We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great for lazy hill walkers"”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Heulog Holiday Cottages
Carlisle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Great for lazy hill walkers"”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The accommodation is in a group of 4 single storey units in the grounds of, but well separated from, the large house. The view from the verandah are fantastic over to Anglesea and into the hills in the other direction. The location is close to plenty of places to visit and things to do. The title of this piece refers to the fact that the accommodation is quite high up the hillside to start with so when walking in the hills behind a lot of the height has already been achieved. I would recommend a walk up to the "Druids Circle" which is about an hour and a half round trip. Anyone who is into technology in a big way, I would suggest downloading a QR Barcode scanner as the local authority has had the foresight to use them on information boards. Jennifer and Richard are excellent hosts and will do anything for you although we had no problems at all. Would fully recommend Plas Heulog.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The apartment we stayed in was very clean and was equipped with everything we needed for the week. It was not big or luxurious and was a little dated, but for us this was not an issue. The kitchen was well appointed and we cooked all our evening meals there. The bed was very comfortable and we slept extremely well. There is a laundry room which is very handy for drying clothes and towels etc.

Richard and Jennifer are very friendly and helpful and made excellent hosts. We felt that if any problems had arisen (they didn't!) we could have approached them about it and they would have addressed them straight away.

The location is fantastic; very rural and halfway up a mountain. There are amazing mountain views and also views of the sea towards the Menai Straits. There are 4 holiday apartments in a terrace, which is situated close to the owners' house, but separated by gardens and hedges. It was great to sit out on the verandah in the evenings with a glass of beer admiring the views.

Plas Heulog is a really good location to base yourself if you want to explore Anglesey, Snowdonia and the coast of North Wales. It is also very good value for money. We would thoroughly recommend Plas Heulog.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

these cottages are in a terrace built in the grounds of a large house with stunning views of the Menai Straits and mountains of North Wales.The approach is via a mountain lane and steep drive -not for the faint hearted driver!
We f0und our one bedded cottage to be clean and have all we needed for our stay,including a dishwasher.The furnishings are a little dated, but no matter.
The main charm is the view, the peace and also ., the central location for touring the area Great walking country, lots of wildlife on the doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A really fantastic place to stay. Fairly basic accommodation and slightly dated furniture .. BUT ...if you're looking for peace and quiet with fantastic views of mountains and over the coast towards Anglesey you couldn't ask for more. It's also an excellent base for walks into the Carneddau mountains directly from your cottage.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 88709Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfairfechan
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Bangor Wales
1.4 mi away
Rhiwiau Guest House
Rhiwiau Guest House
#2 of 6 in Llanfairfechan
72 reviews
1.0 mi away
Min-y-Don Guest House
Min-y-Don Guest House
#1 of 6 in Llanfairfechan
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Grove Bed & Breakfast
The Grove Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Llanfairfechan
33 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coed Y Gelli B&B
Coed Y Gelli B&B
#4 of 6 in Llanfairfechan
29 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Gladstone
The Gladstone
#1 of 1 in Dwygyfylchi
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Heulog Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Heulog Holiday Cottages

Property: Plas Heulog Holiday Cottages
Address: Plas Heulog Mount Road, Llanfairfechan LL33 0HA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanfairfechan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Llanfairfechan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Plas Heulog Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Heulog Holiday Cottages Llanfairfechan, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing