We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, no frills but surprisingly relaxing stay”
Review of Hotel Suites Dali

Hotel Suites Dali
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Suites Dali
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Basic, no frills but surprisingly relaxing stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

For starters, if you're used to luxuries and complete amenities in a hotel, go elsewhere. This place has none of that. In fact, there's only a bar to hang clothes on (if you bring hangers) and a shelf instead of a chest of drawers, and the room has a bed, a straight-back chair and a snack tray-type table.

Sounds grim, right? But we spent the most relaxing weekend in a long time. The place, like most hotels in San Miguel, is a converted old house. It has 18 rooms (I think), all basic, tile floors and ceilings (no painting, ever), a king bed that is comfortable and new, and exceptionally comfy pillows.

No restaurant, no lobby to speak of, the "office" is under the staircase, so it is a bit off-putting at first. But it was nice in a strange sort of way and the comfort gets to you in a while.

The bathroom is bare basics - toilet and shower, and our room (#5) had nowhere in the shower to put the shampoo and soap (we used the window sill behind the toilet), but plenty of hot water and everything was functional. The only power outlet we had was in the bathroom by the wash basin, since the one in the bedroom was behind the wall-mounted TV but apparently the second (free) outlet wasn't wired.

Ok, again I say -- if you can't stand to stay in a barebones place at a reasonable price (US$100/night) for just a wonderful nights' sleep and shower, then move on. But since we've stayed at much more "luxurious" there with much less comfort, this was quite a deal. The place is bare basics, but super clean and super comfortable. A peek in the maintenance room proves that they are nuts for order and cleanliness, so that was very reassuring. Everything in order, everything in its place.

Go for it.

Room Tip: Room #5 is on the entry hallway, so no direct sun - and it was cooler. Our friends had room #11, off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    9
    5
    13
See reviews for
7
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Our hotel stay was very pleasant with accommodating and helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. The room was a bit sparse, but had everything we needed. The staff was very helpful and ready to help.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back where the small patio is and it's a bit quieter. We were next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenayPepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
282 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Suites Dali is located a very short walk to the center of San Miguel. The property is well maintained and very clean. You should know that this is a hotel, there are no kitchen facilities. The room was cleaned with fresh towels daily. It's a little pricey but his is San Miguel. The staff was friendly and nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a very nice, spotlessly clean place with a great king-size bed and a good shower, excellent TV service and the most pleasant staff. I highly recommend it. It is not in the center of town but is not far at all. Maybe I walk a little faster than others, but I think it takes no more than 10 minutes to stroll to the very center of San Miguel. The room has excellent ventilation and you can let cool air come into the room at night. In March, the days are warm and the nights are cool so it is quite pleasant for me. The wireless connection was a bit weak but it worked fine! Also it is close to the market place and we found a great breakfast place there for a bargain price. Breakfast is not included at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room at the very back was wonderful with an extra window. The king-sized beds are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A great little spot off the beaten track making it a fairly quiet place to stay. Very clean and for Mexico, comfortable beds. Excellent linens. It is a bit dark with the way the structure is designed however, it's not like you're staying in your room all day and yes it's a bit chilly at night during the winter months. I detest the cold and didn't find it that bad. Taxi's were a bit of a challenge due the road being under construction, however if you ask to be taken to at least the corner they will get you there. Management figures the construction should be done by March. The only real negative is it would be nice if we were given a key for the main entrance to the hotel so people don't have to bang on the door to get in, and if the night watch fellow could wear soft soled shoes. Both fairly minor in the big scheme of things. The walk to the main square is easy and it's always interesting to note the types of stores and goods people have to offer. There is a great open market at the end of the street offering trinkets right up to beautiful carpets from Oaxaca. The best part of this little gem is for the money it was a great bang for the buck or should I say peso!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms most likely have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We were there in December 2011 and we didn't have any problem with the reservation. The room was clean and spacious with a nice king bed. However it was dark and pretty cold (maybe that's not a problem in another time of the year. The hotel is a 10 to 15 min walk away from the central plaza, so not that bad but not awesome either.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andresgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed at Suites Dali with my partner in October 2011 and liked it so much we returned for the whole month of December with friends.

The spotlessly clean rooms are simple, but nicely designed with comfortable beds and quality linens. The owners and all the staff were delightful and most attentive. The hotel is in a great location on a quiet street just five minutes walk from everything.

Will definitely return and highly recommend this hotel anyone visiting beautiful San Miguel de Allende.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmk08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Loteria
Hotel Casa Loteria
#53 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel & RV Park San Ramon
Hotel & RV Park San Ramon
#51 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monteverde Best Inns
Hotel Monteverde Best Inns
#48 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arcada San Miguel
Arcada San Miguel
#52 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Condo Posada La Ermita
Condo Posada La Ermita
#65 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Parador del Cortijo Spa
Hotel Parador del Cortijo Spa
#54 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suites Dali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suites Dali

Property: Hotel Suites Dali
Address: Calle Homobono 23 A | Zona Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 67 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Suites Dali 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new, affordable internet, cable TV, the best location starting($500 to $1,000) Pesos per/night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Suites Dali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing