We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Historic Ex-Convent”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Posada de las Monjas
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Ex-Convent”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at this beautiful ex-convent in March '11. The rooms are definitely no frills. Only the necessities found here, but a very romantic allure. We had a balcony room overlooking the city and the views are breathtaking. If you are looking for 5 star accommodations, don't stay here. If you want to spend your time in a magnificently crafted structure and enjoy the history of days gone by then you cannot go wrong here. I would not recommend this place for kids.

The grounds were very nice and plenty of balcony areas to sit and enjoy the view and take in breakfast or a beverage.

There wasn't a lot of people there during our visit so it was very quiet, except for the construction down the hill in the mornings.

Check-in was simple and the gentleman tending the office spoke good English and was very nice and helpful with information. You pay by the night here and walk-ins were welcomed. Check out process was just as easy.

Housekeeping was good and the workers were friendly.

I do not recommend the restaurant. We ate lunch there one day and you can find much better food just down the street and better value for the money.

The location is within a short walk to the downtown and zocolo.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbla72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    53
    25
    2
    5
See reviews for
24
33
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The place is actually very pretty but the rooms are definitely "Franciscan" style - bare necessity.

Being in the summer and facing west, the rooms were quite hot to be in when we checked-in in the afternoon. However the rooms didn't get to cool off until way past midnight. So be prepared for the heat.

The location is good because it was a short stroll to the town square. The town is really pretty. The houses were all painted in earth-tones that they look picturesque.

The other up-sides of the hotel are free WIFI in the lobby and ample of parking.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2010

If I do more people will want to use it and then where will I go? I spent a month there while attending Language school and I loved it. The staff were great breakfast was good dinners okay ... Quite the place used to be an old nunnery so it has the old world charm folks look for, middle class Mexicans love the place and it is heavily booked on holidays.... I enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaKay55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erongaricuaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Monjas is my favorite place to stay in SMA. The balcony views are to die for and parking is within the gates. Rooms are plain but immaculate. Rates are reasonable and owners are friendly. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMHAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jax beach, florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed 4 nights at 500 pesos ($38) rate. Very good location just two blocks from el jardin. Extremely safe, free parking in hotel grounds. Large room with great viewe, double bed, desk, sofa (mauve vinyl) and chair. Hotel has several patios and nice flowers & plants. Bathroom was spacious and tiled.

Hotel owner is grandson of original developer and very helpful; however, uses his grandfather's adding machine and probably hasn't updated much else of the hotel.

Beautiful dining room with marvellous views; however, menu was too boring to try - club sandwiches, hamburgers, chicken enchiladas. But they kindly sold me coffee to-go in the mornings. Never found the advertised Bar.

During our stay, hotel extremely quiet during the week but business picked up Friday/Saturday with Mexican guests.

Overall, a very good stay at this price point but that mauve vinyl sofa needs to go!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fls35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Very interesting rambling old convent building. Cheap and great if you're young and just need a place to crash after shopping and partying. Otherwise my single room with nasty carpeting was a bit of a dismal cell with poor lighting and ventilation. Plus, I swear I could hear my neighbors brush their teeth... No frills here, just a cheap place to flop.

  • Liked — the rambling old convent building
  • Disliked — the crumby cell-like, suffocating room
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirren19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

The hotel sprawls (in a good way) across several courtyards and multiple levels, making it a fun and pretty place to explore! It's situated in a nice part of town with lots of funky shops and restaurants nearby.

On arrival we found our room booking was slightly wrong for the group but due to the large number of rooms on the property this was not an issue and we were even given a choice of other rooms to pick from. Although not all the staff spoke English they were all very friendly and helpful so this was not the issue it could have been.

Rooms all functional but clean with stunning views from the roof terrace if you are lucky enough to have a room up there.
Parking is available on site within a gated courtyard.

In the morning the staff bring out caged birds into the courtyard to help wake you up gently with their song.

Breakfast was available (at extra cost), but we didn't try this as there are so many wonderful cafes nearby.

  • Liked — Views from terrace
  • Disliked — Rooms fairly dark and basic
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suites Dali
Hotel Suites Dali
#63 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Loteria
Hotel Casa Loteria
#53 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#29 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada de la Aldea
Posada de la Aldea
#30 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel FK
Hotel FK
#58 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arcada San Miguel
Arcada San Miguel
#52 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de las Monjas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de las Monjas

Property: Hotel Posada de las Monjas
Address: Canal # 37, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Posada De Las Monjas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing