We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to leave!”
Review of Mandala Ou Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mandala Ou Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Did not want to leave!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here last November when the place had just opened. A stroke of luck really that we found it, as it was the best place we stayed in (by far!) during out Laos trip. To be honest, we'd be hard pushed to name another place in South East Asia that comes close... Was it the lovely pool? The great rooms? The charming owners? The view? The place just has a vibe which means you do not want to leave. In fact, we had booked two nights but ended up forfeiting our deposit in the next place we had booked, as we did not want to leave Mandala Ou. To us, it felt like a backpackers' place for grown ups, and we mean that as a massive compliment! The bar is the perfect place for meeting others, making new friends and chatting with the staff; the fountain area is so inviting that we spent a day just hanging around reading, and the atmosphere is brilliant thanks to the wonderful owners. And yet is has all the comfort you could wish for, and is quiet and sophisticated.

Practical:
* a short bike ride away from the main 'restaurants'; bikes are provided.
* very comfortable beds.
* good showers.
* delicious breakfast.
* very nice infinity pool.
* rooms either have their own 'balcony' or a very attractive and cosy attic space (open air) for relaxing in.
* good value.
* extremely helpful and friendly owners.

We could not recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank •LiSa•
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    46
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
108
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We originally planned on staying here for 2 nights but ended up staying an extra 2. The reason? Such a beautiful location on the Nam Ou, clean and well presented rooms, great plunge pool (it's not Olympic size but does a great job none the less!), huge food portions and an owner who still takes immense pride in both his local knowledge and the maintenance of his property. I would stil be there given the choice!!

The use of free bikes make the centre of the village perfectly reachable in 5 minutes or less and there is plenty to see and do in the local area.

Highly recommended but I would advise to book ahead - we were at the tail end of the season so got lucky with the extra nights.

Room Tip: We stayed in a bungalow overlooking the river and karst cliff face - request one of these to wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in Mandala Ou for 2 nights in March, 2014. A little bit out of the center of the village (about 15 minutes walk or a couple of minutes by bike provided for free by the owner). Very nice view both from bungalows and from the public area. Breakfest is continental European (could be supplemented by an Asian food in my opinion) Owner Nic always present and ready to help. Nice refreshing swimming pool. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is on the outskirts of a small town. It has a great position and outlook on to the river and also a small infinity swimming pool with the same great aspect.

The rooms in the hotel are little bungalows which are well laid out with balconies looking once again onto the river. The bed was the most comfortable I have had so far in Laos as there seem to be a lot of very hard beds, but this was just right. The bathroom is roomy and an electric shower means you never get a cold shower.

I was travelling on my own and I found the owner and everyone working at the hotel very friendly and they made me feel very welcome.

The breakfast was simple but lovely and fresh. I also ate dinner at the hotel. The menu is relatively limited but broad ranging. Everything I had was well cooked and tasty.

I liked being on the outskirts of town but it is only 15 minutes to walk into the centre or you can borrow one of the hotel bikes free of charge.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for someone looking for a relaxed atmosphere and good facilities.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CFBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

A great three night stay. beautiful location looking at river and soaring cliffs. Nice little pool and communal area very welcoming. A great place to hang out. Free use of pushbikes. A gentle 5 - 10 min ride into the little village. Next to bus station. Friendly heipful owners.
Whole unit is lovely. just personal preference, I hate all in one bathrooms where the whole floor is drowned with showering, but still would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loaslaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiavari, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had 3 nights in this amazing place and everything was perfect!
Quality food,really nice room,and a perfect service!Thanks Nic,you did the difference to let us have a wonderful time!;thanks Kenny:so lovely resort !Hope to come back in this dreamy place,for sure the best in the area!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpleminds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The wonderfully decorated and designed bungalows in this small-scale resort are grouped along a landscaped garden with fountain and the riverbank. Lot of attention to detail, such as the use of beer bottles to create surprisingly stylish little windows in the bungalows. The bungalows are bright and airy and have comfortable beds. The toilets are not physically separated from the bedrooms, which may not be to everyone's liking.

The central common area is very welcoming with a round bar, a dining area and a small but stunning swimming infinitypool with views over the river below and soaeing cliffs beyond. The friendly, very helpful owners are often found at or behind the bar and create a nice ambiance. They were fully booked for two out of three nights we intended to stay, but they arranged rooms at the Riverside, transport and offered us use of their pool and bikes. The free bikes are a thoughtful addition since it's located on the edge of the small town.

A very nice option to stay in Nong Khiaw if you're able to afford it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Polds83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Khiaw
0.8 mi away
Nong Kiau River Side Rooms
Nong Kiau River Side Rooms
#2 of 16 in Nong Khiaw
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meexai Guesthouse
Meexai Guesthouse
#1 of 10 in Nong Khiaw
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Guesthouse
Sunset Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Nong Khiaw
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nam Ou River Lodge
Nam Ou River Lodge
#3 of 16 in Nong Khiaw
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pha Xang Resort
Pha Xang Resort
#6 of 10 in Nong Khiaw
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lerdkeo Sunset Guesthouse
Lerdkeo Sunset Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Muang Ngoi Neua
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandala Ou Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Ou Resort

Property: Mandala Ou Resort
Address: Main Street | Near Bus Station, Nong Khiaw, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Nong Khiaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Nong Khiaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mandala Ou Resort! We are a small family run business with 10 individual bungalows - 6 with direct River View and 4 in our Fountain Garden. We offer you a personal, friendly service with amazing sunset views onto the Nam Ou river, jungle and mountains - enjoy our river side infinity pool, great Thai & Lao cuisine or a sun downer cocktail at the bar. All rooms are individually styled using local materials and ethnic soft furnishings, recycled glass bottles for windows, with the comfort of first class bedding and duvets. Each room comes equipped with free tea and coffee making facilities, safety deposit box, as well as wall radiator & hot water bottles for those cold nights. Welcome to the family and enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mandala Ou Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing