We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casita de las Flores
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This small bed and kitchen is located in a middle class Mexican area of San Miguel, about 1 mile from the city center. The most direct route to El Jardín Principal, city center, is via residential streets, a pleasant walk, practically void of traffic, and relatively flat considering that San Miguel is hilly. Or take a local bus directly downtown. Restaurants, shops and necessities are close at hand. The housekeeper and manager were friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, and the nights were quiet. Just a little Spanish goes a long way. Good value and culturally, a more realistic experience than downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

My son and I stayed here for 5 nights in late July, and had a wonderful experience. It is very small and tidy, appropriate if you are independent and don't mind the 10-15 minute BEAUTIFUL walk into town. I was a little nervous prior to arriving about the need to make an appointment to coordinate our arrival with the manager, a seemingly odd necessity, however, I assure you that Flor (the manager) is a wonderful, totally reliable, and very hospitable hostess, and will prove very helpful in getting you acclimated. The rooms are modest, yet charming, the neighborhood (as all of San Miguel) is rich in character, and NOT, as characterized by an earlier reviewer, unattractive. There are lots of great restaurants nearby in the Guadiana neighborhood, and services like food shopping, laundry, internet cafes, etc. are conveniently located. The kitchen and courtyard are very charming. This was a great experience for us. Thank you, Flor!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DGB51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

I just wanted to write a review based on the service I received from the staff at this Bed and Breakfast. After spending several hours calling and speaking to front desk staff in different lodgings in San Miguel de Allende. I stumble over Casita de las Flores here on TripAdvisor. Their phone number was not listed on this site, so I opted to send an email to the address provided and inquired a quote for one night stay in the month of September. Their response was prompt, but granted, it did not surprise me they required a minimum stay of two nights, since I've been informed of the same requirements from other lodgings I've contacted earlier over and over. Each place I've contacted refused to recommend another place. For this reason the email I wrote to Casita de las Flores was short and to the point. What really set Casita de las Flores apart was their service and their willingness to further assist a guest that is going to visit their town. Flor did not only replied to my email with information about their requirements, but also included (without any inquiries from my part) information from other lodgings. This is why I wanted to take the time and write a review just on this. Being a host for tourists is not only enjoying the economical contributions they make while visiting, but also leaving a well imprinted impression of the level of service and the options offered to them before, during and after their visit. Flor, we were about to pass on San Miguel the Allende, but because of you we will visit the town and enjoy the hospitality of true hosts like you! Thanks!

Stayed: July 2013
5  Thank TravelLense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casita_sanmiguel, Owner at Casita de las Flores, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Hi there, Sorry you had bad experiences with other places in town, but glad you were happy with our service. With us it's not all about the money--we really do care about your stay! Go figure. Hope you manage to fall in love with San Miguel and have a great stay—be it with us, or somewhere else. Take care, Francoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I really felt like home.
Everything is clean as i could imagine.
The service as in every part in Mexico is outstanding.

You can have a 10 min walk and arrive to downtown.


Thanks for everything. It really was an amazing experience. Hope return soon.
Cheers.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casita_sanmiguel, Owner at Casita de las Flores, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Gracias Dalia! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you here again soon! Saludos, Flor y Francoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I spent two nights over Casita de las Flores and it was a lovely experience. The kitchen is a nice place to stay at night, you can cook your own food, you share a bathroom but water was hot and nice! It has five nice rooms and though you have to walk downtown a bit, San Miguel is really worth it. Price was really nice too!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perusquiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casita_sanmiguel, Owner at Casita de las Flores, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Mil Gracias! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Hasta pronto, we hope. Saludos, Flor y Francoise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

It's a regular hostel, but in a low income, noisy and filthy neighborhood. Far away from downtown (considering the size of San Miguel de Allende). Personally I do not recommend it. Our neighbors from the semi-destroyed house next door, were making noises all night (like they move furniture all night long).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Viajerotj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casita_sanmiguel, Owner at Casita de las Flores, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that the neighbors made noise. We immediately try to fix any problem we are made aware of.

We feel our website is quite accurate about our location, neighborhood, etc., and many of our reviewers have made this exact statement.

Still, we feel compelled respond more fully to your review. There is so much in it that is inaccurate, as well as offensive to us, our neighbors and to Mexico.

Casita de las Flores is NOT a hostel, as can be clearly seen by the many other reviews. We are a B&K, bed and kitchen, with nice, private rooms.

Our neighborhood is an unvarnished, established, middle-class mexican neighborhood. Perhaps you're not familiar with these? We are sorry you found it "low income, noisy, filthy and ugly." Many of us happily call it home. Our neighbor's house, while not gentrified, is not "semi-destroyed." It is home to a large, friendly, hard working family of limited means. Our neighbor on the other side is an artist with a lovely home and studio. Such is life in San Miguel.

Perhaps you have not traveled much in the third world?

As for the distance from downtown, Colonia Allende is only two neighborhoods over from the Centro and we are only 15-20 minute walk to the center of the centro, the Jardin. And the trip takes you by the lovely town park.

Perhaps you do not enjoy walking? And as for the true size of San Miguel, Perhaps you never got out in a car to experience just how big it's grown and how many neighborhoods are much farther from the centro? Clearly you did not experience a truly lower income San Miguel neighborhood.

You are of course entitled to your opinions. It's too bad they are so entirely negative and potentially damaging, as well as inaccurate.

I'm guessing the real problem here is that you would have been much happier in a pricy hotel in a gentrified area of San Miguel, where you would have been spared the realities of Mexico. Sorry, but that is not what we offer, as is clearly stated all over our website.

To other readers, we hope you will consider all of our very positive reviews, as well. We hope to see you here! Happy Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The casita is five rooms, two shared bathrooms and a kitchen facing a beautiful and comfortable garden. Not luxurious at all, but it has all you need if you don't need a lot of hand holding. Just sitting in the garden and reading a book is great, but the bus stops right outside the front door and taxis are always cruising up and down the street. Flor, the manager, doesn't stay on site but comes by every day. She is always very helpful. It is in the Colonia Allende, a very Mexican neighborhood. We got to know the owner of the little tienda a few doors away and many friendly faces all around. El centro is where all the action is, but I wouldn't want to stay there. Much calmer and quieter a little bit outside the city center. The only (minor) downside is the wi-fi signal is not very strong or fast. I had to sit right outside the kitchen door to get anything done on-line. But the price is extremely reasonable. If you are self-sufficient and don't need a concierge, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrmwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 143 in San Miguel de Allende
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
#1 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
1,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostel Alcatraz
Hostel Alcatraz
#12 of 86 in San Miguel de Allende
27 reviews
6.7 mi away
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
#1 of 1 in El Santuario
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostel inn Mexico
Hostel inn Mexico
#48 of 86 in San Miguel de Allende
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de las Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de las Flores

Address: Colonia Allende, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £27 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de las Flores is San Miguel's affordable B&K (Bed & Kitchen). For less than US $50 a night, enjoy a comfy, friendly, affordable, and slightly unconventional alternative to expensive hotels and B&Bs. Unlike those hoity-toity places, our guests generally become friends— hanging out in our large, plant-filled patio and in our fully equipped kitchen/dining room.Enjoy the tranquility of the Casita, meet fellow travelers, eat what you want when you want, and spend all the cash you save on adventures (and/or shopping). We offer monthly rates, as well. Email us! What are you waiting for? Hope to see you very soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casita De Las Flores Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing