We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Carly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Carly
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was in San Miguel from April 22 - May 3 with a group of 21 students from Canada. It was a great place for the group: Very convenient to El Centro, buses went by frequently, cabs were very easy to hail from just outside the door. A very easy walk as well. The neighbourhood is a very traditional one with many small tiendas and other shops. Very safe feeling. The casitas are very clean, nicely decorated and have small kitchenettes (2 gas burners, a microwave, fridge, sink and coffeemaker). The grounds are very well kept and the central fountain is lovely to look at and hear. The group of students, 3 other instructors and I had breakfasts at Casa Carly as well as many suppers. Juana, the cook, is fabulous and managed my vegetarian diet very well. All of the staff are friendly and helpful. Carly is very helpful and has many connections in the city. I hope to get back to San Miguel and hopefully there will be a casita available at Casa Carly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ehagell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
28
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed in Casa Carly last October and we had the best service ever. They really go beyond to satisfy their customers. The restaurant is awesome too. The chilaquiles were excellent and good quality and taste. Finally we forgot some clothes in the laundry nearby and they helped us getting it and sending it back to the U.S. I dont think any other hotel would do that !!

Highly recommended for a great experience in San Miguel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Casa Carly was comfortable, cozy, clean and very friendly. Conveniently located within walking distance of the main jardin.....this is a quiet and beautiful hotel. Meet San Miguel de Allende visitors from all over the world, take advantage of the fabulous breakfast restaurant---on site---Cafe Yenatu---and immerse yourself in all that Mexico's "number one city to visit" has to offer you. Thank you Carly and Jesus for making our stay most enjoyable.....we shall return!!! By the way, on the menu....the french toast is indeed "the best ever".

Room Tip: Reserve this hotel early......they are busy and their secret is out. ((nice and small.....only six...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayDee240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
1,537 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I have stayed at Casa Carly myself and with groups I've led to San Miguel, probably about 6 weeks in past 9 years. The place is beautiful and well-kept and each time I go, there are new additions. The rooms are comfortable and well-decorated. There is a small restaurant that serves excellent food prepared by a local cook, just the right touch of authentic cooking. I plan to spend many more days there in the coming years.

Room Tip: you really can't pick a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
changosauria, Owner at Casa Carly, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thanks! We love having groups stay with us. We are happy to arrange meals, transportation, classes, or anything that might help a guest or group fulfill their goals. The casitas can be set up in a way that accommodates singles, couples, families, student groups or a bunch of singles! Thanks again for writing a review, we love having your college groups join us, and I particularly love how supportive of the community your groups are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My husand and I recently returned from a 2 week trip to Mexico. While in San Miguel de Allende, we had the good fortune to have booked a casita at the wonderful Casa Carly, only a 10 minute walk from the center of town. Do you like color? Do you like being surrounded by beautiful plants and gardens and a fountain? This lovely group of casitas is a cool, quiet and lovely oasis from the work of being a tourist. We stayed in Casita #7 for 5 days and loved our place. Each casita is different and charming. Carly is a fine hostess and her staff is attentive, helpful, and always cheerful and nice. I must mention her breakfasts. You can eat in her lovely dining room or at one of the tables in the garden. The food is really good and fresh. We love Casa Carly and will recommend it to anyone looking for a unique and beautiful place to stay in San Miguel de Allende. We stayed at 4 different hotels duirng our trip and Casa Carly was the best. Special thanks to Jesus who helped us arrange our bus trip to Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: All the casitas are great - we were in Casita #7 which was very quiet and had a nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
changosauria, Owner at Casa Carly, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thanks for writing a review here in this format! We changed our name from Casa Crayola to Casa Carly about three years ago, but we've so far been unsuccessful at changing our name on our tripadvisor account. It has been hard for guests to find us in this forum and write reviews. Thanks! We loved having you and look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We just got back from San Miguel having stayed at what is now called Casa Carly. We were in Casista #1 which backs up to the street so it may not have been as quiet as some of the others. However, it was spacious and had most everything we needed. Bring your own hair dryer as those are not provided. I will say that the bed was not all that comfortable but there are also 2 beds that serve as sofas in the living room that you can switch to. The breakfast which is not included is very good. There is a green smoothie drink that is awesome. Cookies are baked each day. Get those, they are the best! Staff is very sweet and helpful. Having been to SMA before, I feel that it is pretty centrally located for the walk. Not far to the Jardin, maybe 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Casista #1 backs up to the road. If you can get an interior one, it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islasusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Loved staying here! The rooms are large and colorful. The owner is a delightful human being who is American and was willing to share ideas about where to go and what to see while there. There is a small cafe on the premises but I did not eat there. I was able to walk where I needed to go. My friend was able to do a lot of fun things while I was in a conference. I checked in without problems other then the key was a small situation and perhaps has been updated. The room has a kitchen with the basics. Staff was always helpful. Starbucks is up the hill and was a great walk in the morning. There is a spa there which I did not get to visit but when I go back I will be there. Many classes at the spa. Life is a slow pace in San Miguel. My stay was in March 2009 and I could not get to that date.

Room Tip: The owner will assist you with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmma678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.7 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#3 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
586 reviews
1.2 mi away
Real de Minas San Miguel de Allende
Real de Minas San Miguel de Alle...
#11 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#10 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
Casa Schuck Boutique Hotel
#15 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carly

Property: Casa Carly
Address: Calzada de La Aurora no. 48, San Miguel de Allende 37710, Mexico (Formerly Casa Crayola)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Carly 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among leafy greens and vibrant flowers, the seven casitas at Casa Carly are nestled into a lush property just 7-10 minutes walking from the jardin, historic sights, and the centro shopping/restaurant areas. Surreptitiously tucked behind high walls and iron doors, visitors emerge into a colorful oasis with stone paths, fountains, fish pond, old towering palms and the bright buildings. Visitors can enjoy an afternoon reading in the shade near a fountain, exploring the garden, or relaxing inside a casita with its Mexico-inspired decor. Furnished to ensure guests feel comfortable and priced to fit a travel budget, these whimsical rooms are the perfect home base for exploration of San Miguel de Allende. In the immediate neighborhood, explore the Fabrica Aurora, savor goodies from two different bakeries, refresh with an ice cream cone, lunch at the organic cafe, or scour the artisan market for the perfect memento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Carly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Crayola Hotel San Miguel De Allende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing