We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
211
90
30
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
90
30
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach sea view half board stunning hotel olbia airport front row lovely spa the main areas relaxing resort breakfast and dinner staying at this hotel hotel guests turkish bath mini bar every evening stayed for nights murta maria
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The Hotel Cala Cuncheddi is a modern hotel with beautiful views and a crisp contemporary feel. The main areas (reception, lobby, bar etc) were very pretty and well maintained. Our room was lovely, clean with stunning views over the pool and beach.

However, the standard of food (we sampled breakfast (included), lunch and dinner) was poor - the presentation was modern but the taste was plain and lacked flavour.

The staff were pleasant but not overly helpful so I would expect more from this level of hotel.

Overall a pleasant stay in a beautiful setting but the service and standard of food was below par.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Britney_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano A, Direttore at Hotel Cala Cuncheddi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay here.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, and we would like to apologize if we could not meet all your expectations. Your comments are certainly helpful to improve the services we offer our Guests.
Best regards from Hotel CalaCuncheddi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We just spent our honeymoon week at Cala Cuncheddi and I have to say we
are quite disappointed. The hotel did not make us feel special at all for
our honeymoon . The only thing we got was champagne at the end of our first
day but that was after asking Reception three times as we had been told
champagne and a fruit bowl will be presented in our room on arrival. The
fruit bowl never did get given to us.

When we went to sit in the seating area by the outside bar a member of staff
stopped us before we sat down and told us we were not allowed there and it
was reserved for a private function. When I'm paying to stay at a hotel I'd expect to be
allowed to sit in the seating area without being told off!

We were charged for room service when we asked for water without being told
this is an additional 10 euros for the service.

When we packed our case to leave the receptionist said she did not have any
scales to weigh our case when we saw a previous customer get given scales to
weigh his case.

Also the nearest town is a 60 Euro taxi one way.

All in all, although the hotel was nice enough, they did nothing to make it a special honeymoon and to make us feel special in any way. Would not visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Without doubt one of our best hotel experiences to date. We stayed for five nights and had arranged to be picked up from the airport because we were not interested in hiring a car; this stay was reserved purely for relaxation. We were, in fact, picked up by a limousine-service with our names on a board and the vehicle with aircon. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the staff and on the next day also by the Front Desk Manager, Mr. Marino Campus, who did an excellent job with our booking and general questions prior and during our stay.
We were not initially happy with the superior sea-view room but were granted a free upgrade to a fabulous junior suite after the 2nd night, which we gladly accepted! The staff was extremely friendly, the restaurant offering a wide variety on top-notch 5 course meals every evening. The restaurant’s maître de service takes pride in his job and tries to deliver to guest’s expectations, for example with the choice of table. Obviously not everyone is able to sit with front row sea view.

The hotel itself is spotless and situated in a very quiet location. It comes with its own private fully-serviced private beach with loungers and umbrellas. The scenery is beautiful and it was a pleasure to walk through the wild-flower gardens in such a quiet and peaceful environment. We were able to rent a boat nearby and on the last day had a four-hour trip out to the various islands around the area. Although the hotel was fully-booked it was never over-crowded – there were always chairs and tables available. We had the spa to ourselves most of the time!!
After the beach we lounged for a couple of hours at the beautiful infinity pool and enjoyed late afternoon cocktails. Highlight every evening is the spa with sauna, large jacuzzi and steam baths as well as relaxation area and beauty spa treatments. Following this are the pre-dinner cocktails or drinks served with wonderful amuses-bouches and sometimes accompanied by live music whilst overlooking the sunset-stained sea.
The ambience and atmosphere here is so special and we pay our due respect to the general manager who obviously does a great job here; as each of his team shows a true sample of excellent hospitality!
This is a hotel where we would gladly have stayed for longer than 5 nights and we shall return!

Room Tip: Beware of room 307:you have to stand for sea views! Junior Suite 303 is amazing with generous sized bathroom and lovely veranda.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACK66Pepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano A, Direttore at Hotel Cala Cuncheddi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for such a wonderful review about our Hotel! Thanks for sharing it on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay here for your holiday.
It is a pleasure to read your nice words and we are so proud to know that you enjoyed our wonderful location and the attentive service of all our staff.
We would be really glad to welcome you back here at Hotel CalaCuncheddi for another beautiful experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

With this review we want to describe our holiday experience in this hotel and why we cannot recommend it!
We were looking forward spending our last 5 days of our summer holiday in this beautiful resort to celebrate the birthday of my partner and to relax and enjoy the beautiful sea view.
The ambience,style,cleanliness of the hotel and the view are the positive highlights.
Unfortunately the quality of service as well as the lack of initiative and charme of the staff were disappointing!
We had to ask for so many simple,basic items: napkins,salt & pepper, olive oil ,ashtray (the waiter saw us smoking)
The staff worked like robots, they just did ,what they were asked for,that's it. But in hospitality ,esp. in a hotel of this category this is far not enough!
In the morning during breakfast,they did not ask for a coffee. We always had to ask for it!
For breakfast every day exactly the same products had been offered.
No variety at all!
The gourmet restaurant,called Asumari,was also below our expectations!
We are not complaining the quality of the products,but we missed the typical Italian flavours!!
For instance:The pasta ( with tomatoes and basil) they served, had no taste (it is comparable with an instant pasta!!)
The fish,no matter which type of fish,had no flavour
The most disappointing fact,was the "organization" of the birthday dinner for my partner.
I informed the staff already 3 weeks via mail before arrival and asked for suggestions. The only proposal was a dinner at the beach!

I just asked for a nice arrangement of the table with some deco elements( nothing impossible and not very demanding)
Then I talked personally with the staff.
The motto of the staff: Questo non è possibile(This is not possible)
This statement is an unacceptable response ,when dealing with guests.You should always be able to offer alternatives!!
As mentioned there is a lack of will,fantasy and initiave.
They were even not able to write a greetings message or congratulate my partner personally!!
This never happened to us in the past.Every hotel writes at least a short message !!!
After these inconveniences we informed the manager of the hotel. He apologized for this and told us that he will try to "reduce" the negative experiences.
His "compensation" : a bottle of wine !! (Very creative)
When we checked out,he was not there to ask for a feedback or to leave us a letter of apology.
I will not comment more on this!!!

Conclusion of our experience:
This hotel has a lot of potential.
I'm italian and we are travelling a lot ,esp. through Italy ,from North to South.
This time we did not have the feeling to be in Bella Italia!! It is upsetting but believe me an Italian B&B with less facilities would provide you with more hospitality,creativity and charm than Cala Cuncheddi!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Odyssey722819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano A, Direttore at Hotel Cala Cuncheddi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017
Google Translation

Dear Trip Advisor member,

Perfect timing!

It is quite obvious that your time spent at the airport was boring or probably the last hours at the hotel were calm and relaxing enough as you managed to write such an accurate review about “CalaCuncheddi”.
I would not spend 30 minutes more - as I already did when I welcomed you in my office - but I would like to point out few aspects to who is going to read this review, which is only your personal point of view.
There is a huge difference between what is Objective and what is Subjective.
We work hard every day to satisfy - in the best way possible - our Guests needs, but each request has its specific value.
We have explained in the many emails regarding your booking, emails that you continued to send us during your stay in our Hotel (!!!!!), the several possibilities to celebrate the birthday you are talking about, including candlelight dinner at the beach.
It is quite clear that you thought these services might have been free of charge.
As I told you, if you had written less e-mails to the Reception and had spoken directly, maybe to the F.O. Manager (rather than just cutting flowers from the entrance of our hotel, or asking to bring some ceramic from the lobby ornaments to the table), things would have gone in a different way.
Therefore, I cannot understand the lack of initiative, imagination and feeling of being in the "Bella Italia" you talk about.
But reading carefully your words I understand that probably the main problem was just your claim to have specific services for free.
My apologies, but I repeat, it is not the usual policy of CalaCuncheddi.
Just an example explaining that we are not robots, but we have a clear awareness of what we do and why we do it:
You booked a garden view room and received a sea view room. You might define it a “lack of initiative” or something else, but actually we did not asked you to pay for the upgrade. We did it also because we knew there was a celebration during the stay, so we thought it could be appreciated.
Besides, I would like to thank you for writing a feedback in our Guests book at the reception and I let our clients read the comments before and after yours.

It could be quite usual that an employee does not sit well to some customer, but a client who receives the same "empathic" judgment from the whole staff is far less common.

We would rather avoid any other comment.

Thanks again for your visit,

The Management and the whole Staff.


*********************************************************************

Gentile Membro di Tripadvisor,

Che tempismo!

Evidentemente l’attesa in aeroporto è stata noiosa o comunque le ultime ore in hotel sono state abbastanza calme da permetterLe una cosi attenta scrittura con tema CalaCuncheddi.
Non voglio sicuramente passare altri 30 minuti come ho fatto in hotel accogliendoLa nel mio ufficio, ma vorrei precisare per chi leggerà questa recensione che i problemi di cui Lei parla sono il Suo e unico punto di vista.
Esiste una differenza ben precisa e delineata tra Oggettivo e Soggettivo.
Noi ci adoperiamo in ogni istante della giornata per esaudire al meglio delle nostre possibilità i desideri dei clienti, ma ogni richiesta ha le sue modalità e il suo valore.
Abbiamo illustrato nelle moltissime email relative alla Sua prenotazione, emails che Lei ha continuato a mandarci anche durante il soggiorno in Hotel (!!!!!), le diverse possibilità per festeggiare il compleanno di cui Lei parla, compresa la cena a lume di candela in spiaggia.
Evidentemente Lei pensava, sbagliandosi, di ricevere tutto gratis.
Come Le ho detto se Lei avesse scritto qualche mail in meno alla Reception e avesse parlato direttamente, magari con il F.O. Manager (piuttosto che andare a tagliarsi da solo i fiori dal vialetto di entrata del nostro hotel o pretendere di portare al tavolo qualche sopramobile in ceramica dell’arredo hall), le cose sarebbero andate diversamente.
Non vedo quindi dove sia mancata da parte nostra la mancanza di iniziativa, fantasia e la mancanza di calore da “Bella Italia”.
Però leggendo tra le righe capisco che probabilmente il problema principale era proprio la Sua pretesa di servizi gratuiti.
Mi dispiace, ma ripeto, non è il caso del CalaCuncheddi.
Le faccio invece un esempio del fatto che noi non siamo dei robots, ma abbiamo coscienza ben precisa di cosa facciamo, del perché lo facciamo:
Lei ha prenotato una camera vista giardino e ha ricevuto una camera vista mare. La chiami pura mancanza di iniziativa o altro, ma non mi pare che Le abbiamo chiesto di corrisponderci la differenza. Lo abbiamo fatto perché ci è sembrata cosa apprezzabile visto che durante il soggiorno c’era anche il festeggiamento del compleanno.

La ringrazio inoltre per aver lasciato il suo feedback anche nel libro ospiti alla reception e Lascio ai prossimi clienti la lettura dei commenti precedenti e successivi al Suo.

Può capitare che un dipendente non vada molto a genio a qualche cliente, ma che un cliente riceva lo stesso giudizio “empatico” da parte di tutto lo staff è cosa ben più rara.

Noi preferiamo evitare qualsiasi altro commento.

Grazie ancora per la Sua visita,

La Direzione e tutto lo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 4 Nights in June, hotel is easy to find using google maps, very isolated so ideally you need a car.

The pool and beach are lovely, only annoying thing about the beach is people walking along selling things when you are trying to relax although I don't think this can be stopped as it's a public beach.

Water is very expensive 4 euros for a small bottle and magnum ice creams are 5 euros our bill was mostly water when we checked out.

Staff are very friendly especially the bar man. Dinner on half board is nice although not very much choice. On the first day we had lunch in the restaurant, this was very expensive and not great so would recommend the pool bar for lunch food.

Room was big and newly refurbished, bed really comfortable with a nice outdoor space with sun beds on balcony.

Wifi connection is awful it disconnects as soon as you come off your phone, kept having to ask reception to log us back in.

The gym is only open from 10am which is really inconvenient when you like to work out in the morning before breakfast when the weather is not too hot so we didn't use it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NJC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano A, Direttore at Hotel Cala Cuncheddi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Guest,
many thanks for your review about your experience here at CalaCuncheddi Hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the Hotel and our Staff, and we would like to apologize if we could not meet all your needs during your stay here. We would like only to infom you that we have a satellite internet access, which sometimes could be a bit slower.
Thanks again for your high score!
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews