We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Casa Calderoni for 6 nights. Centrally located, a few short blocks from the jardin and one block from the local mercado, which is a must visit for the local flavor. While our room, the Picasso, was extremely comfortable (our only complaint was the size of the flat screen TV (too small), it's the staff that earned my 5 star rating rather than 4. Helpful, knowledgable, on site 24 hrs., I can't say enough about them. From Luis the G.M. to the housekeeping staff, they WOWED us, and insured our return on our next visit to this beautiful city.

Room Tip: The bathtub in the Picasso room for the cold mornings and nights.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuburnaFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Comfortable beds, close to the jardin, and Aurora factory, nice owners who are on site and are at breakfast to greet you, amazing roof deck with panoramic city view, lovely staff. I could not be more elated with this place. This is a must stay for any traveler.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in this small inn for 5 nights recently. Artful decor and furnishings, helpful staff and excellent location. Each room was named for a significant artist... ours was the"Freda Kahlo" room. We had a small balcony overlooking an interior garden with a double door which we left open during the cool nights. Lovely ! The bed was very comfortable, nice breakfast including good coffee, fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order and fresh squeezed orange juice . Would stay her again if returning to San Miguel de Allende !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agapanthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Casa Calderoni is conveniently located a short walk to El jardin and many shops and restaurants. Breakfast is a great opportunity to meet other people and learn about the city, not to mention delicious. Our room was very comfortable and the inn beautifully represents the heritage of Mexico. There is a lovely terrace where we enjoyed wine and cheese while enjoying the views of the city. Our hosts could not have been friendlier nor more helpful. Staff is very attentive and excellent. Luis, the concierge, among other titles, is most helpful and kind. English as well as Spanish is spoken with equal ease and frequency. We would definitely stay at Casa Calderoni again.

Room Tip: The Kahlo room has a wonderful terrace. The Botero room has no outside windows but is very comfort...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranbut89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel was a great value, and the hosts were wonderful! We found the B&B by accident (a guy in a cafe steered us there), and it was much more reasonable than other places in the centro. Only minor complaint is that A/C would be nice, it was a little bit warm (August), although it did cool down at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Staying at the Casa Calderoni is like being a guest in the private home of the owners; Ben and Merry Calderoni. Excellent service, delicious home cooked breakfast daily included in the daily room rate, plus Wi-Fi, flat screens, Vonage phone, and so much more.
Immaculate room artfully adorned with Merry Calderoni's beautiful art work...I stayed in the Picasso room and it was like bring the San Miguel bright and cherry colors in my room!
Location...Location is the best; with just a short walk to the town square, or North to the artisans shops on Aurora. Luis, the manager was always available and so helpful, especially with direction, also has the most beautiful voice and entertains a few nights a week...and this is a night out you won't want to miss!! I will return! Regards, Mary Lee

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This well-appointed B&B is on a quiet, pretty street blocks away from the Jardin (i.e. town square). We stayed in the Frida Kahlo room, a beautifully decorated room with balcony overlooking a small courtyard. The owners, Ben and Merry, and the manager Luis, will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable, and Merry is very entertaining! Great selection of fruit and cereal at breakfast (the mangoes, like everywhere in Mexico, are to die for), but I thought the main breakfast selection (you can select either eggs, pancake or french toast) could use some love, as it was a little boring. Everything else was wonderful.

Room Tip: Frida Kahlo room is beautiful
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dulooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.5 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Rosada Hotel
Casa Rosada Hotel
#5 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#9 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de la Noche
Casa de la Noche
#1 of 137 in San Miguel de Allende
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfast
Antigua Capilla Bed and Breakfas...
#3 of 137 in San Miguel de Allende
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast

Address: Callejon Del Pueblito # 4, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range: £95 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Calderoni is located in San Miguel’s historic center and combines the intimacy of an elegant bed and breakfast with the luxuries of a small boutique hotel. We are located just 3 blocks from the town square, and are conveniently located just one half block from the world famous "Mercado de Artesanias", featuring fine Mexican handicrafts from all over Mexico. Come and enjoy what Travel and Leisure Magazine reports "is one of the 2 best values in all of San Miguel" with "a rooftop terrace with unparalleled city views." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing