We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than a Bed & Breakfast ...”
Review of Casa de la Cuesta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa de la Cuesta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Casa de la Cuesta is an amazing find. Its proximity to the historic town center makes for just enough, but not too much walking the cobblestone streets back home at night. The house itself is a labor of love - a serene retreat of tasteful design which incorporates all sorts of original Mexican arts and crafts. Our room on the second level was amazing - the room itself was plenty large, and as if that wasn't enough, it had an even more spacious sitting room with comfy chairs, fireplace, and balcony with a killer view of the town. The room is stocked with maps, guidebooks, etc. of the San Miguel area. They will provide you with an extra fan to block the sound of the morning roosters, and it works. The place, in general, is spotless, and even though it has the character of an old place, it's spotless. Heidi and Bill, the owners are gracious, knowledgeable, and love what they do. Casa de la Cuesta is more than just a B&B to them, as they 1) built this place from scratch, and 2) are each involved in preserving and promoting indigenous Mexican arts ~ Bill with his extensive mask collection and museum (and upcoming book), and Heidi with promoting various local folk artists who each specialize in a different medium - a paper, tin, beadwork, painting, and weaving. She offers informative presentations and works available for sale, and Bill will provide a tour of the mask museum in the building next store - free of charge to guests.
The breakfasts are prepared and served (by candlelight!)in a beautiful kitchen by four Mexican girls, and include a homemade granola and fresh fruit followed by a local egg dish or soufflé. Additional homemade sauces complete this delicious feast. Heidi and Bill are knowledgeable about what's going on in town, have great insider tips, and specialize in anticipating and providing all the little extras that make you feel welcome and cared for. Casa de la Cuesta is a perfect place to stay in this magical city!

Room Tip: Ours was the second floor suite on the front side of the B&B ~ absolutely gorgeous. Although th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Owners Bill and Heidi put heart and soul into their beautiful B&B complete with a Mexican mask museum on the premises and a thorough knowledge of Mexican history. Staying here is more than a comfortable, intimate, experience (which it is that, too), it is an exploration into the artisan past of Mexico. Does not disappoint on any level. Oh, but maybe it would be slightly difficult if you can't climb stairs, as this is a traditional San Miguel building with stairs-only access.

Room Tip: Probably not the best place to stay if you can't climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ginger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Casa de la Cuesta. The accommodations are beautiful, friendly, peaceful and spacious. The breakfasts couldn't be better. But what really makes this place special is the way that the owners, Heidi and Bill, are involved with and support the local community. We enjoyed visiting their on-site mask museum and art gallery more than once. They both shared their expertise and experiences with masks and textiles of Mexico.

We went on some day trips, recommended by Heidi and Bill, that were cherished highlights of our holiday.

Our mountain hike with Bill and a local botanist/naturalist, Lorena Guitterez, was a lovely way to spend the day. Bill organized everything for us including snacks and water. We hiked in the surrounding mountains and learned about the many ecosystems and plants that we encountered. Bill and Lorena will design a walk/hike according to your desires and level of fitness.

We also spent a day with Albert Coffee and went to a local site called La Canada de la Virgen. We have visited many sites in Mexico and Central America and Albert managed to teach us so much about the history of these sacred places through stories, humour and his archaeological knowledge. He had worked on the site so knew it intimately. Heidi recommended and organized this tour for us.

They also organized a La Grutta visit including towels and a beach bag as well as visiting Delores Hidalgo with a wonderful local tour guide.

I would not hesitate at all to stay at Casa de la Cuesta again - it was a real treat to come home to it each day - we really felt taken care of.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gatopaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

If you're escaping from the noise of the city and you want a place to hide, enjoy good meals and conversations, this is it. The hosts, Bill and Heidi are super friendly and always greet you with a smile. Quiet, comfy and nicely decorated (lots of masks) :)

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank OmarTrujillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you are ever in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, you MUST stay at Casa de la Cuesta! The property is absolutely immaculate, and stunningly decorated and managed by a pair of Ex-Pats who know the area, people, cuisine and culture. They will make your stay comfortable and memorable! Bravo to the owners and crew, we had a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the San Miguel suite, it had a private balcony....although ALL of the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cindi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I could not imagine a more beautiful and relaxing place to stay than at Casa de la Cuesta. It is a cultural oasis that embodies the historic beauty and artistic spirit of San Miguel. The owners, Bill and Heidi, are warm and welcoming and eager to share their wealth of knowledge of Mexico's customs, culture and folk lore. Ask them for recommendations and you'll get a marked up map guiding you to points of interest specific to your liking. Each room has it's own unique style. All of the rooms are colorful, cozy, clean and very comfortable. There is artwork everywhere you look. There are several beautifully designed courtyards where you can enjoy some quiet reading or just relaxing while enjoying the dance of dozens of hummingbirds. Bill's mask museum is truly a one of a kind collection of masks and dress, representing a wide variety of Mexico's ancient cultural dance, and beautifully presented with videos and descriptions. In tandem, Heidi will inspire you with her unique collection of colorful art and handicrafts made by local artists. Breakfast is an event presented by the lovely kitchen ladies. The dining is open to the kitchen so they keep a watchful eye for approval as the courses are served by Marchello, (Bill), the handsome and dashing server. Breakfast, served at 9:00 am, is also an opportunity to meet house guests and share experiences. Heidi very kindly arranged my transportation to and from the Leon airport, and was an invaluable resource throughout my visit. You will find Bill and Heidi to be the most personable host and hostess. I highly recommend Casa de la Cuesta.

Room Tip: I stayed in 2 of the rooms. They are all comfortable and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFF1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is one of the most beautiful properties we have ever stayed at. The pictures are just a glimpse of what awaits you. The breakfasts were made with care and there were new culinary delights each day. The hosts were EXTREMELY helpful in making the whole stay fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.6 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#17 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Puertecita Boutique Hotel
La Puertecita Boutique Hotel
#29 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 145 in San Miguel de Allende
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfas...
#2 of 145 in San Miguel de Allende
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de la Cuesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Cuesta

Address: Cuesta de San Jose # 32, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth of traditional Mexican Colonial architecture, comfortable bedroom suites each with access to outdoor living areas, plus a uniquely personal environment created by Casa de la Cuesta's fine collection of Mexican folk art and crafts. Choose between one of Casa de la Cuesta B&B's six special suites, each with its own artistic folk art theme. Our personal attention and pleasant atmosphere makes Casa de la Cuesta one of San Miguel Allende's favorite destinations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing