We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room, wonderful staff”
Review of Casa Carly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Carly
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great room, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My wife, 14 year old son and I stayed here for a couple nights in July. We loved the room--it was almost like an apartment, with a nice sized living area. Having a semi-separate room with bunkbeds for the kid worked out great for us. The place has a nice, mellow vibe and all the staff were tremendously helpful. For the price, there may not be a better deal in SM.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellabluedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
28
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed at Casa Carly for 4 nights at the end of July, 2011. This is my second stay there and it works perfectly for me--a folk art business owner on a buying trip to SMA and the surrounding area. The B&B is lovely--large rooms, decorated with humor and folk art, quiet and clean. It is on the end of town closest to the artisan's market and on the road that leads to Delores Hidalgo and Guanajuato. Carly and her assistant, Carlos, were beyond helpful in solving some shipping related issues for my purchases. The cafe is delicious and although not included in the rate, it is very reasonable. I loved the French toast and the yogurt/granola/fresh fruit combo. I got a very good deal on the daily rate by following them on Facebook...perfect for me and I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed here with a group of students from Canada doing Practicum work in San Miguel.
We used 5 of the rooms there and had an arrangement to have our meals included. The food was FANTASTIC. Fresh fruits, freshly juiced juices every meal, dessert, and delicious main courses. We had some people in our group that had food limitations and the staff were very watchful of that.The staff were very friendly and VERY helpful, fresh bottled water was brought to our rooms each day, our beds made up, and rooms cleaned daily. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were spacious. There were 3 of us in the room we were in and we had plenty of space. There were 3 seperate beds, a kitchen area, a bathroom and a large seating area as well as an outside bistro table and chairs. The gardens were beautiful and we saw hummingbirds and butterflies all the time. The staff even helped us out with a bit of Spanish, allowed us to conduct meetings at the end of our day in the restaurant and set up a few excursions for us such as Salsa dancing lessons and a day trip to the Pyramids. The little piece of heaven was also very near, within walking distance, of the city centre where nightly entertainment happened. The bank was close by as well as a very tasty ice cream shop!!
I would go back and stay at this establishment anytime as I had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend this for any travellers.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfanAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I have stayed here a few times over the years. I so look forward to staying there when passing through San Miguel. It's always the highlight of my trip. In addition to being utterly charming, the staff is truly top notch and you cannot beat the location. It is just a few short blocks from San Miguel's famous and plentiful handicrafts market (where you will likely make daily trips!) and the town square (the jardin) is just a few blocks farther - giving you time to explore stores, cafes, and architecture as you set out and return throughout the day. San Miguel is a walkable city and this is a great location - close, but not too close and quiet so you can really relax in the evening.

The casitas (cottages) themselves are remarkable. Each is decorated with Mexican folk art, designed with in the traditional style of Mexico with gorgeous tiles and invitingly bright colors. I find the large bottle of filtered water (which they will refill for you) and the kitchenette to be perfect for a traveler's needs.

Since I have come over the years, I have seen the great care the owner takes in improvements. The garden is just lovely. The cafe (Cafe Yenatu) is now a fully operating restaurant for breakfast and lunch - just delicious! I recommend the poached eggs with chipotle mango sauce! Guests can also spend time in the restaurant area other times - books and videos are available to read/watch there or you can take them to your room.

I saw some of the other reviews and have to say I am pretty surprised. This is Mexico - king size beds in Mexico are exactly how they are has assembled here and part of living in Latin America is dealing with the cold by wearing layers (central heat is not the norm) - that's just the way it is. Given those comments, I wanted to share my experience and mention that I have never been disappointed by Casa Carly (the new name for what was Casa Crayola). It is a true gem in the heart of Mexico. Don't miss this charming place!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelinaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

My husband and I just returned home from a two- week stay at Casa Crayola. We always like to get out of Colorado in the winter. This was our fifth time staying at this real find! Casa Crayola continues to be a terrific, warm and friendly place. And the price is unbeatable!
We always pop in and out of other hotels, out of curiosity, and we always are glad that we are at Crayola. You can find equally charming places, but you'll pay double!
I was planning to just write a quick review, in appreciation of the lovely atmosphere and hospitality. However, I am appalled by the review that was just written here on trip advisor. . It happens that our visit was in the same time frame as this other visitor.
This is January in San Miguel. Gardens are not at their peek in December and January. Despite that, I saw the gardener there every morning and the entire garden looked charming--as good as anyone could expect in the winter. There were yellow flowers all around the central fountain. And there were purple flowers in bloom. One tree was without leaves, but it is a deciduous tree.
The beds are comfortable. The rooms are all VERY spacious. (We've stayed in 4 of them and have seen the other three) So, it is with great dismay that I read a review that is detrimental. There is one suite that consists of one room--the others all have two rooms. My guess is that the previous reviewer was in casita #4. It is smaller, but it is a spacious room and is one of my favorites.
And, as I mentioned in my review in 2007, when you open the gate to this property you just break out smiling!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joni3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Really, like most of San Miguel, this place is overrated and overpriced. This place was so tiny! We had to squeeze our way from the sitting room/kitchen to the bed to the shower. Not even a bedroom. Just a bed. The bed was hard and lumpy. It was two single beds jammed together. The decor in the sitting area was nice but the bedding was frumpy. Two gas burners and a huge bottle of filtered water - well, that was the kitchenette. The casitas were very interestingly built around a courtyard, but the courtyard was filled with dead plants and looked terrible. The manager and owner were very friendly and nice, but that didn't make up for the fact that this was a pathetic stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
changosauria, Owner at Casa Carly, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
I'm very sorry that this couple did not enjoy their stay with us. We certainly enjoyed the conversations we had with them. I've designed, built and decorated all of the casitas to my personal colorful and playful taste and with amenities that I look for when I travel. All of our kitchenettes are equipped with a half-size refrigerator, microwave, 2-burner gas stove, coffee maker, built-in sink/counter decorated with handmade tiles from Dolores Hidalgo, and are equipped with basic pots, pans, utensils, etc... Sheets and linens are of a high count with duvets and hand-made bed spreads. Guests should be aware that mid-November through the end of January is San Miguel's "winter". Compared with other places, winter is mild here. But nights can be quite chilly and occasionally down to freezing. Therefore, plants and flowers are not in full bloom at that time. Some plants are green year-round while others lose their leaves and do not flower. Spring typically begins in February. Jacaranda trees bloom in March if you'd like to plan your trip to coincide with the blooming of these flaming purple trees. Summer months and early fall are typically very flowery and green months in San Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Loved staying here. 7 Casitas, (cottages), with a breakfast and lunch restuarant on the premise. Bring your own washclothes if that is your thing and a bar of soap. Very clean and the hostess is wonderful, Caryle. She always got back with me and arranged for me to be picked up at the airport. They were on time and held a sign up for me so I could not miss them. Caryle did everything she could to make it an enjoyable trip. This is the place to stay in san Miguel. Carlye will set up tours for you if you like.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmma678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#12 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#9 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#25 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.5 mi away
Imperio de Angeles
Imperio de Angeles
#20 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carly

Property: Casa Carly
Address: Calzada de La Aurora no. 48, San Miguel de Allende 37710, Mexico (Formerly Casa Crayola)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Carly 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among leafy greens and vibrant flowers, the seven casitas at Casa Carly are nestled into a lush property just 7-10 minutes walking from the jardin, historic sights, and the centro shopping/restaurant areas. Surreptitiously tucked behind high walls and iron doors, visitors emerge into a colorful oasis with stone paths, fountains, fish pond, old towering palms and the bright buildings. Visitors can enjoy an afternoon reading in the shade near a fountain, exploring the garden, or relaxing inside a casita with its Mexico-inspired decor. Furnished to ensure guests feel comfortable and priced to fit a travel budget, these whimsical rooms are the perfect home base for exploration of San Miguel de Allende. In the immediate neighborhood, explore the Fabrica Aurora, savor goodies from two different bakeries, refresh with an ice cream cone, lunch at the organic cafe, or scour the artisan market for the perfect memento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Carly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Crayola Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing