We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Website is true and accurate!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casita de las Flores
Portsmouth, RI
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Website is true and accurate!”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

What a deal this little B&K is! You will have a good sized room, excellent Internet wireless access, a kitchen and bathrooms and a courtyard in which to spend your leisure time.

You will step out into a real and safe neighborhood when you leave the casita. You will be only a block or two away from a bus or taxi; the neighborhood has a laundry, lots of Mexican bodegas, a bakery, restaurants, etc.

The others folks there when I was there were friendly and quite willing to plan a day excursion with me since I travel alone. The maids clean the rooms, bathrooms, courtyard and kitchen every day.

What I especially appreciated was the fact that the Casita's website is well-done, not overblown and definitely honest. And the price is truly amazing...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolMaeRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    8
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
9
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockland County, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Even though I arrived during the chilly season, the rooms have little or no heat. There is no common room or living room for guests and the kitchen is tiny and cramped. The telephone in the kitchen is very difficult for English speaking guest to use and worst of all - the actual owner of this place never showed up. The location is quite far from the central area in a poor, shabby area, - very dark at night and difficult even for local taxi drivers to find. I would definitely stay away. Judith Kurland New York

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JKurland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casitadlf, Owner at Casita de las Flores, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
I was not going to respond to this email, not dignify it with an answer, because i found it so incredibly negative, inaccurate and frustrating (and because my guests have told me nobody listens to the really cranky people.) But after more than a year, i see that i'd better respond, because people are finding this review "helpful." Please all you travelers, don't base your entire opinion of a place on the one or two cranky folks. Check out the average...it's far more accurate.

I am very sorry that Judith did not enjoy her stay. But here are the facts: We have heat in every room. Many places in town do not. We do have a common room, and while the kitchen is not palatial, it is not "tiny and cramped." It is in fact the room where so many of our great guests have shared meals and stories and become friends. We are in a middle-class Mexican neighborhood (which our website explains, as well as the distance from the town square). But the worst thing appears to be that I didn't show up? I am amazed. I have seldom met the owners at places i've stayed and never once thought to complain about it. Whether or not i'm in attendance, the Casita has made many people happy, and i'm sorry you're not one of them. But it's your responsibility as a reviewer to be honest and try to present a fair asessment. And i don't think you have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Our cab driver had no problem finding La Casita. While in San Miguel, all you have to say is PRIVADA DE LAS FLORES in Colonia ALLENDE, and they'll say its the one with a door with swallows on it.

Room was great, two double beds for the three of us. The garden was lovely and we made use of the hammock. The walk from La Casita was nice, but do make sure you wear comfortable shoes. It is definitely a good 20 minute walk into the main square. We enjoyed it very much though.

I agree with a previous post, it is a great place to meet others. Everyone staying here was friendly and we had some nice conversations here with others. Read the pamphlet the Casita leaves on the desk. It had some good advice on paying for a cab.

We resorted to a couple places on the main boulevard that served good inexpensive food. On one night we bought some of the charbroiled chicken with tortillas and salsa, bought a few beers at one of the tienditas near La Casita (way cheaper) and had a nice and relaxing dinner in the communal kitchen. We watched some spanish soap operas (not many channels available) and had a great time.

All in all, we had a very pleasant stay at La Casita and I am 100% sure I will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sock_Billi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

I stayed at Casita de las Flores on Aug 14 and 15. The atmosphere was friendly and I met other interesting travelers. The rooms were clean, comfortable and colorful. I didn´t mind the walk into the center, but if you don´t like walking it coud be a little far.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoooMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

The flower filled courtyard and comfortable spacious rooms are the highlights. Shared facilities are convenient, and really not a hindrance. The biggest problem was the organisational aspect. All sorts of stipulations were made at booking with regard to transfer of payment and timing of arrival - the latter being hard to be certain of when one is travelling in a new country (to us). Subsequently, the instructions given to drive there were worse than useless, and attempts to speak to someone for directions were incomprehensible. When we finally got there we were told it was unfortunate and exceptional, although two other guests had similar stories. Finally, the sheet of recommendations has a strong tendency to favour places likely to be popular with the USA or expat clientele - there are less touristed places with a more authentic indigenous feel described in the guidebooks.

  • Liked — courtyard
  • Disliked — infrastructural arrangements
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san miguel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We have stayed at the casita twice. At the price they charge we certainly knew it wouldn't be able to offer some of the frills provided at more expensive establishments. Instead, clean, comfortable rooms, an attentive owner and manager, wonderful fellow travellers. The only "inconveniences" as perceived by some guests might be the two bathrooms, a shared fridge and the odd burst of music from the neighbours ( which occurs pretty well anywhere in Mexico). We had showers when we wanted, and the fridge arrangement was fine.As for us? We still keep in touch with the people who run the casita., and with several of our fellow guests who were wonderful. We all had more fun than is probably legal, more sincere and memorable conversations , more sadness parting from each other than I would have thought possible. You will never regret the experience. For many , as for us, it is a life-changing experience.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank acrtfepol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas,Vnzla
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

While quite a charming set up, I wouldn't stay here again.

The main problem is the location - a good 25 minute hike into town on cobblestone sidewalks which make the walk hard on the feet. Or you could walk the 3 blocks to the main road and take a taxi or bus into town. So if you are in town and want to rest, grab an extra jacket, drop off your purchases.. you would have to think twice about hauling your [--] back to the Casita.

While exploring San Miguel, we found quite a few hotels (and I usually cringe at the thought of staying in a hotel rather than a b&b) that were charming, in the same price range and right in town. .. and where you didn't have to share a bathroom.

I also thought it was kind of a joke to have been asked to contribute to the "TIP" box for the housekeeper when we never had our room made up nor our waste bin emptied during our stay. My advice... look elsewhere.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank chapichapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasitadelasFlores, Owner at Casita de las Flores, responded to this review, 3 March 2008
To be fair, how about: Different accommodations available at similar prices?

Yes, there are a few hotels in San Miguel more or less in our price range, but they do not offer a kitchen, laundry area, or monthly rates, and they don’t always have the nicest ambiance. We never claimed to be the cheapest place in town, just a very good value—one that makes the large majority of our guests happy.

Of course this does depend on what one is looking for. Some people like hotels in the Centro. Some prefer the more friendly, homey, and social atmosphere of the Casita, as well as staying in a real Mexican neighborhood.

As for distance from the Centro, shared baths, room cleaning schedules, etc., all of this is clearly disclosed on our website and in preliminary emails. Why complain about it if it is what you signed up for? (We ask everyone to please read the detailed description of our place before reserving, to make sure you will have the kind of stay that you want.)

As for tipping—whether or not the trashcan in the room was emptied before the 7 day point, (there is a large garbage can in the laundry area for such purposes), our housekeepers keep common areas clean and thoroughly clean rooms once a week. Tipping, even just a little, is a gracious way of saying thank you.

Not to mention that it is generally accepted to tip housekeeping staff when travelling—especially in third world countries. Nobody is obliged to leave a tip, but there’s no need to call it a laughable idea—these women work hard.

Of course we never like a bad review—we really want our guests to be happy here, and we are sorry if they aren’t. Something good came out of it, however. We thought it over and decided to start offering daily room tidying. So far, it’s been a popular decision. We are, in fact, always trying to improve.

While it’s laudable to want to educate other travelers, please keep in mind that suggestions or complaints made personally are far more productive (and responsible) than just negative reviews online.

At least give us innkeepers a chance to fix a problem before publicly panning us. It’s not as easy as it seems to try to please everyone.

Sincerely,

Casita de las Flores
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 mi away
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
Acuarela Bed And Breakfast
#7 of 136 in San Miguel de Allende
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 136 in San Miguel de Allende
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Maricela
Casa Maricela
#20 of 136 in San Miguel de Allende
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hostal Malinalli
#18 of 74 in San Miguel de Allende
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa los Relojes
Casa los Relojes
#49 of 136 in San Miguel de Allende
8 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lool Beh
Lool Beh
#4 of 74 in San Miguel de Allende
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita de las Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita de las Flores

Property: Casita de las Flores
Address: Colonia Allende, San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casita de las Flores is San Miguel's affordable B&K (Bed & Kitchen). For less than US $50 a night, enjoy a comfy, friendly, affordable, and slightly unconventional alternative to expensive hotels and B&Bs. Unlike those hoity-toity places, our guests generally become friends— hanging out in our large, plant-filled patio and in our fully equipped kitchen/dining room.Enjoy the tranquility of the Casita, meet fellow travelers, eat what you want when you want, and spend all the cash you save on adventures (and/or shopping). We offer monthly rates, as well. Email us! What are you waiting for? Hope to see you very soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casita De Las Flores Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing