We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roughing it at the Posada Camina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Carmina Hotel
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Roughing it at the Posada Camina”
Reviewed 31 May 2006

We stayed for a week in May 2006 at the Posada Carmina. It was unusually hot, and the Posada Carmina has no air conditioning. The beds have no box springs and are hard as stones. We could not sleep the entire week. It was so hot we propped our room door open in the hope of some air circulation. The room was big, but it was too hot to stay in. The service at the hotel is indifferent at best. The owner is around all of the time, and he is unfriendly, even after we were introduced to him by one of his friends. On the plus side, the location is perfect--next to the Parroquia--and the food was pretty good. I would not stay there again.

Helpful?
10 Thank SdeResendiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    36
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2006

Great hotel for the price. We stayed in the quaint older section of this hotel and the room was lovely. The only problem is the noise from people partying on the street at all hours of the night. The service was great, everyone was very friendly. We had our car and we were allowed to park it underneath the hotel and we never once used it while we were there, no need to with the central location of this hotel. The breakfast that is included with the room was excellent! I would stay here again.

Helpful?
3 Thank gemelos3883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2006

We stayed in this hotel one night and moved out the next morning because of street noise and noise inside the hotel. I had specifically requested a quite room and they tried to accomodate us by giving us a room away from the church bells. However, this room was at the back of the hotel on a narrow street. The street noise, cars, screaming, singing, etc went on the whole night. It was Saturday night which is probably worse than any other night. I did not get any sleep even with earplugs. The room was very basic, with a bed (hard mattress of course) but clean. No safe, no English channels on TV.

The breakfast was included and very good. The location is great next to the Zocalo. However due to the noise this hotel is not recommended.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank varvararodriques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2006

We highly recommend Posada Carmina in San Miguel de Allende. Stayed 3 nights at this charming, well maintained inn. It's located right off the main plaza, yet it was very quiet. We were able to enjoy Christmas concerts at the plaza just steps from the courtyard. Our room was a large, 2-bed suite (there were 3 of us), with a large bath. Breakfast was part of the package. The staff was extremely helpful. We would definitely stay there again!

Helpful?
3 Thank grannygardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 November 2005

Couldn't find a friendlier or better located place to stay. We have stayed here multiple times and always with the same result. J.Flynn

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 November 2005

I just came back from San Miguel de Allende, we stayed in hotel and posada carmina....its just right by the main plaza and walking distance from everything !! so its great, you don´t need taxis and can enjoy the town by yourself till late at night because all bars and restaurants are just around the corner.

Very nice and BIG room, its rustic mexican style but very well kept and clean.

Bkfst are great, sitting in the courtyard with all the trees and enjoying a big bkfst which its included with your hotel stay. At nights its romantic and nice too :)

i will truly recommend this place for your stay, you will have a great price for a great location and mexican atmosphere.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2005

My husband and I traveled to Mexico in April 2005 and based on a lot of research, stayed in Queretaro, San Miguel and Guanajuato. Just loved the one-week trip, our first without children (in 8 years!) In San Miguel, we stayed at the Posada Carmina. It was very centrally located and we were able to come and go from the plazas and shopping very conveniently. Our room was facing the Calle Jesus and was very warm, but we had to keep the windows closed at night due the noise from the street. On hindsight I would have gotten a room in the newer part, but not facing the street. I regret the fact that the room came with breakfast included. I would have been happy to go to one of the cafes near the Jardin and have a light breakfast and people-watch - but it killed me to not eat that breakfast that was paid for! After 4 breakfasts, I got pretty tired of the same menu at Posada Carmina. The people I met on this trip were the among the most friendly people I have come across (and we travel extensively). I could count on one hand the number of people who were not that friendly (but not rude either) and the manager of this hotel was one of those. I can't say anything too bad - just that he was not very helpful (an I-don't-care attitude). I would have loved to have stayed at Casa Schuck but the price was out of our range. All said and done the hotel was clean, the courtyard had a lot of atmosphere and character, the service was fine and it was very centrally located.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank PTCTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#6 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#12 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Loteria
Hotel Casa Loteria
#56 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#9 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
Coqueta Hotel Boutique
#40 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cortizo Suites
Cortizo Suites
#61 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Carmina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Carmina Hotel

Property: Posada Carmina Hotel
Address: Cuna de Allende No. 7, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 69 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Posada Carmina since 1967, in a house of century XVIII, in the heart of San Miguel de Allende, only 50 steps from the jardin and next to the church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Carmina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing