We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Xichu
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Antigua Villa Santa Monica(San Miguel de Allende)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mision San Miguel de Allende(San Miguel de Allende)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansion San Miguel(San Miguel de Allende)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Condo Posada La Ermita(San Miguel de Allende)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Primavera(San Miguel de Allende)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Colibri Terra(San Miguel de Allende)
View Hotel
Casa de Reyna(San Miguel de Allende)
View Hotel
Rancho Hotel El Atascadero(San Miguel de Allende)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Puertecita Boutique Hotel(San Miguel de Allende)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Matilda(San Miguel de Allende)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
14
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Villa Vichu is about 15 minutes walking distance to Centro, San Miguel. It is 8 villas on five acres in a gorgeous setting. Each Villa is unique with personal touches throughout. I was lucky enough to see all of them while I was there......There is not one that is less beautiful than the next.. it just depends upon your needs.
Gloria, the owner, and Alejandra, the manager, cannot do enough for you... they really go over and beyond to make your stay a wonderful one.....And it will be.. I actually gasped when I toured the grounds... absolutely beautiful.....
There are also two pools , soon to be three on the grounds.
I found myself, in mid afternoon wanting to return to the villa from centro just to enjoy the villa, the ground and the spectacular views!
You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunello5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We stayed at Villas Xichu for one month and we definetly loved it. The gardens surrounding the villas as well as the houses are beutiful. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure you felt comfortable. We rented two houses and it was a great set up for kids. They enjoyed playing in the gardens as well as playing in the pool. It is a quiet place to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BeHappyHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2006

We loved our stay at Villa Xichu, and only wish we could have met the owner, Gloria, in person. (She lives part time in Lebanon, her husband's country, and part time in Mexico). Unlike the person who posted a complaint about responses to emails, we had a long series of delightful email exchanges with Gloria, right up through the time we stayed there. (As my Spanish improved, we began to correspond in Spanish and she took the time to gently correct my errors!) I really felt like we made a personal connection which made our stay all the more special.

Villa Xichu is up in the "Ojo de Agua" neighborhood of San Miguel, so it's uphill, going up Salida a Queretaro a 15 minute walk down and a steep 20 minutes up from the "Centro", but cabs are also readily available.. It is set behind high garden walls in an interesting mixed neighborhood - partly an old part of town with a small church and family dwellings where you walk by people making homemade tortillas, and partly inhabited by newly constructed upscale homes.

We loved the "Casa de Cactus", a two bedroom casita with a tiny pool in front, but also enjoyed a few nights in the small two bedroom Casa del Pirul. Another two bedroom was under construction while we were there. There is a large 3 or 4 bedroom house, La Casa de la Rosa Rosa (the owner's residence) which is sometimes available and nice for two families to share. It has a larger pool next to it (both pools are open to anyone who stays there but people seemed to stay in their own "zone"). The place was about half full when we were there, and with a mix of Mexican and American families or couples. We didn't see much of the other guests - it feels pretty private - although for a couple of weekend nights during our 3 week stay we were slightly annoyed by some partying In addition to these there was a 3 BR casita with great views and another 1 BR. The wireless internet room (with a signal that reached to some of the casitas) was a big plus. The gardens are pleasant. No place in San Miguel is entirely quiet, due to the frequent fiestas and various religious celebrations that can produce music and/or fireworks at all hours, but Villa Xichu is removed from the bustle of the Centro.

The manager, Alejandra, was occasionally frazzled and muffed a few things (our pool didn't work for the first several days and then when it was repaired had so much chlorine in it that my daughter's hair turned bright green) but when we had a minor emergency (one of our children became ill - probably something she ate at the hot springs pool outside of town), she quickly called for a doctor who came to make a housecall - the doctor was multilingual, very efficient, called the pharmacy and had the medications delivered, all at minimal cost. We were also regaled with a "welcome breakfast" on one of our first days, which was delightful. The housekeepers did excellent work, so our place was always tidy - but we did have to keep our door closed lest the friendly old dog make itself at home.

San Miguel de Allende and the surrounding area is fascinating, and Villa Xichu is a superb home base for all your explorations. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meerkat_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
28
Reviewed 29 January 2004

We are into our third week of a five-week stay here. This is a gated park with gorgeously decorated houses, each one unique in size and layout. The staff is outstanding, ready to please. Viila-Xichu is a fifteen minute walk or fast cab ride from the center of the city. After a full day in San Miguel I welcome returning to this peaceful spot.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews