We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Hotel Mirasol excels because the staff is exceptional. They really go all out to help you.
The hotel is for those who appreciate unpretentious charm. It is not a luxury hotel--no swimming pool, sauna, etc. Just all the things you need for a comfortable stay.

The location is fantastic, an easy walk from the town center. (Although as far as I'm concerned, no walk in San Miguel is easy--but I'm 80, so I assume it would be easy for others.)

The rooms are all different, some tiny, some huge. All are clean and comfortable, and all have access to a patio for daytime relaxing.

Breakfast and lunch are served in the very pleasant dining area. The offerings are simple, but quite well prepared.

Room Tip: I prefer the LaRosa suite. It is on the ground floor. Most the other rooms are up a steep flight o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    95
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
128
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel is small with only 12 rooms. Its superb location means that you can easily find anything in town from there.

Its not a resort hotel but the staff was helpful. Breakfast was included and there was free wifi.

Lovely decor with a mix of details. The hotel also had a selection of local guide books, which was very helpful.

Excellent value.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BEIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Spent a week in early March 2013 in the La Casita room. We enjoyed the fact that there are only 12 rooms in this hotel. Each day we had breakfast in the hotel as part of our package. The coffee is good which is important to me. They serve a couple of different items each morning and you pick from the items plus there is dry cereal, yogurt etc available. Hint get the french toast when it is offered, it is extremely good.The orange juice was also really good and the eggs had deep yellow yolk. The lunches are basic but adequate when you are between activities. We would walk a short two blocks to the main street and hail a taxi to take us to the top of town. We would often walk back to the hotel. (coming back to the hotel is usually down hill from where you were, most places you might want to go are up up up hill.) However the central plaza is not a bad walk. The staff is very friendly and they will arrange trips for you on request. We enjoyed our room, the bed is firm and you can drink the water. All in all it was a very good place to stay. There is also free wi-fi with a good connection.

Room Tip: Every one we talked to enjoyed there room. There are no real views from the hotel. Most rooms are en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I found this to be a really nice choice. The price of the rooms had me a bit worried when I booked the hotel, but it is plenty nice. The breakfast I had was great, and the room while a little small, was very nice and very comfortable.

Room Tip: A great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hutchensgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel,gives a good impression immediately on arrival - lovely eclectic decor, light, peaceful, full of plants. The rooms are spacious and attractive with lots of nice attention to detail and comfortable beds. Very well located, near enough jardin Allende and other attractions to walk but very peaceful. Good value for money. BUT .... The breakfast I had was terrible! I ate relatively late (breakfast was from 8 - 11, I was there at 10). I was served coffee from a pot sitting on the side board that had clearly been there for some time as it was completely,stewed and bitter and tepid. The fruit plate had also obviously been sitting around Unrefrigerated for some time and, having ordered scrambled eggs, I was served an omelette that had clearly been cooked hours before and then heated in a microwave which was rubbery and inedible. I was the only one at breakfast and didn't ask for anything that was not on the menu nor did I expect gourmet standard, just a freshly prepared, simple breakfast. Frankly, it was inexcusable laziness from the person supposed to be serving and cooking the breakfast and such a shame when everything else about the hotel suggests real attention to detail and care.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IrlandesaenMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Villa Mirasol was a lovely place to stay in SMA. It was close to the center of town, without being on a noisy street. The breakfast is well down and the service is attentive.

Fair warning, in wandering around town we were shocked how many small, winding streets had large buses traveling down them at all hours. We were lucky in choosing Villa Mirasol and you will be too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This small hotel is uniquely special because of the hotel staff. I had several email communications with Evangelina before we arrived and she was patient, reassuring and organized. Her English is excellent. She arranged for bus tickets from Mexico City and gave us several options for Christmas Eve dinner. Travel to San Miguel went smoothly and after we arrived, she was just as helpful with recommendations and information. The rooms and bathrooms are very large and the decor is old world charm -- comfortable, clean and quiet. The hotel is located just outside the city center and it is an uphill walk to the main square. If you have mobility issues, this may not be the place for you. I've rated the Villa 4 stars instead of 5 because of the restaurant. Food quality was not the best. Breakfast is included but we opted to have breakfast at other establishments. I'd recommend Villa Mirasol highly for anyone looking for good value and a nice stay..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank masapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#11 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
952 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Casa Quetzal Hotel
#28 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#6 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#12 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mirasol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mirasol Hotel

Property: Villa Mirasol Hotel
Address: Pila Seca #35 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 3700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mirasol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home. The best cozy and romantic please to visit San Miguel de Allende. Moderate rates w/taxes and breakfast included. Ask for special groups or low season packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Mirasol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mirasol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing