We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dreamy escape”
Review of L'Otel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Otel
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dreamy escape”
Reviewed 26 April 2009

My husband and I spent our first anniversary at Oasis for two nights and it was certainly an oasis from the hustle and bustle of traveling; so much so that it was difficult to leave! We stayed in the Nomad suite which certainly felt like a dreamy time travel between Mexico and Morocco. The roomy and plush suite had plenty of cozy nooks to cuddle in, such as the Mudejar daybed and a private terrace lined with lavender plants. We spent our evenings drinking wine over candlelight on the rooftop terrace, which overlooks the historical town of San Miguel. Our breakfasts were delightful, complete with fresh local fruit, juice, mini pastries and coffee. In addition, a separate menu filled your tummy with a fluffy egg scramble or waffles with real maple syrup (which is a bonus for me). The incredibly polite and billingual staff suggested outings for us to explore in San Miguel as well as delicately providing services such as an afternoon cocktail in the courtyard. We are so thrilled about our stay at Oasis that we plan to make this a bi-annual trip to escape from citylife!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    5
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
83
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, CA.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Beautifully decorated B&B with lots of personal service, only a few minutes from the Jardin. The staff treats you as family and anticipates every need. The roof garden is wonderful and comfortable with a great view of San Miguel. The breakfasts are delicious and made to order. This really is an oasis, quiet, relaxing and luxurious.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2009

I've been to San Miguel on numerous occasions, but never stayed in a more hospitable, beautful, and serene setting. From the moment I stepped through the door, I was met with delight. A carpet of purple jacara petals drew me into the luscious court yard full of hot pink bouganvias and comfortable places to lounge . I Inhaled a deep breath and felt stress slipping away.
The Oasis lives up to its name. The service was outstanding and friendly without ever being imposing. The interior design was a delightfully eclectic blend of old world with contemporary touches. And the bedding....usually I miss my own pillow while away from home, but this time it was the other way around. The sheets were so soft that I wondered how many thread counts they could possibly have. I can't remember ever sleeping so well, particularly in San Miguel, where celebrations of every sort can create alot of noise. The hotel is just a few minute walk to the center of town, but astonishingly quiet.
I was fortunate to have a preview of the not yet finished Oasis residence on Chorro, which is scheduled to be available soon. While standing on the terrace outside the master bedroom, I day dreamed about staying there with a group of family and friends.
Maybe next time.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearlrborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Magical getaway. Although I have been a tripadvisor enthusiast for years and have found several gems, I have never posted a review before. Oasis in San Miguel de Allende is so incredibly special that I felt compelled to share my experience. Where to start? The location is perfect, s short stroll from the Jardin. The quiet ambience is pitch perfect in everyway. A soothing retreat from the cacophony of color that is the backdrop of SMA. Everywhere the eye wanders is a pleasure of the senses, mixing antique treasures with more contemporary pieces creates a sophisticated elegance with a whitewashed palette. The bed is a dream machine with crisp high thread count sheets and luxurious pillows. No turndown chocolate here. Instead, you return to your room to find a freshly baked treat every evening. We quickly learned to not order desert at dinner. Breakfast is the motivator to leave your bed and it is as good as it gets. Freshly baked pastries, perfect coffee and Mexican specialties including huevos rancheros that must be the golden standard. The service, like everything else at Oasis, is expert yet warm, with the staff more than helpful yet never hovering. Special requests are clearly their pleasure.... yoga mats, a massage at sunset on the rooftop terrace. No problem. The fact that you pay the masseuse directly ($35.00!!) for what my husband describes as the best massage he ever had, and the hotel does not double or triple the fee is an example the spirit of hospitality that prevails at Oasis. Nancy Hooper..., the lovely and gracious proprietor, is often on site to check in and surprise her guests with gestures such as beautiful fresh flowers in your room or a special hors-d'œuvre served with cocktails on the roof garden. Worth every penny and then some……such a pleasure to discover.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRK-DJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Oasis....and it was GREAT!! The accomodations are wonderful, the location is perfect and the staff is among the best we've encountered in all our travels. Your every need is met, with a smile! As much as we liked SMA (our first visit), I have to say the best part of our trip was enjoying breakfast on the terrace each morning. What a beautiful way to start each vacation day!! If you're headed to San Miguel, I strongly suggest to stay at the Oasis.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txtraveler074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Recently, I spent several days at this hotel, everything was first class, especially the staff, we didn't want for anything. Would definetly stat there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Stunning views, exquisite furnishings, and attention to detail mark this small boutique hotel located mere steps from the center of San Miguel. Shunning the Mexican colonial style that defines many upscale hotels here, the owner has opted for a luxurious Moroccan or Berber influence, complete with architectural details and artifacts, that recalls the Moorish influence over southern Spain. Perfect for newlyweds, romantic getaways, or anyone needing to completely recharge in an atmosphere of pampering and privacy.

Because the Oasis offers only four rooms, it's easy to stay here and never see another guest. The graciously appointed public spaces -- a reading salon with fireplace, an open courtyard, elegant dining room, and rooftop terrace -- are scaled to a luxury home, not an anonymous hotel. The result is that you feel this is your home, complete with a helpful and attentive staff to meet your every need. It's a fantasy, but a good one.

The rooftop terrace offers some of the most extraordinary views of San Miguel. Stay in the suite if you can (we did): Its proximity to the terrace and a second private terrace surrounded by lavender pots contributes to the sense of ownership and intimacy. The suite is spacious and offers special touches -- a pillow-filled corner bench deep enough to nap in, a chaise lounge in the dressing area, a bathtub large enough for two to practically swim in. In thirty years traveling aggressively throughout the world -- including rented chalets and villas, many five star hotels, and a Paris suite that topped $2,000/night back in the 1980s -- this was the most romantic hotel room I've ever occupied. Too bad I didn't have a reason for romance!

The other thing worth noting is that this hotel, recently built on the site of an ancient ruin, is quiet. I've been traveling to San Miguel for more than five years now, and the city is notoriously noisy. Church bells ring at all hours, the gas delivery man calls through the streets, the plaza is abuzz with crowds, and on festival days you'll hear canon fire. Most construction in San Miguel is concrete and blocks that bounce the sound around, but although Oasis is only a few blocks from the fabled Parrocchia of San Miguel, the heart of all the action, its construction, the quiet corner street of Chiquitos, and a great bed gave me the best night's sleep I've had in SMA.

A full breakfast and excellent coffee is served in the dining room downstairs, where high-speed internet and free telephone service to the U.S. is also available. Magazines and books for light reading in the salon, as well as a selection of videos you can take to your room, add to the personal touches that let you imagine this as your own home. The staff is on hand 24 hours a day to assist with any needs or help you make the most of your time in San Miguel.

If you can choose the best, don't miss this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblingWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#1 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#14 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dos Casas
Hotel Dos Casas
#30 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#15 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De Los Olivos
Casa De Los Olivos
#20 of 68 in San Miguel de Allende
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Otel

Property: L'Otel
Address: Chiquitos 1A Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico (Formerly Oasis)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Otel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seductive and mysterious. An address located geographically and emotionally in the heart of San Miguel de Allende. The Suites are luxury-filled spaces and all have charming details everywhere. Limited Edition Experiences are designed to pamper the guest at every moment of the stay: from the gourmet breakfast to the High Tea; with beds in Italian linens, silk coverlets and goose down dovets; as well as exclusive and refined amenities to acompany the hot showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Otel Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Oasis San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing