We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flor makes the difference!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casita de las Flores
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Flor makes the difference!”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Flor is the manager, not the owner, of Casita de las Flores. She is an incredible woman. She makes every effort to ensure that the guests have everything they want, information, insight, support if it is needed to get something done, and a welcoming attitude.
The Casita is five rooms all facing on a lush garden with a terrific hammock for relaxing. The bathrooms are shared but spotless, and in my three weeks I never experienced a line up. The kitchen has everything you could want to put together a snack or a big dinner.
Other guests are friendly, and one of the advantages of sharing resources is that the guests do have opportunities to say hello. The Casita is a great choice for people who like to meet people when they travel.
The Casita is extremely well located. It is a 20 minute, interesting, walk to the Jardine, but if you are in a rush, or tired, there are buses right outside the door for five pesos. Raise an arm and hail them to stop, and they will. All around are interesting places to eat and shop, and Flor's special map makes finding them an easy matter. There is an internet cafe right outside the gate, but wifi in the Casita works well if you bring your own laptop. There is also a shop for simple foodstuffs.
I would never think of staying at any different place than Casita de las Flores on any future trip to San Miguel de Allende.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qualicumgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
9
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My 3rd trip to SMA - this location is a gem. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and the garden courtyard is just beautiful. The casita is a 15 - 20 min walk from the jardin, it is very easy to get a bus ( but nor much faster!) and taxis are close by. The common kitchen has everything you need and the bathrooms are just fine. Flor assisted us with travel questions and a challnging mail situation - she is wonderful. We felt safe and totally made ourselves at home. It is a great place to relax, surf the net, read, etc. You are not rushed like a hotel or confined to one room. We met other travellers, but had privacy in the kitchen & courtyard most of the time. I will stay here for longer next time.
I would suggest earplugs - the casa is far enough from the town center to minimize the bells that chime every hour and most of the fireworks - but there are a number of roof top dogs that bark frequently. There is no traffic noise.
Check out the Thai place on mezones (?#74), and Heche in Mexico. The best city view is beside Mamma Mia's at ?La Azteca? 3rd floor up on the roof. The home & garden tours from the biblioteca are wonderful too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahBee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I liked Casita de las Flores quite a bit and have longed to return but that hasn't been possible for me. It is not palacial, but neither are the charges to stay there very high. I found the fees very reasonable.

The garden home was clean, colorfully decorated and gardens well kept. The kitchen and dining area is not overly spacious but quite adequate. It was more than adequate when I cooked and shared my cooking and beer with other guests one warm afternoon.

Francoise Lemieux, the owner was wonderful. She did not have to, but she offered to give me a ride to the casita when she learned I would be arriving by bus and I'm glad I accepted, because Francoise is an awesome beautiful beautiful woman with an obviously true altruistic demeanor. I fell in love with her and the Casita de las Flores.

I look forward to returning one day!!!

Thanks for the hospitality Francoise, you and la casita are awsome...

Oscar, Brownsville

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Everything a responsible, independent traveler would want--comfortable, safe, cared for, nothing unnecessary. Hosts are experienced and responsive--and warm! Beautiful, situated with privacy--the casita was a significant part of what made our trip so nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort collins, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I selected Casita de las Flores because it seemed well suited for my independent travel style, good reviews, and pleasant photos of the place. I was not disappointed. First, the shuttle drivers for both services from BJX airport to San Miguel de Allende know exactly where to drop off guests, and will call ahead to make sure someone is there to greet them. The manager/hostess Flor is a delightful, thoughtful person who was responsive to my emails before I arrived, helped me get an available discount, and was helpful in every way, including a little flexibility with room booking when my plans changed mid-visit.

For the most part, other guests were a welcome diversion, and included U.S., Canadian, and Mexico City travelers. The charming shared kitchen/dining area was pleasant to use, and each guest has a little segregated shelf and refrigerator space for their provisions.

The shared bath arrangement might not be ideal for everyone - during my stay there was unseasonable wet and cool weather that made a few late-night visits interesting (one must traverse an open courtyard) - but they are well-maintained and seemed adequate for the limited number of rooms.

The neighborhood provides many useful amenities, including a pharmacy, small tiendas, cooked meals, bus lines (if the 20-min walk to centro is an issue), a small panaderia, and others. A working-class area, it is distinctly Mexican, and I never felt uncomfortable walking about.

The rooms have a little desk/table, and offer optional propane heaters if one feels a need to take the chill off during the cool season.

Overall, I was glad I made this choice, and would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the blue door (opposite the privada entry) probably get the strongest wi-fi sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staninco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a place that is difficult to classify. Most of the B&B I have used in Mexico are a house with multiple rooms. This is more like a hotel with individual rooms, a shared kitchen and bathrooms. You need to go into the courtyard to use any of the shared facilities.

It is clean, quiet, more privacy than many other B&B I have used. BUT this is not luxurious. The hostess is a nice lady, very helpful, and is around, but does not live or spend most of the time on the grounds.

So you are probably asking why the 5 star rating... For SMA, this is a great price and the hostess is very upfront with the details of the place. If you are looking for a clean, private place in a good location, with a kitchen to use... This is a great crashpad.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsingram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Lori S
LOVED this B & K! Flor is a gracious hostess. Tasteful, charmingly decorated, comfortable, clean, private little haven. Easy to tour San Miguel de Allende from this spot. Bus comes by the front door, taxi is a half block away, or you can walk. Well equipped kitchen. Lovely courtyard with lots of greenery. Had a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorindaS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa De Los Olivos
Casa De Los Olivos
#19 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#11 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Francia
Posada Francia
#31 of 134 in San Miguel de Allende
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
#7 of 134 in San Miguel de Allende
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Don Pascual
Casa Don Pascual
#26 of 134 in San Miguel de Allende
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 134 in San Miguel de Allende
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de las Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de las Flores

Property: Casita de las Flores
Address: Colonia Allende, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de las Flores is San Miguel's affordable B&K (Bed & Kitchen). For less than US $50 a night, enjoy a comfy, friendly, affordable, and slightly unconventional alternative to expensive hotels and B&Bs. Unlike those hoity-toity places, our guests generally become friends— hanging out in our large, plant-filled patio and in our fully equipped kitchen/dining room.Enjoy the tranquility of the Casita, meet fellow travelers, eat what you want when you want, and spend all the cash you save on adventures (and/or shopping). We offer monthly rates, as well. Email us! What are you waiting for? Hope to see you very soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casita De Las Flores Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing