We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Carly Happiness”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Carly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Carly
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Casa Carly Happiness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Casa Carly was comfortable, cozy, clean and very friendly. Conveniently located within walking distance of the main jardin.....this is a quiet and beautiful hotel. Meet San Miguel de Allende visitors from all over the world, take advantage of the fabulous breakfast restaurant---on site---Cafe Yenatu---and immerse yourself in all that Mexico's "number one city to visit" has to offer you. Thank you Carly and Jesus for making our stay most enjoyable.....we shall return!!! By the way, on the menu....the french toast is indeed "the best ever".

Room Tip: Reserve this hotel early......they are busy and their secret is out. ((nice and small.....only six...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayDee240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
28
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
1,538 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I have stayed at Casa Carly myself and with groups I've led to San Miguel, probably about 6 weeks in past 9 years. The place is beautiful and well-kept and each time I go, there are new additions. The rooms are comfortable and well-decorated. There is a small restaurant that serves excellent food prepared by a local cook, just the right touch of authentic cooking. I plan to spend many more days there in the coming years.

Room Tip: you really can't pick a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
changosauria, Owner at Casa Carly, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thanks! We love having groups stay with us. We are happy to arrange meals, transportation, classes, or anything that might help a guest or group fulfill their goals. The casitas can be set up in a way that accommodates singles, couples, families, student groups or a bunch of singles! Thanks again for writing a review, we love having your college groups join us, and I particularly love how supportive of the community your groups are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

My husand and I recently returned from a 2 week trip to Mexico. While in San Miguel de Allende, we had the good fortune to have booked a casita at the wonderful Casa Carly, only a 10 minute walk from the center of town. Do you like color? Do you like being surrounded by beautiful plants and gardens and a fountain? This lovely group of casitas is a cool, quiet and lovely oasis from the work of being a tourist. We stayed in Casita #7 for 5 days and loved our place. Each casita is different and charming. Carly is a fine hostess and her staff is attentive, helpful, and always cheerful and nice. I must mention her breakfasts. You can eat in her lovely dining room or at one of the tables in the garden. The food is really good and fresh. We love Casa Carly and will recommend it to anyone looking for a unique and beautiful place to stay in San Miguel de Allende. We stayed at 4 different hotels duirng our trip and Casa Carly was the best. Special thanks to Jesus who helped us arrange our bus trip to Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: All the casitas are great - we were in Casita #7 which was very quiet and had a nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
changosauria, Owner at Casa Carly, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thanks for writing a review here in this format! We changed our name from Casa Crayola to Casa Carly about three years ago, but we've so far been unsuccessful at changing our name on our tripadvisor account. It has been hard for guests to find us in this forum and write reviews. Thanks! We loved having you and look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We just got back from San Miguel having stayed at what is now called Casa Carly. We were in Casista #1 which backs up to the street so it may not have been as quiet as some of the others. However, it was spacious and had most everything we needed. Bring your own hair dryer as those are not provided. I will say that the bed was not all that comfortable but there are also 2 beds that serve as sofas in the living room that you can switch to. The breakfast which is not included is very good. There is a green smoothie drink that is awesome. Cookies are baked each day. Get those, they are the best! Staff is very sweet and helpful. Having been to SMA before, I feel that it is pretty centrally located for the walk. Not far to the Jardin, maybe 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Casista #1 backs up to the road. If you can get an interior one, it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islasusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Loved staying here! The rooms are large and colorful. The owner is a delightful human being who is American and was willing to share ideas about where to go and what to see while there. There is a small cafe on the premises but I did not eat there. I was able to walk where I needed to go. My friend was able to do a lot of fun things while I was in a conference. I checked in without problems other then the key was a small situation and perhaps has been updated. The room has a kitchen with the basics. Staff was always helpful. Starbucks is up the hill and was a great walk in the morning. There is a spa there which I did not get to visit but when I go back I will be there. Many classes at the spa. Life is a slow pace in San Miguel. My stay was in March 2009 and I could not get to that date.

Room Tip: The owner will assist you with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmma678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I was in SMA for 10 days in early November. My room (casita #3) was colorful, comfortable and roomy in a very thoughtful and artistic way. I was greeted by Carlos who was helpful in getting me situated for the night, and who brought me an Advil at breakfast the next AM and patiently diagramed maps and pointed me to easy and convenient places to change money, get my bearings and get to my class location. The grounds were beautiful ( I took more pictures at Casa Carly than out in town---and it is a beautiful town)...and like a private oasis.

One amenity I really appreciated was having a 5 gal cooler of bottled water on the kitchen counter! It helped me stay hydrated and other people I knew stayed in places where they had to buy their bottled water. What a nice treat --a great way to treat their guests.

Room Tip: Casita #6 was quieter and more spacious. I stayed there the first night. Casita #3 was a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catesmock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Here is a breakdown of my stay:

Convenience: 3 stars. First of all, when I arrived in the early morning, I had to ring several times at the front gate, to no avail. I thought we'd be stuck in the street with our luggage, but fortunately my friend was able to use her cell phone (with roaming charges) to reach the owner, who buzzed us inside. Also, it's walking distance to the city center, but I wouldn't recommend that walk late at night or in heels. There's a bit of an upward slope, all cobblestone streets, and a tad further from the town center than a lot of other hotels.

Style/Design: 5 stars. Super charming and colorful. The little courtyard within the entrance gate is like a small oasis. Beautiful--just what you'd want to experience in Mexico!

Comfort: 2 stars. This low ranking is mostly the result of no hot water during the 2nd day of my stay. I tried several times to reach hot water throughout the day, to no avail. I ended up taking a cold shower that night, which was definitely not nice considering I had just come down with a flu. This establishment provides soap and bottled water, but do come prepared with everything else you will need (shampoo, blow dryer, etc.). The large bed is actually two twins put together. They are fairly short (my husband and I are tall), and rather hard and uncomfortable. The duvet was nice, though. Also, I happened to be in town during a festival, so the street noise was quite loud at all hours of the night. The owner's dog may also bark when you're trying to nap.

Hospitality: 5 stars. Very friendly owner and staff. I am sure they'd be willing to help out with questions about the city or how to get around.

Value: 4 stars. Pretty fair prices. While breakfast is not included, I would highly recommend dining there for brunch. The food and drinks were fabulous at the in-house cafe, service was great, prices were fair, and it was conveniently located right next to my casita. Enjoy the scenic outdoors while dining.

Overall ranking: 3.8 stars...or rounded up...4 stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.6 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#4 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.2 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#12 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#10 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#27 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.5 mi away
Imperio de Angeles
Imperio de Angeles
#20 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carly

Property: Casa Carly
Address: Calzada de La Aurora no. 48, San Miguel de Allende 37710, Mexico (Formerly Casa Crayola)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Carly 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among leafy greens and vibrant flowers, the seven casitas at Casa Carly are nestled into a lush property just 7-10 minutes walking from the jardin, historic sights, and the centro shopping/restaurant areas. Surreptitiously tucked behind high walls and iron doors, visitors emerge into a colorful oasis with stone paths, fountains, fish pond, old towering palms and the bright buildings. Visitors can enjoy an afternoon reading in the shade near a fountain, exploring the garden, or relaxing inside a casita with its Mexico-inspired decor. Furnished to ensure guests feel comfortable and priced to fit a travel budget, these whimsical rooms are the perfect home base for exploration of San Miguel de Allende. In the immediate neighborhood, explore the Fabrica Aurora, savor goodies from two different bakeries, refresh with an ice cream cone, lunch at the organic cafe, or scour the artisan market for the perfect memento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Carly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Crayola Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing