We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay wile in San Miguel”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Dave G
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay wile in San Miguel”
Reviewed 8 December 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My wife and I stayed at Alice’s Palace for two weeks around Independence Day (Sep 16) and forward. We picked these days figuring it would be fun to see all the pageantry that Mexico has to offer and we were not disappointed. Fireworks almost every day, marching bands just about every day and church bells all the time.
The property is a wonderful place to stay in, perfectly located near the center of town within easy walking distance to just about everything. We rarely took a taxi anywhere, only when traveling out of town.
Back to the property, it is very cozy, decorated with lots of eclectic charm. A mix of new age, eastern influences and of course local Mexican tradition. You can just sit there on the couch and spend hours trying to figure out the cultural origins of each item of decoration.
The property is well stocked with just about anything you will need in terms of pots and pans, utensils, spices, you name it.
Alice (the owner), lives downstairs and she was always accommodating whenever we needed help. Her assistant, Christine, went out of her way to give us tips on shopping locations, suggested tours, places to dine at, etc. She was a real trooper and always friendly.
All in all we had a very pleasant experience staying at Alice’s place. We would recommend it to anyone interested in traveling to SMA.
- Dave

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2018
Dave,thank you for the beautiful review! Taking care of guests, especially appreciative guests like you, is truly our pleasure. We love San Miguel de Allende, MX, so much and we are passionate about helping others have the perfect experience. Alice is a collector and the objets d'art that you mention are from all around the world and make a good guessing game. She has all the answers. Ask her about each piece next time and we sure hope there is a next visit soon!! All Best and thank you for recommending Alice's Palace.
Christine and Alice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Ellen
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This gem on Mesones Street is steps away from the main square. It is Right in the heart of the city and the cab stand is across the street if you need to go further and The fares are incredibly low.
Alice is one beautiful person and strives to meet all your needs. The apartment is cozy and well equipped . It has one king bedroom and sitting room with double futon . It feels roomy . One of the best features is a gigantic outdoor living room And a roof top deck which is wonderful for entertaining. The place itself is magical with shopping, restaurants and entertainment .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
It was a pleasure having you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment, great location...NO hospitality/ services”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
4
people found this review helpful

The location was extremely convenient, with the ability to walk everywhere within town. It is also a very lovely ONE bedroom apartment, not 2 as the advertisement suggests. 'Second bedroom' is a fold out couch in the living room area with no closet or dresser. We found Alice to be less than helpful. I am a seasoned traveler, so was able to find things out on my own, but if you are not comfortable with Spanish, or figuring things out, you should go elsewhere. The automatic lights that should come on when dark, did not always work, which is a big safety issue. Although there were many DVD's there, the player never worked. Views from balcony were great!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
Hello, Christine here, Alice's assistant. Every review for the Penthouse and the studio for Alice's Palace lists our helpfulness, availability, communication before and during the trip, as top notch, except for this review. We pride ourselves on our better than concierge service including suggestions for airport shuttles, goings on about town, and we try our very best to ensure that our guests' needs are met and that everyone has a fabulous, seamless vacation. One can't please all of the people all of the time, apparently, but we sure do try! Alice and I both go the extra mile for our guests. I provide a "lay of the land" in communication before the actual trip and provide links, names, adventures to pyramids, La Gruta, and so much more. I'm always available and sometimes have guests call me for information and write volumes of questions, as this guest did. And we answered and were most accommodating.Alice invites guests into her home for wine and appetizers and is the most gracious host imaginable, being a Hockaday graduate and beautiful human being. The lighting on the stairs was iffy and we had an electrician repair it and took the extra steps to provide alternative lighting in the interim period. Problem solved. The DVD player didn't work so we bought a new one. So sorry about the DVD player. Readers, please read our other reviews here and on all sites. Thank you, All of us at Alice's Palace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saritavas...
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay in San Miguel. The moment we entered the home off the street the first day, we felt like we were walking into an oasis of peace and beauty. You would never know what awaits you from the business of the street and being right in the middle of everything. Alice's place really felt like home. It was hard to leave.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
We are delighted that you found us and so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our special haven! Please do come back soon. All Best,
The staff at Alice's Palace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry W
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“right in the middle of all the action”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

First, you could not deal with a more lovely person than Alice. The apartment was spotless and kept that way throughout the week. The location couldn't be better and the views were spectacular. All major attractions are within a easy walk of the front door. My wife and I will certainly make sure to stay with Alice the next time we are in San Miguel. On a side note, we found ourselves short on luggage space due to over purchases the night before our departure. Alice had come up to give her thanks and to say good bye. When she discovered we were in a pickle she left and came back with a suitcase that allowed us to leave the next morning with all of our precious cargo. We plan on sending it back full of original fritos which are not available locally and happen to be a favorite of Alice's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner, location, cleanliness, views
Liked least: the stuffy French Canadian in the other apartment, no offense to French Canadians
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarrytown...
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sweet and Lovely”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The Penthouse is just as described and photos give a true picture of the property. There is, however, only one bedroom. The second sleeping space can accommodate 2 adults comfortably but you must pass through the other bedroom to acces the single bath. As a solo guest, this was not a problem for me. The super large bed was mucho comfy. I did not cook at all but the kitchen was equipped with anything you might need. Loved the bells tho you can't count on them for the correct time. So quirky and fun. Great location. I did not find the stairs to be a problem and I'm 80 y.o. With arthritis.
Alice, the owner, is delightful and charming as was Christine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Authentic Mexican abode
Liked least: Don't have a
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2017
WE are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed meeting you and do hope you come back soon. Thank you for your kind words; we aim to please! And with guests like you that is easy and a real pleasure!
All of us at Alice's Palace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irma G. S
2 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful.”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The accommodations were great, location was perfect, convenient to so many restaurants, and things to see. The views from the outdoor space were truly amazing. Friends had warned us about the church bells which rang often but after the first day they really did not bother us. San Miguel is a beautiful place and we hope to go back again and take friends with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the outdoor space.
Liked least: Walking up the close to 40 steps to our room but worth it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay so much! It is true that the location cannot be beat, the beds are super comfortable and the terrace and roof top are unlike any other spot in the world!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing