We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, spacious and authentic in San Miguel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Morada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Morada Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Calexico, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious and authentic in San Miguel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the La Morada and booked a colonial suite. I was surprised how large the room was with many comfortable but unique features. The location of the hotel can't be beat, only steps from the main square with many surrounding shops and restaurants. The noise may be an issue for some but the hotel provides ear plugs. The hotel was a great value and a perfect fit in this beautiful and historic city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    49
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
55
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for just one night on our way to Mexico City. We found the facilities very clean and the staff extremely helpful and kind. We stayed there with our two little boys and my father. We got the suite that included a king bed and an extra bedroom with twin beds. We loved the authentic Mexican atmosphere and greatly appreciated the location, right by the main square. The bells did ring all night but it didn't really bother us; perhaps because our room was towards the back of the hotel. The kids slept through the night. All and all, wonderful place for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaGabyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darien ct.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

We had less than 24 hours to see san miguel de Allende over a weekend spent with friends and they chose this hotel.
It is smack dab in the center very close to the cathedral so it made seeing the city very efficient and we could spend our time walking the city right from the moment we arrived.
The hotel itself has an inner courtyard, we had room 18 on the bottom floor and it was adequate for our needs, bright, clean , nice bathroom with tub.
The bells going off every 15 minutes did bother me a bit and I had not seen the earplugs offered until the morning.
Our breakfast which was included in our rate was offered at a beautiful rooftop room w/ terrace about a block and a half away and it was a nice experience to see the amazing view off the balcony of this terrace, not sure I have seen a prettier landscape of a valley anywhere in the world.
Also, the sun and breeze in san Miguel is nothing sort of luscious, it is a place that envelopes you.
Parking next to the hotel was an added convenience, front staff was very nice.
In the future if going for more time I might pick something with more amenities( bar, terrace, pool, romance, area to relax) but it was fine for one night, not many frills though, just great location and adequate comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playa102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

My wife and I went to San Miguel de Allende for a weekend. We went at kind of the last second and after scanning tripadvisor.com for some suggestions, we found that only La Morada had availability. This should have been a red flag to us, but the location was great and the price was pretty good. Big mistake. It wasn't the bells that got to us, it was the people partying next door that would not keep it down. We called the front desk with no results. I got out of bed to get someone from the front desk to get them to quiet down. I watched as the employee knocked on the door - no one came to answer. Our neighbors just kept partying. Only after they passed out at about 3am did we finally get some sleep - until the bells started at 5:45 am. Do not stay here!!!

Room Tip: Any room where there are no parties next door - good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobfromRedondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Hotel La Morada was a very pleasant surprise in San Miguel de Allende. Everybody at the hotel was very kind and helpful. The room was comfortable and with character. We had a small balcony with a magnificent view. The only con was the tolling of the church's bells that did not let my husband sleep (the hotel provides ear plugs but he did not use them)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs UK
Level Contributor
420 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hotel's entrance is some 100m from El Jardin (the main square) - you enter a small reception hall to find a friendly & helpful receptionist. Go up the stairs & you will realise what a lovely hotel this is, from the beautiful murals, potted plants & even a "park" bench to sit on outside our room & enjoy the sun. You walk into the bedrooms from an out door walkway.

Our room was towards the rear - totally quiet, spacious, good beds, well furnished with a TV that actually had BBC World News as a programme (as opposed to CNN, which essential is by the US for the US ref. the forthcoming elections). Very good shower, hair dryer & sink with a plug.

Breakfast was taken at its restaurant some 30m left out of the reception door. Once the waitress understood its boiling water for tea - we got on fine.

For dinner we visited La Posadita - roof top terrace - great views - heaters & it was Valentine's Day; for a less formal meal try El Ten Ten Pie - a little further down the same road. Turn left outside the hotel & cross the road, there is an up market bread & cake shop about 100m distance (opposite the post office).

I would also recommend the Allende Museum - lots of English information.

.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MEXICO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

It was a really surprised so close to the main atraccion the garden and the parroquia we dont need any transportation to walk around and have fun, excellent food at any central and outside restaurants we were saved the town is cossy and frendly, and the staff, more than excellent thanks a lot my best hollydays.

Room Tip: the rooms at front of the parroque have sauna and from there you can have the best veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICIA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#8 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#10 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Morada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Morada Hotel

Property: La Morada Hotel
Address: Calle Correo No. 10 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Morada Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is an old colonial house, with rooms decorated on this style,located 60 feet away from the main square. All rooms with: king bed, Cable TV, DVD,telephone and security box. Colonial Suites in two levels; bedroom with king bed, living room with balcony overlooking to the main zone, half and full bathroom with a personal Jacuzzi bath tub. Patio Suites, new area in ground floor with out-standing minimalist design and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Morada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing