We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the heart of San Miguel de Allende”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Carmina Hotel
Reviewed 26 August 2009

This charming hotel is like living in Mexico of the 1800's. The hotel appears to be a flat building but when you walk in you see a tiled patio surrounded by the graceful arches of the two floors. The architecture is of an old hacienda home. There are plants and trees in the patio with ivy dripping on the walls. This is the area where you are treated to a full breakfast in the morning. The location is just the best. The hotel is on a street that is for pedestrians only so it is very quiet. You are directly across the street from the church and the main square. You can walk to everything. The city is safe and clean and the people are friendly and helpful at the hotel. The rates are very reasonable and the rooms well equipped but simple. All the rooms have been redone of late. The rooms in the back are larger and afford a view of the downhill side of the city. But we also had rooms up front and they served us well. This was my favorite hotel on the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2009

we stayed at the posada carmina for one week and found the staff very helpful and friendly. the courtyards are beautiful and the hotel is close to the center of town and wonderful cafes.Some of the rooms there are very nice and spacious, while others are small and cramped. The breakfast was great although you have to pay extra for some items. we only ate in the hotel for dinner a few nights but the food was fine. The staff brings water to your room to drink but my GI system preferred bottled water which you can buy in the dining room.
don't miss the markets and all San Miguel has to offer. Easy to walk everywhere and safe. We did take a few side trips which was nice. The shuttle back to the airport was safe and arrived on time . I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, just inquire re the rooms before booking, it would be nice if all the rooms had photos so you have some idea what you are getting.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank getofftheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Posada Carmina for a four-day trip to San Miguel de Allende. We found the hotel interior/decor lovely and charming, very 'San Miguel' and reasonably priced. Although the decor was attractive and complimentary breakfast very nice, it didn't quite make up for some other deficiencies in service and ammenities.

The hotel is 'conveniently' located near the town square (el jardin) which is great for proximity, but bad for noise control. Night clubs/bars surrounding hotels with blaring music at late hours don't make for very restful sleep.

The staff was very nice, but if you do not speak fluent spanish and have needs other than the VERY basic, expect difficulties with communication and getting any help with things like arrangement of transportation, ect...

For example, the hotel graciously offered to help arrange our transportation to the airport. We were very clear about our destination, yet we were transported to the wrong airport and were charged four times the amount the hotel had given us as the total cost.

We realize there will sometimes be issues with language barriers, but expected more from a hotel located in the 'center' of tourism of San Miguel, a city that relies so heavily on tourism for its existence.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pacificnw85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2007

My wife and I found Posado Carmina while we we were exploring the town. Located basically across the street from the cathedral, we walked into the restaurant for the hotel just to take a break and have a drink. The courtyard in which the restaurant is located is amazing (not so uncommon in San Miguel). The servers were nice and so we asked the front desk if they had any availability and fortunately they did. So we packed up and moved to Posada Carmina.
Posada Carmina probably has the best location in San Miguel, the view from our room was the cathedral. Easy walking distance to everywhere. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The rooms, like most places in San Miguel, do not have AC, but realistically, it is not needed, The beds are like most other beds in Mexico - hard as a rock, but despite this, the beauty of the hotel makes you forget the shortcomings. Basically, it was a wonderful experience and we will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Jimandcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2006

We stayed for a week in May 2006 at the Posada Carmina. It was unusually hot, and the Posada Carmina has no air conditioning. The beds have no box springs and are hard as stones. We could not sleep the entire week. It was so hot we propped our room door open in the hope of some air circulation. The room was big, but it was too hot to stay in. The service at the hotel is indifferent at best. The owner is around all of the time, and he is unfriendly, even after we were introduced to him by one of his friends. On the plus side, the location is perfect--next to the Parroquia--and the food was pretty good. I would not stay there again.

10  Thank SdeResendiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2006

Great hotel for the price. We stayed in the quaint older section of this hotel and the room was lovely. The only problem is the noise from people partying on the street at all hours of the night. The service was great, everyone was very friendly. We had our car and we were allowed to park it underneath the hotel and we never once used it while we were there, no need to with the central location of this hotel. The breakfast that is included with the room was excellent! I would stay here again.

3  Thank gemelos3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2006

We stayed in this hotel one night and moved out the next morning because of street noise and noise inside the hotel. I had specifically requested a quite room and they tried to accomodate us by giving us a room away from the church bells. However, this room was at the back of the hotel on a narrow street. The street noise, cars, screaming, singing, etc went on the whole night. It was Saturday night which is probably worse than any other night. I did not get any sleep even with earplugs. The room was very basic, with a bed (hard mattress of course) but clean. No safe, no English channels on TV.

The breakfast was included and very good. The location is great next to the Zocalo. However due to the noise this hotel is not recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank varvararodriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.3 mi away
Mansion San Miguel
Mansion San Miguel
#8 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#10 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
302 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mansion Virreyes
Hotel Mansion Virreyes
#42 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suites Dali
Hotel Suites Dali
#66 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Carmina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Carmina Hotel

Address: Cuna de Allende No. 7, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £80 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada Carmina since 1967, in a house of century XVIII, in the heart of San Miguel de Allende, only 50 steps from the jardin and next to the church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Carmina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing