We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Oasis is a true sanctuary in San Miguel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Otel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Otel
Carbondale, Colorado
1 review
“The Oasis is a true sanctuary in San Miguel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

My husband and I just spent 3 nights here last week and can't say enough good things about The Oasis. First of all, the location is perfect, just two blocks from the Jardin, but far enough away so the church bells aren't a problem at night . You step through the front door and the smell of flowers wafts up at you. We poked our heads into each of the four bedrooms at some point, and they're all beautifully appointed, with big, comfortable beds and a quirky but sophisticated mix of antiques and collectible art from all over the world. There is a cool and calm sitting room where we enjoyed Juan's great margaritas and snacks one afternoon. There's no restaurant (San Miguel abounds in great places to eat) but the breakfasts (included) were amazing--we had everything from cinnamon french toast to chilaquiles and various Mexican eggs dishes. The service was unobtrusive and uniformly kind. When the waitress discovered that I liked milk in my coffee, for example, she began warming the milk each morning. The front desk staff will answer any questions you have and help you in anyway possible. And here's a tip: the hotel has its own car service available for trips to and from the aiport in Leon--it cost us $75 for two on our return instead of $60 for the shuttle van, but was definitely worth it, since you get to leave closer to your flight time and ride in real comfort. I have stayed at--and looked at-- several other places in San Miguel, and would definitely rank this at the top.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
83
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

My husband and I just returned from the most magical visit to SanMiguel de Allende. The Oasis and its staff were even more flawless than we expected. The rooms are authentic to the region and beautifully appointed, yet full of modern comforts (great shower, cushy robes and towels, rich bath products and fluffy pillows). The staff works like a quiet, well oiled machine and the breakfast....well...what can I say.? My taste buds never had it so good. The recommended dishes from the region were fresh, beautiful and customized to our desires. The plates of fruit were like Mexican rainbows. We felt as though we were guests at a very exclusive private residence that lacked even a hint of snobbery. I cannot imagine anything better. Every need, no matter how small, was adressed by the staff even before we realized we had the need. If you go for tasteful, understated elegance, great food and help with your Spanish, stay here. It is well worth the price. Wow. When can I go again?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgbanderson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

For discerning travelers who appreciate attention to detail, Oasis is exactly what its name spells out. The property is exquisitely decorated and the suites have well designed ambient lighting. The staff were very professional and friendly without being overbearing, the chambermaid takes care of your laundry, and the little treats left at turn down were nice and varied. The bed is among the best I’ve slept in and those wonderful Egyptian cotton sheets have become my personal obsession. Breakfast is tailored to your expectations and always beautifully served. The hotel has wifi, cable tv, and a laptop for guests to use. If I had to nitpick, my only gripe was the phone at reception which would not stop ringing at eight in the morning, not very conducive to a lie in. I would also avoid using the transport company recommended by the hotel - by no means can the Oasis be accountable for that company's staff and service and, having said that, other guests might have had good experiences but both our transfers had flaws. All in all, the Oasis ticked most of our boxes – perfect location, refined ambiance, excellent service from pre-booking through departure, and made our stay in San Miguel de Allende a very special one indeed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

My husband and I arrived at Oasis and were immediately greeted by the most warm and friendly hotel staff I have ever encountered. The hotel is small, only four rooms and the experience is like being welcomed into a luxurious family home - a family that is intent on making your stay with them the as comfortable as possible, that all your needs are met, while making sure that your privacy is always respected. The hotel is a restored colonial home.....a perfect jewel.... right in the middle of historico centro, yet it is peaceful and a haven of tranquility. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_travellor044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

This darling little gem not far from il Centro was a delight. My nephew and his wife stayed there and I joined them for breakfast and hanging out between my brother's wedding rehearsal etc. The breakfast chicken mole was wonderful and the extra touches, like little silver pitcher toothpick holders were lovely. The courtyard was quietly elegant and off to the side, the library was filled with carefully selected antiques which added a beautiful touch. There was a soft waterfall again a stone wall near the bedroom with unusual windows shutters which added a european aura. Don't forget to stock up on the herbal body creme, it's amazing! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newbie380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

This was our second time visiting the Oasis. I think the thing I appreciate the most about Oasis is that even though it is a 300 year old building in a small town in a borderline 3rd world country the hotel owners do not expect you to compromise. While the experience feels authentic the finishes in the rooms are Restoration Hardware (no kidding, I checked the labels). We stayed in the Berber room and really enjoyed everything about it. The location of the hotel in perfect. The breakfast each morning was tastey. The staff is perfect. The owners are present and helpfull.

We've been to San Miguel before, will go back again and I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

When you step into the stylish hotel, you can see immediately that every detail matters to them. We very soon discovered that nothing matters more than the well-being of their guests. Everyone is made to feel that they are important. We stayed 9 nights. From the moment we arrived until the morning we left, everything was perfect and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or congenial. It's a great location, close to the main square and dozens of excellent restaurants but once you enter you do indeed feel that you are in an Oasis of tranquility. We enjoyed the roof top garden where you can have a drink and watch the sun set over the city. We also appreciated the free phone to the States, the WiFi, and the computer for the use of guests. Wonderful breakfasts.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writerwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
Casa 1810 Hotel Boutique
#2 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dos Casas
Hotel Dos Casas
#28 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#15 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De Los Olivos
Casa De Los Olivos
#17 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Otel

Property: L'Otel
Address: Chiquitos 1A Centro, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico (Formerly Oasis)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Otel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seductive and mysterious. An address located geographically and emotionally in the heart of San Miguel de Allende. The Suites are luxury-filled spaces and all have charming details everywhere. Limited Edition Experiences are designed to pamper the guest at every moment of the stay: from the gourmet breakfast to the High Tea; with beds in Italian linens, silk coverlets and goose down dovets; as well as exclusive and refined amenities to acompany the hot showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your L'Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Otel Hotel San Miguel De Allende
Oasis San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing