We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms!”
Review of La Morada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Morada Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We stayed in a beautiful room with a big living room and a first floor bedroom. Would not recommend it if the weather is cold (it has no infrastructure for heatning the rooms), or if one is sensitive to waking up to the sound of the church bells :)... they start tolling at 6 am and very near!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2008

My wife and I are in our mid 50's and have travelled
extensively for the past 35 years. The La Moradahotel has been
one of the highlights!
Here are the reasons
1 Extremely friendly staff
2 Location. Half a block from the Main Square and La Parroquia
Church. Good restaurants emanate outward from this in the
surrounding couple blocks. It's an easy walk to shopping
and restaurants. The convenient location makes it easy to
drop back into the hotel for a Siesta. Likewise, if there is
entertainment in the Square, which is likely, it's easy to get
there.
3 Very clean. An efficient operation.
4 The Cafe next door is where we enjoyed our complimentary
European breakfast daily, prior to heading out for the day.
The staff at the cafe is as friendly as the hotel staff.
It is a wonderful walking town. Wear comfortable shoes.
5 The La Morada is good value. Yes, you can pay more, lots
more to stay in San Miguel, but the La Morada is an 18th
Century hacienda. It's quaint and fun. I have recommended it
to friends who also travel extensively.

Mike and Franci Weaver
California

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank michaelrweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Be aware. The hotel has two areas one rundown area that has not been renovated and looks like a bus station hotel and a new area that they call it "minimalistic", just because its been renovated. The hotel has a cafeteria instead of a full service restaurant. When I did my reservation they did not specified about the fact that there are two areas of the hotel. Once I found out about this fact the front desk clerk was very rude and told me that I should have known before I accepted the old room. I tried to talk with the manager/owner to complain about this fact and the clerk did not even bother to contact him. They are a rip off. Better to pay 50 bucks more and stay at a much better hotel like casa rosada or dos casas. These guys are thieves!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SemiMexicoDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

This is the hotel for you if you want to be right in the middle of all the action! I had to get use to the church bells and other noise, but Loved the location and the service. I stayed in the king suite and it was clean and spacious. The front desk was very helpful when I needed directions and there was always someone staffed there to help. There is a little cafe with internet service connected to the hotel which was very convenient. I checked out the patio suits, and they seemed to be quieter, as they are located within a court yard of the hotel-but I would stay right where I stayed again if I went back! It's a great place to stay if you just want to step right out in to San Miguel. Be aware that there is no where to really sit outside,in the sun, and relax-the "patios" on each room are very small-but there is the courtyard downstairs. I did not meet any other guests while I was there-so it's really a place to hang your hat while your adventuring around the town.
I Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BlueSky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2007

I cannot begin to explain what an amazing time we had in San Miguel and at this hotel.. The Patio Suites are quite tasteful and very comfortable. They are right on the plaza , but when you walk through the doors to the patio suites. TOTAL peace and quiet. I had Dental surgery down there and the hotel could not do enough to accomodate me . One of the most highly recomended little hotels I have ever found traveling ANYWHERE. Four night pacakge with taxes included great deal!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pdq121765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2006

Friends, who travel frequently, recommended La Morada. I couldn't find many reviews on the hotel so I was a little skeptical. What a surprise! The hotel is in a fantastic location, just off the Jardin. Yes, we could hear the church bells at night and the revelers, but the location really made up for it. We had the two story king suite which was lovely. Yes, it was awfully cold for a few nights but we managed. Actually, we had a wood burning fireplace in our room but didn't feel the need to have it fired up. We learned during our complimentary walking tour that the hotel was the former hacienda of a wealthy local family. If you prefer new and sparkly, try the recently added patio suites.
Our daughter, her husband and their one year old had the two bedroom double. It was on one floor and not nearly as appealing but adequate for a couple traveling with an active child.
The staff was very accommodating and we would definitely stay there again. One note, the exchange rate on our credit card was so good that the room was actually cheaper than quoted.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank anjorcutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2005

Very nice hotel in a lovely City.
The service was so professional and fast, specially with the front desk. We spend a week and We'll back. I want to recommend this special hotel, because is so warm (the people) and clean, hi level.

If you visit them ask for José, he will take care for you any momment.


Visit San Miguel!!!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CafeMonteNegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Primavera
Hotel Casa Primavera
#19 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Casa Quetzal Hotel
#23 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#9 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#12 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Morada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Morada Hotel

Address: Calle Correo No. 10 | Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £74 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Morada Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is an old colonial house, with rooms decorated on this style,located 60 feet away from the main square. All rooms with: king bed, Cable TV, DVD,telephone and security box. Colonial Suites in two levels; bedroom with king bed, living room with balcony overlooking to the main zone, half and full bathroom with a personal Jacuzzi bath tub. Patio Suites, new area in ground floor with out-standing minimalist design and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Morada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing