We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Balfagon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cantavieja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

First ,you really don't have much choice if you find yourself in the rather quaint and pleasant town of Cantavieja because I couldn't actually find another hotel anyway.Not to worry though because this place is really rather nice.
We only stayed a night as we were meandering our way through Spain but the area is lovely ,in a wild unspoilt way,and if you're doing the same then this is a good place to stop for a nights rest.It's quite a modern hotel but in a very well executed old style so it looks quite elegant and impressive,fitiing beautifully with its surroundings.It's easy to find,on the main road and you can park right outside in the main car park or you have the choice of paying to use the secure car park that costs about 10 euros and is a very short walk along the road,about 50 yards from the main entrance.
Check in and check out were easy.
The room was nicely appointed,nothing too fancy but clean and with everything you could expect for the price.We had a small balcony with lovely views in the distance and there was no problem from any road noise .The A/C was good.We had a mini bar and room safe,no tea or coffee making facilities though,like most of Europe except the UK(why I'll never know,It's nonsense).
Wifi was free (hooray,hotels are gradually catching on ) and seemed fine.
The shower room was small but not too small.No Bath.Adequate toiletries and towels.We had a TV which had no English speaking channels but that's par for the course in much of Spain but for a night ,who cares,we weren't there to watch tv.
The evening meal was very tasty.There's a set menu option of 3 courses with water or wine for 12 euros which we didn't have but looked a very decent choice .There was an English language menu and one waitress spoke English.
Breakfast was excellent.When we stayed it was waiter service but I understand on busy days of the week it's buffet. We had a good choice of cereals,pastries ,eggs .hams etc
No complaints.I'd recommend it especially at the rather good rate you should be able to get by using an internet booking provider.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dongola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Sadly this hotel still displays its 4 star rating when it is now a 3 star hotel according to Hotelopia. It is not 4 stars and is at risk of further decline. There is one thing in its favour –the Maestrazgo. In the Teruel region it has an area of over 1204 square kilometres and only 3,700 inhabitants. It has a wonderful y mountainous landscape.
The receipt for our stay shows 4 stars. We were not greeted as one would have expected. There are steep stone steps that were difficult to climb more so with luggage from the car parked in their garage for a fee overnight. No concessions for age! or “Can I get someone to help you?” – So disappointing. The rooms were a little tired –you get better rooms at a Premier Inn in the UK.
The dinner was quite satisfactory but very rushed. The breakfast was more successful. The food was freshly cooked to order and was reasonable.
They conceded that they had few English speaking guests a few British and fewer Americans (a few more of them and there would be less complacency).
They have problems with languages. We can claim a little “get you by” French Italian and some Spanish from a phrase book. So the wine waiter addressed us in German! During the course of our stay our nationality was changed from British to Irish (no offence to the Irish). We had to correct the bill in their favour before we left.
If we return to this region which is well worth sometime spent here then we would checkout other accommodation in the town first knowing there will be rooms at this hotel as a last resort.
There was nothing bad about the Hotel but it seems that they have given up trying to be good.
We have stayed at excellent hotels at Orea just before and Bocairent just after along with a B&B in Cahuilla and in each case the service was so much better. There was one exception and that was a waitress who did her best to maintain a proper level of service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outofthelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were booked into this hotel for three nights as part of a group booking.
The accommodation, staff and restaurant could not be faulted.

The smallish rooms are fine for a short stay, spotless, recently refurbished, cosy and comfortable.

The buffet breakfast and evening meals were top class and the staff efficient and friendly.

Wifi was rather hit and miss, but always available in reception and usually in the room.

It is an excellent base for exploring this wonderful and undersold part of Spain.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from the lifts and stairs have the poorest wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had the same experience as the following reviewer of coming across this hotel at the end of a day travelling through the countryside. It was very cold outside so great to be able to park immediately in front of the hotel. We had a warm welcome inside. Staying for just one night, we chose the cheapest type of room which did not have an outside window but looked out into a private, bright corridor with plants. The room and bathroom were stylish and well-appointed. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent with local specialities. The service was impeccable, both in the restaurant and at reception. We did not use the spa. We normally avoid spa hotels as they are often over-priced. Here we were almost embarrassed by the low cost of our half-board stay.
It's worth looking round the town, with its old walls and arcaded square. At any rate find some excuse for staying. We'll certainly be finding our way back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We just happened across this hotel after a great day of driving through the Maestrazgo. The rooms are not huge but the space is used very effectively so there is a feeling of space. They are done in muted colors and contemporary styles. Our room was immaculate, pressed linens and white white towels and robes. The hotel has a very nice restaurant serving the specialties of the region and a nicely priced wine list.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyngawron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank geles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jaime F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cantavieja
13.7 mi away
Hotel Palau dels Osset
Hotel Palau dels Osset
#1 of 1 in Forcall
87 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Cardenal Ram
Hotel Cardenal Ram
#1 of 3 in Morella
193 reviews
7.5 mi away
El Canton Rural
El Canton Rural
#1 of 1 in La Cuba
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hostal de la Trucha
Hostal de la Trucha
#1 of 1 in Villarluengo
118 reviews
5.5 mi away
Las Moradas Del Temple
Las Moradas Del Temple
#1 of 1 in Mirambel
154 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hospederia Palacio Iglesuela del Cid
Hospederia Palacio Iglesuela del...
#1 of 3 in La Iglesuela del Cid
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Balfagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Balfagon

Address: Avenida Maestrazgo 20, 44140 Cantavieja, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Teruel > Cantavieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cantavieja
Price Range: £56 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Balfagon 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel & Spa Balfagon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing