We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nong Kiau River Side Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Zama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

These bungalows are truly beautiful and the views can't be beat. Watching the morning clouds rolling over the river from my balcony while enjoying my first cup of coffee every day was one of the high points of my trip. Also, the staff were really lovely. The manager and asst. manager spoke good English and always had time to chat with me, and while the other staff didn't speak much English, that didn't stop them from greeting me with a smile when we met. Highly recommended if you was a quiet retreat from the more backpackery options in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    105
    48
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
165
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed in Nong Kiau Riverside long time ago, in July 2009. I hope not much has changed as I would love to come back to this place soon. All materials used in these premises are natural, the view is stunning and the balcony was the most relaxing on my whole journey in Lao. I loved to lie on the traditional mattress on the balcony or sit on the chair and enjoy the peace and the river. The staff was friendly, the complimentary coffee and tea and electric kettle in the room nice to have. Now I feel a kind of loneliness when I think about this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReMi1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Nong Kiau Riverside Resort is ideally situated above the Nam Ou river, with beautiful views on the river and the karstic peaks around Nong Khiaw (and also on the bridge). Bungalows are spacious, with good beds and mosquito nets, a balcony with reclining chairs where you can spend time reading or watching the river life. True, motorboats are a bit noisy, but there is nothing you can do about it, they are part of the river and village life. We stayed in two different bungalows (nr 2 and nr 15), and both were very clean and tastefully decorated. The restaurant room is also very nice. Buffet breakfast is standard but good (fruits, cheese, omelets, pancakes, etc). The Resort is just a few minutes walk to the bridge and all the restaurants in Nong Khiaw (which is very small). We enjoyed so much our stay there that we almost didn't make it to Muang Khua ! Hope to come again to this delightful place and to spend more time there !

Room Tip: All bungalows are similar but some are a little bit bigger (for example, room 15 was slightly bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domino68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were in one of the further cabins (#14) with a nice balcony and a shower with a big picture window looking out to the karsts and the river. There is quite a walk from the lobby but it really felt like you were in a nice remote location. Manager had some helpful suggestions for our ongoing travel. Bacon at breakfast the first day and cheese everyday. Something we haven't had anywhere else. Lovely views. This is northern Laos and you should not expect the Four Seasons. The value is very good for what you are paying.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andiCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I'm glad we booked this place as this little town has very few good places to stay. You get independent rooms overlooking the river and the whole set up has a very remote feel to it. Take a walk around the small town. There are a few nice watering holes that you can visit. Remember that they take their afternoon siesta very seriously :)
There is no elaborate spread at the hotel but the food is decent. You can test the local restaurants as well.
The whole stay would have been quite nice if it wasn't for this freaky notice in every room asking you to put off any electronic appliance in your room at night, as the blinking light travels far in the night and as the rooms can be observed from the main bridge, the chances of break-in and theft would be high.
To cut a long story short, we had no break in...but I got no sleep either.

Room Tip: The little town has very little amenities, so take whatever you need with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaalika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
777 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My sentiments are similar to other reviews. Great views from the restaurant and bungalow terraces. Hard double beds with good mosquito nets. The bathrooms are poor, no hot water or plug in the sink which had a large corners missing, slow draining shower that floods the bathroom. Very noisy in the morning from early morning motorbikes and boats. The cottages are 'trekking-romantic'. Food was fine nothing special and the breakfast which we were told was excellent was pretty standard. Probably the best choice in the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The bungalows have wonderful views. They're very spacious and quite attractive with the four-poster beds, though with a bit more attention to detail they could look even better. Try to get one a bit further from the bridge.

We found the staff to be a bit mixed though. At arrival we were told in not very polite manner our booking could not be found and it took quite a while for them to retrieve it (no apologies). Not all staff very interested, though others were very friendly.

Very nice breakfast buffet with yoghurt, good cheese, fresh pancakes and eggs on order, etc.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Polds83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Khiaw
0.8 mi away
Mandala Ou Resort
Mandala Ou Resort
#1 of 16 in Nong Khiaw
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nam Ou River Lodge
Nam Ou River Lodge
#3 of 16 in Nong Khiaw
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meexai Guesthouse
Meexai Guesthouse
#1 of 10 in Nong Khiaw
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunset Guesthouse
Sunset Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Nong Khiaw
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lerdkeo Sunset Guesthouse
Lerdkeo Sunset Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Muang Ngoi Neua
39 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pha Xang Resort
Pha Xang Resort
#6 of 10 in Nong Khiaw
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nong Kiau River Side Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nong Kiau River Side Rooms

Property: Nong Kiau River Side Rooms
Address: 78/1 Ban Sop Houn, Nong Khiaw 05060, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Nong Khiaw
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Nong Khiaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nong Kiau River Side Rooms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nong Kiau River Side Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nong Kiau Riverside Hotel Nong Khiaw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing