, in mid-January .
It is located in a narrow street , like all others, and if outside is nothing special , inside the things changes.
It is a small boutique hotel with only 12 rooms , of which we had three , because we were 5 adults.
From the reception, the waiters , the staff in general , the attention was optimal and friendly.
The breakfast , although not extensive , it was rich, the fruits fresh and the juices very naturals.
The room was very comfortable , with a well equipped bathroom with very good amenities.
The only drawback was the fact that the mattress is too hard.
What is amazing is the tranquility of the place , especially for rest. However, it is a few blocks from downtown .
It does not have parking, but a woman parks your car a few blocks for $ 100 Mexican per day.
I think what you pay for is the best place to stay in SMA , you are one step away from the attractions and there are a lot of restaurants just 5 minutes walk .
I absolutely recommend both the hotel and the city , you find yourself a little closer to heaven .

Room Tip: Ask for the Casita room, it's lovely. Go dinning to La casa del Diezmo and Mexifran, steps away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank migreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were thrilled and surprised by our lovely, spacious, immaculate room in a very good location of San Miguel de Allende. The bed was comfortable and the room was large, with a couch. The hotel itself was a feast for the eyes with lovely artwork and tasteful decorations everywhere we looked. The breakfast menu was somewhat limited, however, even though it filled us up. We thought the price was quite reasonable compared with other places in San Miguel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great experience. Perfect location, lovely rooms and a great price. Reasonable meals and immaculately clean. English spoken and helpful staff. Would recommend to anyone. Rooms are small but comfortable. Would suggest a junior suite with a nice sitting area.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a portable heater. Temps are very cool at night in Jan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This place meets all the creature comfort needs: The rooms are large and quiet, the location in San Miguel is excellent, breakfast is good and staff is reasonably responsive, and friendly. Yet, Villa Mirasol doesn't quite capture the magic of San Miguel. I remember staying at Casa Luna some years ago and the special qualities of that place simply blew me away. More recently, the Posada de las Minas in Mineral did the same. This place, in respect to amenities, furnishings, art, views, is more pedestrian. So, I would say - if you want a comfortable, acceptable place to stay in San Miguel, VM is good. if you want to experience the magic of San Miguel, it falls short though the price/value ratio here is strong.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julesdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#11 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#19 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#14 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#25 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mirasol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mirasol Hotel

Address: Pila Seca #35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 3700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £61 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mirasol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home. The best cozy and romantic please to visit San Miguel de Allende. Moderate rates w/taxes and breakfast included. Ask for special groups or low season packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Mirasol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mirasol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing