We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mansion Virreyes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mansion Virreyes
Durham NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

We loved San Miguel and loved this hotel. The location--just off the city center-- can't be beat. While it might not have been the most luxurious hotel in town, the rooms were fine and the whole hotel was very cool. We had a little mix-up at the airport when the driver the hotel had arranged for us did not show up, but we simply hired another driver. The hotel owner/manager felt so bad that our whole time there he kept trying to make it up to us: free dinner in their restaurant (which was excellent), and he even chipped in on the cost of the driver they'd helped us arrange to take us over to Sayulita on the coast.

We will definitely go back to San Miguel and would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room was just ok (but we didn't spend much time there, anyway)
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
13
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2007

Mansion Virreyes is GREAT! I know previous reviews haven't been great, but they have done some remodeling or something, because we loved every minute of staying there.

Normally, breakfast is included in your room rate, but the cooks were on summer vacation the week we stayed. The hotel graciously gave us a discount.

The courtyard is beautiful, and great for enjoying a few drinks in when you need that mid-day siesta. And if you want a view of the streets of San Miguel, just walk up to the rooftop area, complete with seat and lounge chairs.

Also, it should be mentioned that this place has a FANTASTIC location. The Jardin is only 1 block down; there is a bar 10 feet down the street; many shops are located within 1-4 blocks; a bank is right across the street...I could keep going.

While the beds were a bit hard, I think it's important to remember that you shouldn't be visiting San Miguel for the hotel room - get out and enjoy the town, and drink enough so that when you come home at night the bed feels softer!

Also, the rooms vary in size and accomodations. Some people we knew staying with us had 2 beds and 2 baths; other had one of each. Somebody even had a suite with a mini-fridge. If you favor any of these things, be sure to ask when you book your room.

Anyway, I've said enough! Stay here! It's a great place!

  • Liked — The location & the beauty of the courtyard.
  • Disliked — Nothing really...
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank widjet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2006

Just returned from a friend's wedding weekend in San Miguel. The town is delightful - can't wait to go back. Mansion Virreyes is to be avoided. The desk clerk could not have been more bored or disinterested. Ok, I can get past that problem, but the room was terrible.

An interior, windowless room with one bedside lamp and a dim light from the ceiling. There were only a few feet around the sides of the full bed in which to walk. The bathroom was all one small closet-ish room with no demarkation on the floor between the shower and the sink/comode. Just a short shower curtain and a drain in the center of the bathroom -- meaning that when you showered the water went all over the room and drained by the sink. It was a tomb!!

After the first evening's events I returned to the hotel at 1:30 am, checked out and rolled my bags 2 blocks across the Jardin to Posada Carmina. They were so gracious to accommodate me at such an hour and gave me a room for the same price as the Virreyes tomb, $125 dollers per night.

Will return to SMA, but never the Mansion!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Tips/Secrets — stay elsewhere
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank houstoncowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Miguel de Allende hotels

Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2006

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and one year old girl. The hotel has beautiful interior patios surrounded by arched corridors, with lots of greenery. The room was spacious with very high ceilings and comfortable beds. The bathroom was adequate, with a nice, wide shower.

Breakfast for two was included for the moderate price of $70 USD per night. Breakfast is a la carte, with ample combinations of American and Mexican style dishes, like chilaquiles (fried corn tortillas under hot tomato sauce and melted cheese), eggs in many forms and pancakes. Coffee was good, and the bread, fresh from the bakery and warm. We stayed for five days and tried many of the offerings, and we liked them all.

The best thing about Mansion Virreyes is its location. It is less than one block away from the main square ("el jardin"), where most of the fun takes place. San Miguel is best seen by foot (car traffic is slowww, and parking scarce), so being close to the action is very convenient.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay at the Mansion Virreyes.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank claudiogarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2006

Things change...we stayed at this hotel ten years ago and had a very pleasant experience during the Christmas Holidays. Not this time. They say there is no such thing as customer service in Mexico and perhaps "they" are right. We found the restaurant/bar to be very poor. Maid service was the same. Most days we had to ask for bottled water, soap and never did receive a hand towel until the last day (because I found the maid and asked for one).
But the worst was the noise. In the interior courtyard (most afternoons) there were musicians playing. Our room was located on the southeast side of the hotel and our room adjoined a "new" cantina that began playing "very loud electronics (music if you can call it that)usually starting at around midnight and running until about 7:00 a.m. most days. They partied until 8:30 - 9:00 a.m. New Year's Day. There is also a new cantina directly across the street from the hotel. And they play music all night as well. Hooping, hollering and group singing seems to be a popular thing to do as well at both bars. New Year's Eve a drum and trumphet found their way into one of the bars. If you like to party all night, this is your place!
San Miguel De Allende has become a booming tourist place (lots of visitors from Mexico City) during the high season (Holidays through March). The traffic has become so bad during those times that the government is considering building a parking lot on the edge of town and/or selling permits to vehicles that have a need to drive the downtown area. This information came from the most reputable transportation service company in San Miguel De Allende. I hope this report will save someone from the same experience we had. Looking for tranqulity? Stay away from the Jardin (downtown) area and think about staying at the upper end of downtown and don't go during high season. Fortunately, in spite of the traffic and the noise, San Miguel De Allende is still one of the most enchanting cities I've ever visited. I still love it but now I'm better informed.

Helpful?
8 Thank JMartin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2005

I have been to San Miguel twice and both times I was amazed how the Mexican and US cultures have blended and co-existed so well without making the city a tourist attraction. You will find mostly older, wealthier Americans from the west coast who have made this their retirement or seasonal destination, along with numerous groups of students. The city is rather hilly except for the center of town where you will find the main plaza and cathedral along with many wonderful restaurants and bars. The shopping is amazing and plentiful...be sure to visit the open air market for souveniers...the stores are better for furnishings and furniture. We stayed at Hotel Mansion Virreyes this time and loved it. Last trip, I stayed at a small hotel named Vista Hermosa, which you most likely won't find in the travel guides or online. This hotel at $24.00 a night has a great location, friendly (family-owned) staff, and a rooftop view to die for. It is located on the street adjacent to the main cathedral (to the right). Have breakfast in the orange and lemon tree filled interior patio of the restaurant (name escapes me) to the right of the cathedral a few doors back. Here you will find the most authentic US breakfast (if you are missing home) and other Mexican specialties. For the younger crowd, the new bar Mechicanos, across from Hotel Mansion Virreyes is the best night spot. Decorated in predominately red and black, this bar puts a comedic spin on the religion and cultural passion of Mexico without making it too touristy. My absolute favorite place, however, has to be Mama Mia. If you are facing the cathedral turn right and go away less than a block. It will be on your left. Mama Mia is a fixture in San Miguel and in my two visits, I have probably been there 4 times. The food is amazing. Dine in an interior patio surrounded and protected overhead by beautiful ficus trees. There is a stage in the main dining area for nightly live music, usually guitar or something mellow. There is also rooftop dining, although the hours and season for this are limited. It provides a great outdoor dining experience either way. At the entrance of Mama Mia, you will find a sports bar with wrap around bench seating, a big screen television, and great service. To the right as you enter is the salsa room, where salsa dancing and lessons occur many evenings.
San Miguel is one of the most romantic cities I have ever visited. My husband and I (even though we are currently 30 years from retirement) have already considered moving here when we have the chance. It is absolutely a must-see city. Go before it gets too tourist ridden and avoid the months of June and July when it gets really warm and rainy.

Helpful?
13 Thank SnCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2005

We stayed at the hotel for part of our honeymoon in Central Mexico.
Details: Great location, close to everything...the main square, great restaurants (you have to try Mama Mia), the market and stores, and bars. Flat walk to all of the above, which is rare in San Miguel. 10-15 minute cab ride from the bus terminal costs US$4-5.00 I believe. Multi-level hotel with stairs only, a lovely interior patio for dining, bar, interior restaurant/sitting area, and beautiful rooftop deck.

The good: We paid extra for the suite which included breakfast. A steal for $96.00 a night. When we arrived we were told the restaurant was closed for the week, however, they subtracted the breakfast from our room fee. No big deal. The suite was wonderful...small kitchen, huge living area, huge rooftop patio off of the room, large bedroom with attached bath, fire place, and tons of windows! (see pictures) I believe there were only 2 or 3 other rooms on our floor. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We had a gas leak in our stove which was fixed that day. The interior, fern filled patio is beautiful and exposed to the sky on the top floor where our suite was. Across the street and beside the hotel are bars/restaurants which we enjoyed. A couple of doors down there is a wine and cheese specialty shop which sells purified ice and other necessities. We left our windows (floor to ceiling) open one evening and were greeted by the 'hotel cat' in our room when we returned. She hung out with us for the rest of the evening until we eventually shooed her out the door.

The bad: We were awakened at 5:30 in the morning on a Tuesday to firecrackers which lasted an hour. This seems to be a strange, and common, phenom in Mexico. Church bells ring at all hours and last forever. Some part of the hotel was obviously under construction because there was a horrible banging that could be heard several mornings all throughout the hotel. The room was amazing, however, the bed was hard, water pressure was beyond lacking, and the bathroom was in serious need of updating. I don't want to put specific blame on the hotel, but I did notice numerous small bites on my legs after the first night, which I thought could possibly be bed bugs. I do not know this for sure...and I never thought I would say this, but the rest of the hotel was worth it. The rooms are very light in the morning if this bothers you.

Overall, a great location and hotel for the money if you are not a finicky traveler. I would not suggest it if you want to spend much time at the hotel itself, however, San Miguel is a city where you really should want to get out and about. A side note, they do respond quickly and effectively by email for questions or reservations. We reserved almost a year in advance via email with no credit card or deposit and they had our reservation when we arrived.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank SnCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Loteria
Hotel Casa Loteria
#53 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#11 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda de Guadalupe Boutique Hotel
Hacienda de Guadalupe Boutique H...
#39 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
#45 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FK
Hotel FK
#55 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de Aves
Casa de Aves
#47 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansion Virreyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion Virreyes

Property: Hotel Mansion Virreyes
Address: Canal 19, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mansion Virreyes 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Hotel Mansion Vireyes it will find the amiablitity and the service that you deserved. With an Excelent location, to only average block of the main garden it will able to find the best customized service of Lodging as well as a Great variety of delicious subjects of gossip in the Restaurante of hotel. In the Heart of the Historical center o San Miguel de Allende, we hope to offer you the hospitality that will make it feel right at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mansion Virreyes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing