We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no competition with Cowscot.”
Review of Cowscot House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkby Malzeard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cowscot House
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This B & B is the very best among B & B's. I've read a number of these excellent reviews and feel delighted that our feelings and experience agree with them all.
Mike's attention is faultless and Liz's cooking prompt and perfect.
The file in the room gives a number of places to eat during the day with their Menus - a sample of thoroughness in their consideration for their guests.
Secondary help booking our return home with National Express given with pleasure.
Sadly this experience has set such a high standard that I doubt we will ever find it again.
John Horsfall.

Room Tip: All the rooms will be good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Cowscot House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 night to attend a wedding and wow what a lovely place, could not find fault at all everything from the hospitality to the breakfast was perfect. Hope you both had a good holiday you deserved it. Mark and Beverley Leach

Room Tip: We had a look at all 4 rooms 2 inside the house and 2 out all lovely pick an outside one if you want...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeverleyLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We recently stayed at Cowscot House and have to say it really is a great place to stay. Liz and Mike make you feel so welcome and the accommodation is pristine. The cooked breakfast is a must, beautiful. The dining room table is set each day with clean crisp white linen and spotless cutlery, it’s all perfect. An added bonus is following your days activities, you return to scrumptious homemade cake that if left in your room each afternoon……..perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in August whilst attending a friends nearby party. Having travelled from London we arrived very late and were delighted to be met by Liz and Mike despite the ungodly hour. The room was delightful and utterly, utterly spotless. Bed very comfy and surroundings and decor subtle and restful. Breakfast was delicious with full english, fruit, homemade yoghurt, homemade preserves and all enjoyed in beautiful surroundings. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms will be luxurious, comfy and very quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

my father and i stayed with liz and mike in august 2012 on route to Ashford,kent as we were going on holiday. We had the twin room and we asked mike to help us find somewhere nearby to have our supper,and we went to mike's choice of restaurant and it was super duper.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mighty_Dippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our stay of 2 nights was thoroughly enjoyable. The room was lovely, spacious and quiet. We were able to sit in the peaceful garden and enjoy the sun whilst eating homemade cakes and biscuits. The choice at breakfast was great with homemade yoghurt, bread, fruit compotes and jams followed by a full cooked breakfast and many other options were available too. The owners were very helpful and welcoming and made us feel at home straight away. The village is pretty with a number of amenities. We would highly recommend this B&B for anyone wishing to stay in the Dales region.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireNuthatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Lovely room, lovely place, lovely people. Kirby Malzeard is very quiet but there are plenty of interesting places, walks and good eating in the neighbourhood. We agree with all the other positive commentsWe would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Malzeard
5.1 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
779 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
472 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Moorhouse
The Moorhouse
#1 of 2 in Kirkby Malzeard
84 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mallard Grange
Mallard Grange
#1 of 2 in Aldfield
368 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowscot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowscot House

Address: Cowscot House Back Lane, Kirkby Malzeard, Ripon HG4 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Kirkby Malzeard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Malzeard
Price Range: £70 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cowscot House offers a high standard of accommodation in a sympathetically converted stone barn and stables on the edge of the popular village of Kirkby Malzeard, 6 miles from Ripon. All the en-suite bedrooms are on the ground floor and were refurbished in early 2009 offering light and airy accommodation with many original features. Cowscot House provides an excellent base for touring and exploring the Yorkshire Moors and Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cowscot House Kirkby Malzeard, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing