We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Spot”
Review of Quinta Recreo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Miguel de Allende
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinta Recreo
Pyrenees Orientales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Spot”
Reviewed 9 April 2008

We visited San Miguel in March and stayed at Quinta Recreo. After a very long journey from France it was like finding a little piece of paradise. It is the perfect spot to wind down, situated as it is within walking distance of the town centre but hidden away in a very quiet little spot.
We stayed in one of the eight casitas owned and run by Ildiko and Federico. They themselves are absolutely charming, helpful and very efficient in every way. We were given a most helpful file containing information about museums, restaurants etc. They were always on hand to ensure that you were getting the best out of your holiday.
Each casita has it's own patio screened by masses of bougainvilleas and other exotic plants. We stayed in a large studio which was supplied with everything you could possibly need. It was kept spotlessly clean by one of the very discreet staff and the gardens were also kept very neat and tidy.
Every morning we would sit on our patio and watch humming birds within feet of us drinking their fill of the nectar. Overhead were lots of other birds including egrets who were busy all the time, collecting material for their nests. In fact the only noise we heard was the sound of the birds singing, (apart from the occasional noise of firecrackers being let off somewhere to celebrate something!)
We met other guests who were all making return visits to Quinta Recreo. In fact if we ever get back to San Miguel we would head straight back there too.
I really recommend this delightful place.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MavisandB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    0
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spencer, iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location of the apartment was excellent, quiet but close to El Centro. The unit was very clean with an attentive staff. The owners could not have been more accomodating. We hope to stay again.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank jowira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, TX
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

I stayed at Quinta Recreo in Feb 08 with my wife in Casita Jasmin.

This is a fabulous property. The best point is the location. It is on a nice sreet called Recreo, near the main park in town. It is a pretty easy walk to most of town. There are steps up to the casitas, so keep this in mind when booking. I also like the owners; they are so nice and friendly and extremely helpful. The ambience is also fantastic. It oozes colonial charm. The courtyard for the property is so inviting. Casita Jasmin itself is better than the pictures on the website. You feel like you are staying in colonial Mexico. The casita with the most privacy, I believe is Casita Azar. The unit kitchen also is very nice and came in handy for many of our meals. They also provide a water delivery service which is useful.

A few minor negative points. The housekeeping staff is very nice and helpful, though at times forget to provide some basics. I dont know if this is forgetfullness or a problem with supplies. The only other thing is that Casita Jasmin can get cool on cold nights in San Miguel (although I must admit, we do have a low cold threshold). The owners were very helpful and provided extra blankets and electric heater ( which did not work that well). The unit does have a gas heater, though I would suggest a carbon monoxide detector in the unit for safety concerns.

Once again, the above minor negatives did not affect our love for the property. We had a fabulous time in San Miguel and Quinta Recreo was the icing on the cake. The owners are very helpful. The booking process is a breeze since the owners are so prompt with emails. I will be sure to stay at this property again. It is one of the most fantastic properties in the world.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Texantraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2008

This was our first trip to San Miguel de Allende and, with help from the Trip Advisor SMA Forum, we knew we wanted to stay close to, but not in, The Jardin area in The Centro. Quinta Recreo was perfectly situated. We could walk everywhere easily and were far enough from a lot of the noise of the Jardin. Very close to the Parque Jaurez and El Chorro, where the sounds of the birds and the church bells gently woke us every morning. Actually, Parque Jaurez is much more of a garden than El Jardin, which is much more of a central plaza, fyi.

We stayed in Casita Siesta which is exactly how it appears on the Quinta Recreo website. This little apartment had a nice layout, and we enjoyed eating breakfast every morning in our garden patio. Everything was clean and in good shape, no bugs or other pests whatsoever, nice fresh flowers, bottled water in good supply, a coffee maker with coffee ready to go. The bed was comfortable, soft sheets, ample blankets. Good hot water pressure in the shower with thick, soft towels as good as any fine hotel - truly. It was a lovely place to return to every night.

Perhaps the best thing about Quinta Recreo, however, was the fine couple who own the place: Ildiko and Federico Cervantes. They were incredibly gracious and attentive, very kind, very helpful, and friendly. They are both fluent in English and had a welcoming presence start to finish. They both had lots of good ideas for places to visit, restaurants, etc., and even helped to set up Spanish lessons for us.

If you plan to stay there, book your reservation early. We met other guests of Quinta Recreo who are repeat visitors -- this place is a gem.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, beautiful, affordable, good location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mare123Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2008

My wife and I just returned from a one week stay at the Quinta Recreo in San Miguel Allende in Mexico. We had a terrific time and a good portion of it was because we stayed in the Jasmine casita (attached cottage) owned and managed by Ildiko and Frederico Cervantes. They were invariably helpful, pleasant and friendly when we asked and unabtusive when we did not. The casita is pleasantly decorated and comfortably sized. The jasmine plant by the front window infused the whole courtyard and our casita. The Quinta Recreo is about five relatively flat blocks from the central plaza so we walked everywhere from the casita. Ildiko and Fredrico have a three ring binder which has suggestions from previous guests that we found useful as a get started guide. We give Quinto Recreo an excellent rating.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank debjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2008

I visited Quinta Recreo for two weeks in January on my first visit to San Miguel. So many choices on the websites was a bit overwhelming but the gardens and character of Quinta Recreo just sounded sweet and perfect. I was not disappointed in any way and by the time I left San Miguel I could see I had been lucky to choose a perfect place. Even my friends who live there were impressed with the beauty and serenity of Quinta Recreo. The location could not be better, so close to the Jardin, best restaurants and shops. I loved walking to everything from Quinta Recreo.

The owner/managers, Ildiko and Federico Cervantes were very gracious, always available but never intruding. Quinta Recreo has been in Federico's family since mid 40's and I found them both very charming and interesting. I savored my breakfasts on the shady patio and loved being surrounded by the lush gardens and quiet atmosphere.

I truly loved everything about Quinta Recreo, I wish it were my place and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Beautiful and serene historical character, lush gardens, quiet ambiance and friendly service
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dodgecreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Quinta Recreo.

The gardens were beautiful and it felt like a little
bit of paradise.

It was great to haveour own kitchen and sitting room - and we enjoyed our peaceful evenings sitting outside
Casita Jazmin so much that we hardly ventured out
after dark!!

Ildiko and Federico were perfect hosts - always
available when you needed something but very
unobtrusive.

Really recommended

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DJguapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Miguel de Allende hotels
0.2 mi away
Hacienda El Santuario
Hacienda El Santuario
#5 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matilda
Hotel Matilda
#13 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Mirasol Hotel
Villa Mirasol Hotel
#9 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda de Las Flores
Hacienda de Las Flores
#25 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Quetzal Hotel
Casa Quetzal Hotel
#28 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Morada Hotel
La Morada Hotel
#11 of 67 in San Miguel de Allende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Recreo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Recreo

Property: Quinta Recreo
Address: Calle Recreo 102, San Miguel de Allende 37700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Guanajuato > San Miguel de Allende
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in San Miguel de Allende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a conveniently central location we offer you an alternative to a Bed and Breakfast: 8 unique casitas with kitchenette and private patio.Old world charm, great rates,generous hospitality in the best part of town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing