We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mansion Virreyes
Reviewed 19 July 2005

We stayed at the hotel for part of our honeymoon in Central Mexico.
Details: Great location, close to everything...the main square, great restaurants (you have to try Mama Mia), the market and stores, and bars. Flat walk to all of the above, which is rare in San Miguel. 10-15 minute cab ride from the bus terminal costs US$4-5.00 I believe. Multi-level hotel with stairs only, a lovely interior patio for dining, bar, interior restaurant/sitting area, and beautiful rooftop deck.

The good: We paid extra for the suite which included breakfast. A steal for $96.00 a night. When we arrived we were told the restaurant was closed for the week, however, they subtracted the breakfast from our room fee. No big deal. The suite was wonderful...small kitchen, huge living area, huge rooftop patio off of the room, large bedroom with attached bath, fire place, and tons of windows! (see pictures) I believe there were only 2 or 3 other rooms on our floor. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We had a gas leak in our stove which was fixed that day. The interior, fern filled patio is beautiful and exposed to the sky on the top floor where our suite was. Across the street and beside the hotel are bars/restaurants which we enjoyed. A couple of doors down there is a wine and cheese specialty shop which sells purified ice and other necessities. We left our windows (floor to ceiling) open one evening and were greeted by the 'hotel cat' in our room when we returned. She hung out with us for the rest of the evening until we eventually shooed her out the door.

The bad: We were awakened at 5:30 in the morning on a Tuesday to firecrackers which lasted an hour. This seems to be a strange, and common, phenom in Mexico. Church bells ring at all hours and last forever. Some part of the hotel was obviously under construction because there was a horrible banging that could be heard several mornings all throughout the hotel. The room was amazing, however, the bed was hard, water pressure was beyond lacking, and the bathroom was in serious need of updating. I don't want to put specific blame on the hotel, but I did notice numerous small bites on my legs after the first night, which I thought could possibly be bed bugs. I do not know this for sure...and I never thought I would say this, but the rest of the hotel was worth it. The rooms are very light in the morning if this bothers you.

Overall, a great location and hotel for the money if you are not a finicky traveler. I would not suggest it if you want to spend much time at the hotel itself, however, San Miguel is a city where you really should want to get out and about. A side note, they do respond quickly and effectively by email for questions or reservations. We reserved almost a year in advance via email with no credit card or deposit and they had our reservation when we arrived.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank SnCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2005

It depends on your priorities. If you are looking for a very clean and inexpensive place to stay in San Miguel that is smack in the middle of everything this may be the place for you.

It is a small and charming hotel. The patios are lovely with a fountain and trailing vines. Breakfast is outdoors and very hearty (included in the room rate). The beds are hard and that is my most negative comment. The bar is noisy at night but not enough to really bother me and the music and laughter add to the flair of the place. The rooms are neither large nor particularly well appointed but quite adequate and are very clean. The staff is especially friendly and helpful (Spanish speaking only).

Within a few short blocks is just about everything you will come to San Miguel to see as well as numerous excellent restaurants and more shopping opportunities than you can handle. Over all the Hotel Mansion Virreyes offers excellent value and location and a bit of authentic Mexican hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2004

The prices are good, but there are some things you should know before making your decision.
The pros....The hotel is lovely, the rooms are very clean. The staff doesn't speak English, but it is Mexico, so brush up on your Spanish. The only problem I had was trying to explain the lock on the window overlooking top of stairs to the bar didn't lock, so they were not repaired. The staff is very friendly and accomodating if they understand your wishes.

the cons..... the mattress was the hardest I have ever slept on and the pillows the oldest/lumpiest. The carpet was very dirty and sticky feeling though the rest of the room was sparkling clean daily. My room was on the 2nd floor between the patio eating area in the front and the bar atrium area behind the room and was VERy noisy. All sound travelled up. Be sure to ask for a 1st floor room or bring ear plugs or both. Also, there are not elevators in any of the hotels so pack light.

15  Thank GalTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, Texas
15
Reviewed 27 May 2004

Mansion Virreyes- great location, wonderful building, friendly people! Very Clean! Liquior Store next door.
Bank up the street. Walk everywhere. Just plain fun!!!
Erin Turcotte Jones

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2003

A group traveled from the US to come to our wedding. We rented out the whole hotel. Everyone loved the hotel and can't wait to go back soon. A very good breakfast is included with a good variety to choose from. The beds were a little hard, but the rooms were spacious and pleasant. If you have a choice to stay in one of the suites, take it. Check out the terrace, the views are great. The hotel is only a block from the jardin, so it is in a great location.

14  Thank Bigal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2003

I am a Spanish teacher who has stayed here with my students ( teens and adults). The location is super---just one half blocki from the main plaza, The Jardin. This is a big advantage since you can walk to so many places with great ease & get back so easily. People who have gone with me on more than one tour/teaching trip, preferred Mansion Virreyes to a fancier hotel outside of town....partly because of its super location. To me (and others), it is perfectly adequate and pleasant, if not luxuriousl. The restaurant has good food and a peaceful patio. The moderate rates allow me to splurge on other things in San Miguel--like restaurants & shopping.

25  Thank newbraunfels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: soliciten las que están subiendo las escaleras de recepción o la que tiene doble piso ... son las ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Liliana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
1.1 mi away
Arcada San Miguel
Arcada San Miguel
#55 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
#35 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FK
Hotel FK
#56 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
296 reviews
6.2 mi away
Casa de Aves
Casa de Aves
#49 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#15 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansion Virreyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion Virreyes

Address: Canal 19, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 68 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £31 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mansion Virreyes 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Hotel Mansion Vireyes it will find the amiablitity and the service that you deserved. With an Excelent location, to only average block of the main garden it will able to find the best customized service of Lodging as well as a Great variety of delicious subjects of gossip in the Restaurante of hotel. In the Heart of the Historical center o San Miguel de Allende, we hope to offer you the hospitality that will make it feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mansion Virreyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Virreyes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing