We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Moorhouse
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful areas of England, the scenery up on the moor is stunning. The hotel is run by Jayne, who cooks the most delicious food and makes her guests feel extremely welcome. The rooms are very comfortable, very clean and make the whole place very difficult to leave - I could stay here for weeks!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
49
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

My daughter and I stayed overnight at the Moorhouse during a visit to North Yorkshire in July 2012. Jane the Housekeeper and her staff could not have been more welcoming and a tray of tea with cake was made available to us after check in. Our very spacious room was light and airy with lovely views over fields and the lovely garden. Satellite TV/Hairdryer, tea/coffee making equipment were available in our room with Molton Brown toileteries in the bathroom. After enjoying a lovely day out at the Steamhouse & Fairground Organ event in Masham we returned in the early evening tired and relaxed where we were greeted with a further tray of tea with biscuits at no extra charge; Jane had also been kind enough to leave some artificial sweetener in our room after I had casually mentioned earlier that I had diabetes. The following morning we had a perfectly cooked full English breakfast with optional cereal and preservatives if required. I understand that the Moorhouse is used as a seasonal grouse hunting lodge and is part of a larger estate and a gentrified olde world charm pervades the whole place. My daughter and I agreed that if in the area again we would not hesitate to use this idyllic retreat again. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lovely garden if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroBrit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

One of the most charming hotels ever experienced. Breakfast exceptionally tasty! Service was super friendly and helpful; room simply a delight. Easily accessible by car. We were just blown away by this place. Great for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowbunnyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Wonderful place to stay! Beautiful location in very rural area near Harrogate,uk. Rooms very comfortable and roomy, common areas also very nice and cozy. Staff was wonderful and very helpful, breakfast was great and offer a lot of choices.

Would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ladywell suite was huge and ensure bath was very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Just spent a lovely relaxing two days at The Moorhouse. My husband and I stayed in the excellent Hambleton bedroom, and it was spacious and comfortable with gorgeous Molton Brown products. Breakfast was fantastic!!

We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend The Moorhouse. Our only grumble was having to leave!!



Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jacqgraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Excellent value for money here. £90 for one night for two people in the spacious Ladywell Suite. Immaculately kept and throughly warmed. Greeted by the wonderful Jane and made to feel incredibly welcome.

The Drover's Inn is just next door and perfect for a couple of pints before bed. Intimate and friendly Yorkshire Pub for an intimate and friendly place to stay. Ideally, I would like to visit again with a large group of friends.

Breakfast was a knockout. Great selection (I had pancakes with nutella & bananas followed by a scrummy veggie breakfast served alongside black coffee)

Room Tip: If you're going with friends and want the best for yourself, choose the Lady Well Suite. I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here and had a wonderful weekend. Beautiful countryside, lovely accommodation and a fantastic hostess. Couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Malzeard
6.5 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhouse

Property: The Moorhouse
Address: The Moor House Dallowgill, Kirkby Malzeard, Ripon HG4 3RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Kirkby Malzeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Malzeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a short drive from Pateley Bridge, Ripon and Harrogate, is the Moorhouse, a traditional country lodge guest house B & B, which has hosted royal and celebrity visitors, among them the legendary Bing Crosby. There are 5 luxurious bedrooms, all with bathrooms, a comfortable sitting room, large dining room, a boot room with drying facilities and a private car park. Nestling in tranquil countryside, the house enjoys spectacular views of the moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Moorhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorhouse Kirkby Malzeard, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing