We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget central gem”

Hotel Posada El Mayorazgo
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Posada El Mayorazgo
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I , a single older gal, have enjoyed staying at this special ,family run, small hotel several times in 20 years.
It is a five minute walk from all essential needs: groceries, wine,library-bibliotec, opera house,2 cinemas,
major shopping,central Jardin-zocola beside impressive cathedral and yes.. Starbucks with nice garden.
The rooms are simple-basic with daily maid service and located around a sunny quiet courtyard-garden.
it is safe with 24 hr. staffing and the street access door is locked at night.
Rates are approx. $30.00 single per day with a good weekly-monthly rate.
Staff has limited English, bookings best done on line.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TREKKKKKKKKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Right in the heart of the city centre, El Mayorazgo, Hotel Posada is a charming small hotel about a block away from the main city square and municipal garden.
For approximately $35 per night as a solo traveller, I had a suite of rooms with a kitchen where I could prepare food (including necessary utensils). There was a living room with couch, kitchen table and chairs. The bedroom was nicely but sparely furnished, the beds good. The washroom was fine, though it took a long time to get hot water.
The inner courtyard has a lovely garden.
The buildings and the furnishings show signs of wear, but for a traveller who spends the majority of time exploring, the value for money is very good. It's clean, spacious and comfortable. The people I was travelling with were parents with an adult child. Their room cost an extra $4 per night for the extra person in a slightly larger suite with three beds, for about $45 per night, all told.
If one was planning to stay a longer time, I bet there would be a possibility of a long-stay rate.

Room Tip: In November there were lots of rooms available (beginning of season) and the manager showed us four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank watercolourkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank メキ太郎
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladirca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
6.5 mi away
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
Nirvana Restaurant Retreat
#1 of 1 in El Santuario
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende
#1 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
1,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#9 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
1,012 reviews
2 mi away
Imperio de Angeles
Imperio de Angeles
#32 of 69 in San Miguel de Allende
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Alcatraz
Hostel Alcatraz
#14 of 94 in San Miguel de Allende
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada El Mayorazgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada El Mayorazgo

Address: Calle Hidalgo No. 8, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 94 Speciality Lodging in San Miguel de Allende
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing