We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking, reading, eating, sleeping.”
Review of Blanc Sur Sanctus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peux-et-Couffouleux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blanc Sur Sanctus
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Walking, reading, eating, sleeping.”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We have just spent a glorious and relaxing week in 'Rouquette' one of the well equipped gîtes in Blanc Sur Sanctus. The hospitatity so readily provided by Carlos, David and Sandy () is superlative. They have an extensive knowledge of the neighbourhood and of the region and willingly share these - invaluable if, like us, you have little awareness of this remote and wild part of France. 'Away from it all' does little to prepare you for the experience.

We had not really used gîtes before this but I'm pretty certain not all are as well kitted out with comfortable beds, dishwasher, washing machine, fully fitted kicthen (including microwave as well as standard cooker) plus a huge bathroom with bath and shower. There's even TV and a DVD library, surprisingly good mobile phone coverage and even access to wifi!

Food shopping is a drive away. The further you drive, the more choice there is. However with a little careful planning you can combine stocking up with food with stocking up with sights. The local wines, especially Faugères, drink here beautifully (David and Carlos only too happy to advise).

The real treat is the beauty of the surrounding countryside and the peace and quietness. Being November the weather was, er, inclement. It did not rain on one day and, if like us, you take this into account when preparing your stay, then it's not a problem. But take note, we were here in November at the very end of the season. Spring, Summer and early Autumn will be dry and warm to hot (there is an outdoor pool). We took full advantage of the modern (efficient) log fire in the gîte - you just help yourself freely to the mountain of chopped logs which Carlos maintains.

Bring good walking shoes, clothing appropriate to the season and pleanty to read for an invigorating and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fusspot_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This tiny village is situated in a very remote part of the Aveyron region of France, somewhere I had never been before. My partner and two other friends rented one of the gites which have been refurbished by the wonderful Carlos and David. The gite itself was beautifully refurbished, with a very comfortable sitting room with a wood-burning stove and the kitchen was large and well-equipped. The bedrooms were both large with very comfortable beds. There is a limitless supply of firewood to burn and keep the house warm, and there are lots of books to read and useful guides to walks and other visits to do in the area.

Carlos and David are both a font of knowledge and stories about the area and about the history of Blanc and were constantly available to give advice or to lend the odd kitchen utensil if one needed something outside the ordinary.

We visited in the autumn when the weather was somewhat variable (several very wet days, but also some glorious sunny days) and the colours of the leaves turning we're stunning. I imagine that in the summer the place is very different with lots of outdoor activities and spending most of the time outdoors, but we were very cosy sitting in our gite on wet days, reading, talking and keeping warm and dry by the fire. We also had a couple of gorgeous walks and some lovely drives - and there is a wealth to see in the area. We only scratched the surface so will definitely be back to visit again to experience this heavenly place and the wonderful hospitality of Carlos and David.

Room Tip: All three gites are lovely and well-appointed so it would not matter which one you chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

If you are looking for a remote and calm paradise in the south of France: this is it. I even hesitated to write a review because it is a well kept secret place. The five houses of Blanc are renovated rural houses with large surroundings and with modern facilities like washing machine and dish washer. Lovely view into the valley. Not too warm in July (23C) compared to the Medditerian Coast. Swimming pool is excellent. Wireless access is available at the garden table, near the owners barn of David and Carlos. These guys have and still are making it a big job to make this place even better. Reservations one year in advance are advised because many visitors return every year. Please note that at night there can be noises from squirls in the houses, a lot of flies will like your terrace as well. Sun will be on your terrace until 7:30 pm in july. And finallly it is very remote. The nearest town is 15 min. Perfect for walking in the hills not suitable for biking as the slopes are very steep.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MjtVisscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

I wasn't ready to have my breath completely taken away as we caught our first glimpse of Blanc. It is just as beautiful as it appears in all the photos.

Blanc is the perfect place to escape from the world. You can stay on property for the day reading and taking in the views of which one never tires. Alternatively, we would take a picnic on one of the many hikes or discover neighboring villages during the day. We also went to Millau for a bit of shopping and to see the famous Millau viaduct. We followed that with a trip to the caves at Roquefort to buy as much of the famed cheese as we could carry. The famed medieval cathedral at Sylvanes is also a must-see.

The properties at Blanc consist of medieval houses which are rented as "gites" and are self-catering. We preferred to venture out for lunch in one of the many small towns or villages in the vicinity. We generally prepared our own dinners and dined al fresco, again soaking up the fabulous views. Supermarkets are a short drive away and, since this is France, you don't have to look too far to find a decent bakery or patisserie.

We stayed in the Presbytery, a four-bedroom house that was fully equipped, including Wi-fi. From the moment you arrive in the medieval hamlet of Blanc, you feel right at home, thanks to gracious hosts, David and Carlos (and Sandy the yellow labrador) who will do whatever it takes to help you enjoy your stay. David in particular is very knowledgeable about local culture and history and will help steer you in the right direction for your sightseeing adventures.

If you want to combine complete and utter relaxation with culture, Blanc is the place to be. If you're looking for nightlife, rural France is not the place.

Blanc suited our needs perfectly. It quickly became my favourite place on earth and I'll be back there next month, and hopefully many more times after.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beanetbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blanc Sur Sanctus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanc Sur Sanctus

Property: Blanc Sur Sanctus
Address: Blanc, 12360 Peux-et-Couffouleux, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Peux-et-Couffouleux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Peux-et-Couffouleux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The medieval village of Blanc is built around the remains of a 10th century château, and includes five houses available for rental, comfortably furnished and equipped with modern conveniences. Hidden deep in a wooded valley, 6km from the nearest town, it's an ideal spot for walkers, nature lovers or anyone looking to get away from it all. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing