We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing folk Mexican Folk Art Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galeria Atotonilco

Galeria Atotonilco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are open BY APPOINTMENT only and usually have an Open House the last weekend of every month from noon to 5 pm. Please check our weekly ad in Atencion for directions to the gallery and contact information. Please note: We are NOT a "Museum" or an "Attraction." One of the largest and highest quality folk art collections in all of Mexico, on a gorgeous country property in an architecturally spectacular, much-published building, Galeria Atotonilco is a ten-minute drive north of town. It is an eye-dazzling array of a huge variety of folk art, from funny to exquisite, from all over Mexico. Folk art is a direct route to the true heart of Mexico: it's history, it's traditions, it's myths and legends, it's diverse cultures. Items in all price ranges can be shipped anywhere. We suggest you visit us early in your trip when you have not spent all your money and when shipping can be arranged if necessary. Even if you know little about folk art, we guarantee you will be amazed at the diversity, and we love sharing our knowledge with you. In addition to folk art, you will see country antique furniture, vintage textiles of great beauty, and historic photographs of 19th century Mexico. Within a mile is the historic church of Atotonilco, and the gorgeous country restaurant, Nirvana. Plan to spend at least an hour in our gallery. The time will fly by. Many visitors report that this gallery was the highlight of their visit to San Miguel.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
2 reviews
“Amazing folk Mexican Folk Art Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

At breakfast one morning one of the other guests at our bed and breakfast mentioned she had just visited the gallery and highly recommended it because it was one of the best collections of folk art she had seen anywhere. She is an artist and travels widely so we took her recommendation and headed out of San Miguel for the 20 minute drive. We got lost and arrived late for our appointment but were greeted warmly and given a tour of the collection by Mayer. It was amazing. The art is beautiful and of such high quality. The house and grounds are stunning. After much consideration we made our purchases. We bought a pot that would be difficult to carry home so Mayer made arrangements to have it shipped. This was a fantastic experience. Photography is allowed so take your camer because you will want to take pictures of the art as well as of the house and grounds.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edcon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    17
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Galeria Atotonilco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

After visiting the Santariode Atotonilco, we stopped at Galeria Atotonilco. although we did not have an appointment, the owner, Mayer, was kind enough to invite us in. What an amazing place and definitely one of tthe highlights of our visit to San Miguel. The variety of the kinds of folk art was breathtaking. Happily, there were many affordable pieces to choose from.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jean117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“WOW to Infinity!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Couldn't begin to explain my initial reaction when we arrived (by taxi) as we drove down the driveway to Mayer Shacter's gallery which is part of their home. We were told that we could have the taxi wait for us for 30 minutes and then drive us to Nirvana for lunch. First, we were there for TWO hours and second, one can walk to Nirvana so it is totally unnecessary to have a taxi wait. As you enter the main building which houses all the folk art, vintage pieces, etc. one can't begin to take it all in. I circled and circled and circled again and could probably still be circling trying to make my decisions. I am deliriously happy with my purchases and regret not buying some items. Now this means we get to return next year. Mayer and his wife are so engaging and willing to explain everything with such endless patience. You can tell that they truly love everything in their vast collection and it's not just a 'job' it's truly their passion. I also need to add that not only are their pieces of the finest quality but their prices are also the very best and their shipping is unbelievable! My box could have gone around the world 30 times and been stomped on by 6 elephants and still have arrived intact!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lili1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUT OF TOWN and NEED APPOINTMENT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were here a few days ago and after a 20 minute cab ride (with traffic) we were met with a sign BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. Our taxi driver drove on anyways. The gallery owner said he understood that we did not know we needed an appointment and was kind enough to let us stay until his clients arrived in 30 minutes. Yes, there are wonderful art pieces to look at and purchase. But...this gallery is BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. It is also out of the San Miguel main area and we were charges 600 pesos for the round trip taxi ride. Thank you to the owners for being kind, warm and understanding.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thinkmodern, Owner at Galeria Atotonilco, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review. It's true that we are only open by appointment, as we live right here and don't hire people to keep the gallery open during set hours. All one needs to do is call 185-2225 or email me at mshacter@me.com for an appointment. I'm here most of the time and can give personal attention everyone that way. Also, we usually advertise an Open House the last weekend of every month from noon to 5 pm and no appointment is necessary at that time.
It's unfortunate that the Taxi charged 600 pesos for a round trip. The normal fare is 120 each way and 120 per hour to wait. We have a list of taxi drivers who've been here many times and who have high integrity. We're happy to share that information when you call for an appointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like a Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were pleased to visit the incredible gallery and home at Galeria Atotonilco, San Miguel de Allende in October, 2013. We happened to visit on the day the BBC was filming the house for Extreme Homes and after the visit we agreed, it's extremely interesting and beautiful. When we drove up the owners Mayer Shacter and his wife Susan Page were out in the rolling landscape with the film crew having lunch under the shade of an old Mesquite tree. Mayer greeted us in the gallery a few minutes later and took us on a trip of Mexican art history with authentic pieces for examples. One drawer featured over 200 serapes dating from 1875 forward, most of them priceless. We were lucky the day we visited and had a personal tour of Shacter and Page's beautiful home. Since you must make an appointment to visit maybe you'll be as lucky and get to see one of the great galleries of Mexico and the world. And afterwards, get Mayer to point out Nirvana restaurant just behind his home and have a lovely lunch or dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyNAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galeria Atotonilco also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Galeria Atotonilco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing