We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Review of The Moorhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorhouse
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for the week end while we attended a nearby wedding so needed somewhere we could relax between all the chaos. I don't think there was a single thing we could fault about this magical place in one of the most beautiful parts of England.

Jane, who runs everything at the Moorhouse was so welcoming and we loved her superb cooking. The house is immaculate and comfortable and steeped in the history of the moor and particularly grouse shooting.

It is perfectly positioned to explore the area which would take a lifetime. The little town of Pateley Bridge is charming and you don't need to venture very far for things to do. At the end of the day, the Moorhouse is the perfect place to return and relax.

This is a great find and we will look forward to frequent visits in the future. Thank you again Jane for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms and they are all lovely and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirGeorge61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
53
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my hubby over the Easter weekend. Super excellent brilliant. What more can we say. Hospitality was so impressive. Home made cakes and fresh coffee. Home made breakfast was just heaven. Fresh eggs daily. 5 star plus treatment from the land lady Jayne and her husband. High quality luxury stay. Peaceful, just what we needed. Thank you guys so much. Recommended by far ....

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Excellent rooms and great service. Highly recommended, it is a super location for touring through the North Yorkshire dales and moors. The beds are extremely comfortable, the breakfast is sumpteous and five minutes away in Grantley at the Grantley Arms you can have a fantastic dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I booked a weekend at the Moorlands on the strength of other glowing reviews and we weren't disappointed. A lovely warm welcome from Jane coupled with a pot of tea and home made cake set the standard for the rest of our stay. The room was spotless and very spacious - really good value. It's an old hunting lodge with lots of history and period furnishings but it's not too overdone so you can really relax and unwind after a day out running / biking on the moors. A great drying room too - just the thing for drying my wet running gear. Delicious breakfast and an ordering system means you aren't restricted to a big fry up and food waste is kept to a minimum. We had fruit smoothies and croissants as well as fresh fruit and yoghurt - as vegetarians we didn't feel short changed! Thank you everyone at the Moorlands for making our stay really special.

Room Tip: Ground floor room - worth that little bit extra for the space and the huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My husband & I have just returned from a two night B&B stay (12th - 14th June 2013) and .....Shhhhh, don't tell anyone (we want to be able to re-book :-) ) ...... but 'The Moorhouse' more than deserves it's 5*, Number 1, customer rating!

Here's why...

1. 'The Moorhouse' itself is situated in the beautiful Nidderdale countryside with spectacular views. There's lots to do just a short drive away; Walking, Brewery visits, lots of places to eat etc.
2. Every room is elegantly furnished, with every modern comfort. Everywhere is immaculately clean and our chosen bedroom 'The Ladywell' was simply fabulous; spacious, light filled, king bed, hospitality tray, colour T.V. plus gorgeous bathroom, dressing room and lots of lovely 'extra's.
3. The breakfasts were delicious; varied in choice, beautifully cooked & prepared & plentiful!
4. But what made this break so special was... Jane, the Manager. She made us feel so welcome, was friendly and extremely knowledgeable. Nothing was 'too much trouble' for Jane and it was the 'little touches' that made us feel more like 'honoured guests' than paying customers. We can't wait to return...and we will!

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous and special in their own way, but 'The Ladywell' is very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We booked the Moorhouse well in advance as we would be travelling through Yorkshire and wanted somewhere to stop and take a break for two nights. Jane was really good at keeping in touch via email correspondance when we had queries and even let us stay in the nice room instead of the twin room as we were on a romantic break.

The rooms were clean, well decorated, fresh and gorgeous. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped and the shower had very good water pressure. Our room connected to a common room that was cosy with a fireplace, that was lit and warm, and a common tv with some books. The dining room was bright and pretty. We did not eat dinner there but the breakfast had a lovely selection and was cooked extremely well. Examples of offers were for example fresh pancakes, eggs to your liking and porridge. There was also a selection of fresh fruits and yogurts, cereals etc.

The only cons to our stay were that the kettle in the room was desperately in need of descaing and at times the rooms could be a little chilly.

A quick summary:

Pro
- lovely rooms with comfortable beds
- nice bath robes
- good water pressure
- nice atmosphere (ie. cosy)
- Jane was an absolute delight (we loved her)
- great food
- ample parking
- common rooms very cosy and nice
- nice products in bathroom

Con
- slightly chilly
- kettle needs descaling
- tv in room small (didn't bother us, but could be a problem for you)
- creaky noises from house (we thought it was cosy)

Would strongly recommend to others.

Room Tip: I would recommend spending an extra 10 pounds a night on the "posh" room as we found it ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FroggayFroggay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing long weekend staying at the superb "Moorhouse". From walking through the door Jane made us feel instantly at home and looked after us in a way which is hard to find nowadays. Our room was beautifully presented, the lounge very relaxing and breakfast cooked to perfection. Jane was able to give us excellent information re the local attractions etc. which saved a lot of time reading the numerous brouchures. Our days out at the Himalayan Gardens and Newby Hall were a great experience. On leaving I have taken a number of the house cards which I will be giving to friends recommending a visit, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Musician891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkby Malzeard
6.5 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Unicorn
The Unicorn
#3 of 5 in Ripon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorhouse

Property: The Moorhouse
Address: The Moor House Dallowgill, Kirkby Malzeard, Ripon HG4 3RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon > Kirkby Malzeard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkby Malzeard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a short drive from Pateley Bridge, Ripon and Harrogate, is the Moorhouse, a traditional country lodge guest house B & B, which has hosted royal and celebrity visitors, among them the legendary Bing Crosby. There are 5 luxurious bedrooms, all with bathrooms, a comfortable sitting room, large dining room, a boot room with drying facilities and a private car park. Nestling in tranquil countryside, the house enjoys spectacular views of the moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Moorhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorhouse Kirkby Malzeard, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing