We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host and hostess”
Review of Casa de la Cuesta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de la Cuesta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I could not imagine a more beautiful and relaxing place to stay than at Casa de la Cuesta. It is a cultural oasis that embodies the historic beauty and artistic spirit of San Miguel. The owners, Bill and Heidi, are warm and welcoming and eager to share their wealth of knowledge of Mexico's customs, culture and folk lore. Ask them for recommendations and you'll get a marked up map guiding you to points of interest specific to your liking. Each room has it's own unique style. All of the rooms are colorful, cozy, clean and very comfortable. There is artwork everywhere you look. There are several beautifully designed courtyards where you can enjoy some quiet reading or just relaxing while enjoying the dance of dozens of hummingbirds. Bill's mask museum is truly a one of a kind collection of masks and dress, representing a wide variety of Mexico's ancient cultural dance, and beautifully presented with videos and descriptions. In tandem, Heidi will inspire you with her unique collection of colorful art and handicrafts made by local artists. Breakfast is an event presented by the lovely kitchen ladies. The dining is open to the kitchen so they keep a watchful eye for approval as the courses are served by Marchello, (Bill), the handsome and dashing server. Breakfast, served at 9:00 am, is also an opportunity to meet house guests and share experiences. Heidi very kindly arranged my transportation to and from the Leon airport, and was an invaluable resource throughout my visit. You will find Bill and Heidi to be the most personable host and hostess. I highly recommend Casa de la Cuesta.

Room Tip: I stayed in 2 of the rooms. They are all comfortable and well appointed.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFF1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
There are newer reviews for Casa de la Cuesta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is one of the most beautiful properties we have ever stayed at. The pictures are just a glimpse of what awaits you. The breakfasts were made with care and there were new culinary delights each day. The hosts were EXTREMELY helpful in making the whole stay fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a wonderful weekend recently in Casa de la Cuesta. The Casa is amazing, so beautifully designed and filled with Mexican folk art. The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. We stayed on the upper level and there are wonderful views from the terrace. It is lovely to sit and watch the humming birds and the view of San Miguel with a glass of wine/beer from the honesty bar on the terrace. Heidi and Bill made us very welcome and were very helpful booking restaurants, giving advice etc. Bill's mask museum is a must-see. It is an incredible collection and the informative cards accompanying each mask really bring indigenous Mexican culture alive. Heidi kindly showed us the folk art museum and explained the work of the different artists that she supports, also extremely interesting. We liked it so much that we are going back next month! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Not enough words of praise for this Bed & Breakfast! We were transported from Leon airport to the hacienda to meet our charming host Bill and hostess Heidi who shared their extensive knowledge and examples of masques and handicrafts from all parts of Mexico. The house was a museum for Mexican objects yet so comfortable and welcoming. I have traveled considerably in Mexico over the past 60 years and learned more of the crafts and customs of the native people of Mexico. The FULL breakfasts varied each morning with tasty Mexiccan dishes and condiments to suit any taste. This is the only place for me to stay in San Miguel. Our host and hostess were so helpful in every way to make our stay more wonderful.

Room Tip: Every room has a different flair and view with terraces and gardens.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Only after making our reservations did we learn this lovely spot is rated the Number One B and B in San Miguel de Allende. As artists we were delighted with the collections of folk arts and masks, the handwoven bedspreads and rugs, the paintings on the walls--so much color! The rooftop patios offer a great view of sunsets over the city. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the owners much. We would recommend this to anyone. Come with an appetite as the large breakfasts are delicious!

Room Tip: Every room is unique and beautifully furnished.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebekahGrace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a wonderful time at Casa De La Cuesta. Everything was absolutely perfect! Our room was the Colibri. Beautiful, large, comfortable room. Great bed with quality linens and good pillows. The bathroom is large with dual sinks, huge bathtub - Talavera tiles everywhere.

The view from the room is absolutely gorgeous! So romantic... And the colibris are simply beautiful.

The breakfast was delicious and extravagant with fresh fruit, juices, different types of jams, breads and salsas, plus delicious made-to-order eggs and Mexican specialties. Everything is freshly made by the wonderful ladies in the kitchen. Believe me, they really know what they are doing. Delicioso!

We met great, interesting people, who shared their experiences and adventures in SMA.

You will find little corners and terraces throughout the house with comfortable seating and gorgeous views. The entire house is beautiful and very relaxing.

Heidi is a sweetheart, she is the perfect hostess and makes you feel at home. She will give you tips and recommendations to the best places in SMA.

No doubt Casa De La Cuesta is the best b&b in San Miguel de Allende! We will be back soon!

Thanks Heidi and Bill. ;)

P.S.: If you are lucky, you may even get to see the Mask Museum. Bill's collection is amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeTrotterDINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just completed our second visit with Bill and Heidi at Casa de la Cuesta. As before, it was like visiting with family once again. The hospitality is incomparable, the rooms are spacious, unique and very homey.
We took advantage of the massage room, and the massage was great!
Look no further in San Miguel for a place to stay.........this is the one you want!!
We will be back again soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different..........check the website for some photos.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsipari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.6 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#6 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#8 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de la Cuesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Cuesta

Address: Cuesta de San Jose # 32, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth of traditional Mexican Colonial architecture, comfortable bedroom suites each with access to outdoor living areas, plus a uniquely personal environment created by Casa de la Cuesta's fine collection of Mexican folk art and crafts. Choose between one of Casa de la Cuesta B&B's six special suites, each with its own artistic folk art theme. Our personal attention and pleasant atmosphere makes Casa de la Cuesta one of San Miguel Allende's favorite destinations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing