We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off-road biking in San Miguel de Allende” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bici-Burro

Bici-Burro
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Off-road biking in San Miguel de Allende”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent five exhilarating days in February 2014 biking with Beto, the owner of San Miguel’s Bici-Burro bike store/touring company. The rides Beto took us on are not for sissies—there is a reason why Beto supplies excellent quality, full-shock mountain bikes. The trails for the most part are double-tracked—but the conditions are at times closer to single track (rocks, rocky plates, gullies, sand, hills, cobblestones).

We do not want to scare you off—just to let you know that if you like off-road biking, you are in for a treat. (To put the difficulty in perspective, we are in our mid-sixties—good but not great mountain bikers.)

The scenery was beautiful, particularly on the two trips we took with Beto near Dolores Hidalgo. Beto also took us on a ride to visit two abandoned mines , even taking us part way into abandoned mine shaft. The highlight of another trip was the ruins of a Toltec observatory.

Beto himself is a pleasure to be with. He is low-key and very accommodating. When we stopped at historical sites, he provided a commentary.

As we had arranged a private trip with Beto, we were the only two bicycling with him. We started our trips at 10 AM, as we like biking in warmer conditions. If you start early, be prepared to shed layers (and bring a backpack to carry discards).

Also, talk to Beto about lunch/food. Generally, there is nothing available on the trail, and sometimes nothing at either end. We brought our own lunch on all trips—for us that was perfect. But our suggestion is to have a discussion in advance with Beto, and make arrangements which are suitable for you.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank judyanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing guide, landscape, history and exercise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Will you have fun? Yes. Will you see some great sights you wouldn't otherwise see? Yes. The plains around San Miguel de Allende are perfect for mountain biking. There are trails that wind throughout the semi-arid desert and you will definitely need a guide (Alberto, owner of Bici Burro) so as not to get lost. All levels of bikers can enjoy this mountain biking. I generally road bike 30-40 miles on the weekend, and had a great time with this bike route. The main goal of this bike tour is to hang out, enjoy the fresh air and views and escape a bit from the daily routine. If you are going to plan ahead though and can find a few people to join you, I'm sure Alberto would take you out for a more strenuous ride if you request it. He has been biking all his life, and it's a true passion of his, so whether you are a HUGE lover of bikes, or an occasional cyclist looking for something new to do, you will have a great time. Don't worry about picking the correct "trail" on Alberto's website, you can contact him, tell him some key details about yourself and your party, and he will pick a good trail for you all. Relax and let him decide, he does not disappoint.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangelo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous bike tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had an amazing time with Alberto and the wonderful bike tour he took us on. It was of the rural area outside of San Miguel. The places he took us to were stunningly beautiful and not to be missed. Alberto also provided a history of the places we visited. I was a bit sick due to a brush with the water, so our tour was cut a bit short. However, we are looking forward to a full tour on our next trip to San Miguel. Even with the abbreviated tour, we felt we go our money's worth. The equipment was perfectly maintained and we had all the appropriate equipment. All we added were the padded shorts.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Truly off the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were signed up to do a bike trip but loved the flexibility of our guide, Alberto. He wisely pointed out to us that due to the heavy rains this might not be the best idea. So he suggested hiking instead. It was a gorgeous, secluded climb in the hills surrounding San Miguel. Just the 2 of us, Alberto and his wonderful dog. Alberto, true to his word, sent me photos that he took. Do this excursion if you love exercise, a challenging physical day and the outdoors.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank spotboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A San Miguel must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We took tour no. 2 to Atotonilco and La Gruta. It was fabulous. The bikes were in excellent condition, and we were given helmets, gloves, bottled water, and granola bars for snacks. We got a ride in the bici-burro van to the starting point, so we didn't have to worry about biking in the city or on the highway. Alberto is an excellent guide, knowledgeable about the political and cultural history of the area. The ride itself varied from desert to streamside, through some small towns. The ride was rated easy to moderate; for us, it seemed closer to moderate, but we mostly are road bikers so being in the dirt and rocks was different for us, but we loved every minute of it. At the end, we went to the hot springs at La Gruta. The great thing about sightseeing by bike is you get to see things that the vast majority of tourists miss. On our next trip to San Miguel, we will definitely plan on doing another tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JWK7385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bici-Burro also viewed

San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato
 

Been to Bici-Burro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing