We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Just a Beautiful B&B”
Review of Casa de la Cuesta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de la Cuesta
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not Just a Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Casa de la Cuesta. The accommodations are beautiful, friendly, peaceful and spacious. The breakfasts couldn't be better. But what really makes this place special is the way that the owners, Heidi and Bill, are involved with and support the local community. We enjoyed visiting their on-site mask museum and art gallery more than once. They both shared their expertise and experiences with masks and textiles of Mexico.

We went on some day trips, recommended by Heidi and Bill, that were cherished highlights of our holiday.

Our mountain hike with Bill and a local botanist/naturalist, Lorena Guitterez, was a lovely way to spend the day. Bill organized everything for us including snacks and water. We hiked in the surrounding mountains and learned about the many ecosystems and plants that we encountered. Bill and Lorena will design a walk/hike according to your desires and level of fitness.

We also spent a day with Albert Coffee and went to a local site called La Canada de la Virgen. We have visited many sites in Mexico and Central America and Albert managed to teach us so much about the history of these sacred places through stories, humour and his archaeological knowledge. He had worked on the site so knew it intimately. Heidi recommended and organized this tour for us.

They also organized a La Grutta visit including towels and a beach bag as well as visiting Delores Hidalgo with a wonderful local tour guide.

I would not hesitate at all to stay at Casa de la Cuesta again - it was a real treat to come home to it each day - we really felt taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gatopaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    15
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
252
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

If you're escaping from the noise of the city and you want a place to hide, enjoy good meals and conversations, this is it. The hosts, Bill and Heidi are super friendly and always greet you with a smile. Quiet, comfy and nicely decorated (lots of masks) :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OmarTrujillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you are ever in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, you MUST stay at Casa de la Cuesta! The property is absolutely immaculate, and stunningly decorated and managed by a pair of Ex-Pats who know the area, people, cuisine and culture. They will make your stay comfortable and memorable! Bravo to the owners and crew, we had a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the San Miguel suite, it had a private balcony....although ALL of the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobe Sound, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I could not imagine a more beautiful and relaxing place to stay than at Casa de la Cuesta. It is a cultural oasis that embodies the historic beauty and artistic spirit of San Miguel. The owners, Bill and Heidi, are warm and welcoming and eager to share their wealth of knowledge of Mexico's customs, culture and folk lore. Ask them for recommendations and you'll get a marked up map guiding you to points of interest specific to your liking. Each room has it's own unique style. All of the rooms are colorful, cozy, clean and very comfortable. There is artwork everywhere you look. There are several beautifully designed courtyards where you can enjoy some quiet reading or just relaxing while enjoying the dance of dozens of hummingbirds. Bill's mask museum is truly a one of a kind collection of masks and dress, representing a wide variety of Mexico's ancient cultural dance, and beautifully presented with videos and descriptions. In tandem, Heidi will inspire you with her unique collection of colorful art and handicrafts made by local artists. Breakfast is an event presented by the lovely kitchen ladies. The dining is open to the kitchen so they keep a watchful eye for approval as the courses are served by Marchello, (Bill), the handsome and dashing server. Breakfast, served at 9:00 am, is also an opportunity to meet house guests and share experiences. Heidi very kindly arranged my transportation to and from the Leon airport, and was an invaluable resource throughout my visit. You will find Bill and Heidi to be the most personable host and hostess. I highly recommend Casa de la Cuesta.

Room Tip: I stayed in 2 of the rooms. They are all comfortable and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFF1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is one of the most beautiful properties we have ever stayed at. The pictures are just a glimpse of what awaits you. The breakfasts were made with care and there were new culinary delights each day. The hosts were EXTREMELY helpful in making the whole stay fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a wonderful weekend recently in Casa de la Cuesta. The Casa is amazing, so beautifully designed and filled with Mexican folk art. The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. We stayed on the upper level and there are wonderful views from the terrace. It is lovely to sit and watch the humming birds and the view of San Miguel with a glass of wine/beer from the honesty bar on the terrace. Heidi and Bill made us very welcome and were very helpful booking restaurants, giving advice etc. Bill's mask museum is a must-see. It is an incredible collection and the informative cards accompanying each mask really bring indigenous Mexican culture alive. Heidi kindly showed us the folk art museum and explained the work of the different artists that she supports, also extremely interesting. We liked it so much that we are going back next month! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Not enough words of praise for this Bed & Breakfast! We were transported from Leon airport to the hacienda to meet our charming host Bill and hostess Heidi who shared their extensive knowledge and examples of masques and handicrafts from all parts of Mexico. The house was a museum for Mexican objects yet so comfortable and welcoming. I have traveled considerably in Mexico over the past 60 years and learned more of the crafts and customs of the native people of Mexico. The FULL breakfasts varied each morning with tasty Mexiccan dishes and condiments to suit any taste. This is the only place for me to stay in San Miguel. Our host and hostess were so helpful in every way to make our stay more wonderful.

Room Tip: Every room has a different flair and view with terraces and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.4 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#8 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#16 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Nena
Hotel Nena
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de la Cuesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Cuesta

Property: Casa de la Cuesta
Address: Cuesta de San Jose # 32, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth of traditional Mexican Colonial architecture, comfortable bedroom suites each with access to outdoor living areas, plus a uniquely personal environment created by Casa de la Cuesta's fine collection of Mexican folk art and crafts. Choose between one of Casa de la Cuesta B&B's six special suites, each with its own artistic folk art theme. Our personal attention and pleasant atmosphere makes Casa de la Cuesta one of San Miguel Allende's favorite destinations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing