We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Carmina Hotel
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, but not nice enough”
Reviewed 6 October 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Posada Carmina for a four-day trip to San Miguel de Allende. We found the hotel interior/decor lovely and charming, very 'San Miguel' and reasonably priced. Although the decor was attractive and complimentary breakfast very nice, it didn't quite make up for some other deficiencies in service and ammenities.

The hotel is 'conveniently' located near the town square (el jardin) which is great for proximity, but bad for noise control. Night clubs/bars surrounding hotels with blaring music at late hours don't make for very restful sleep.

The staff was very nice, but if you do not speak fluent spanish and have needs other than the VERY basic, expect difficulties with communication and getting any help with things like arrangement of transportation, ect...

For example, the hotel graciously offered to help arrange our transportation to the airport. We were very clear about our destination, yet we were transported to the wrong airport and were charged four times the amount the hotel had given us as the total cost.

We realize there will sometimes be issues with language barriers, but expected more from a hotel located in the 'center' of tourism of San Miguel, a city that relies so heavily on tourism for its existence.

  • Liked — Interior decor
  • Disliked — Noise level, lack of english speaking staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pacificnw85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    36
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2007

My wife and I found Posado Carmina while we we were exploring the town. Located basically across the street from the cathedral, we walked into the restaurant for the hotel just to take a break and have a drink. The courtyard in which the restaurant is located is amazing (not so uncommon in San Miguel). The servers were nice and so we asked the front desk if they had any availability and fortunately they did. So we packed up and moved to Posada Carmina.
Posada Carmina probably has the best location in San Miguel, the view from our room was the cathedral. Easy walking distance to everywhere. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The rooms, like most places in San Miguel, do not have AC, but realistically, it is not needed, The beds are like most other beds in Mexico - hard as a rock, but despite this, the beauty of the hotel makes you forget the shortcomings. Basically, it was a wonderful experience and we will definitely return!!!

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Hard beds
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jimandcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2006

We stayed for a week in May 2006 at the Posada Carmina. It was unusually hot, and the Posada Carmina has no air conditioning. The beds have no box springs and are hard as stones. We could not sleep the entire week. It was so hot we propped our room door open in the hope of some air circulation. The room was big, but it was too hot to stay in. The service at the hotel is indifferent at best. The owner is around all of the time, and he is unfriendly, even after we were introduced to him by one of his friends. On the plus side, the location is perfect--next to the Parroquia--and the food was pretty good. I would not stay there again.

Helpful?
10 Thank SdeResendiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2006

Great hotel for the price. We stayed in the quaint older section of this hotel and the room was lovely. The only problem is the noise from people partying on the street at all hours of the night. The service was great, everyone was very friendly. We had our car and we were allowed to park it underneath the hotel and we never once used it while we were there, no need to with the central location of this hotel. The breakfast that is included with the room was excellent! I would stay here again.

Helpful?
3 Thank gemelos3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2006

We stayed in this hotel one night and moved out the next morning because of street noise and noise inside the hotel. I had specifically requested a quite room and they tried to accomodate us by giving us a room away from the church bells. However, this room was at the back of the hotel on a narrow street. The street noise, cars, screaming, singing, etc went on the whole night. It was Saturday night which is probably worse than any other night. I did not get any sleep even with earplugs. The room was very basic, with a bed (hard mattress of course) but clean. No safe, no English channels on TV.

The breakfast was included and very good. The location is great next to the Zocalo. However due to the noise this hotel is not recommended.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank varvararodriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2006

We highly recommend Posada Carmina in San Miguel de Allende. Stayed 3 nights at this charming, well maintained inn. It's located right off the main plaza, yet it was very quiet. We were able to enjoy Christmas concerts at the plaza just steps from the courtyard. Our room was a large, 2-bed suite (there were 3 of us), with a large bath. Breakfast was part of the package. The staff was extremely helpful. We would definitely stay there again!

Helpful?
3 Thank grannygardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 November 2005

Couldn't find a friendlier or better located place to stay. We have stayed here multiple times and always with the same result. J.Flynn

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
#42 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cortizo Suites
Cortizo Suites
#61 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#12 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Loteria
Hotel Casa Loteria
#56 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#9 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Carmina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Carmina Hotel

Property: Posada Carmina Hotel
Address: Cuna de Allende No. 7, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 68 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada Carmina since 1967, in a house of century XVIII, in the heart of San Miguel de Allende, only 50 steps from the jardin and next to the church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Carmina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing