We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful French experience”

Review of Tribal Holiday

The swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The swimming pool
Pool Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The swimming pool
Pool
Dining room
Eating outside
Bedroom in La Grange
Kitchen in Le Ruisseau
Bedroom in Le Ruisseau
2nd double bedroom in Le Ruisseau
horse and carriage
Winter at Busserolles
play area
Bike hire available
Games room
ULM flights from nearby village
Archery at Tribal
Hundreds of kilometers of way marked tracks to walk, ride or cycle
Le Chataignier glass walled bedroom
Party in the garden
Celebrations buffet
Dining room
Spit roast
Pizza evening
Pizza evening
View towards Le Moulin
Local market every Wednesday morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
14 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 30
Busserolles, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John E
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful French experience”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Each house in this multi property complex was comfortable and well-appointed from kitchen to bedrooms with everything necessary for a French holiday with family and or friends. The surrounding gardens and grounds provided extensive but intimate landscaped and country views. The swimming pool was a good size and always clean and well maintained.
The hosts were friendly and could not be more helpful. They were also very adept at providing cooked meals themselves or at organizing outside caterers.
Could not find fault with this holiday venue.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie O
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just got back from a big family holiday (24 people) and had the best time! The property has everything you need and more. Our 1 year old enjoyed every moment at this property and so did we! I would highly recommend the Pizza evening and the meal delivered from the local restaurant, both were absolutely fab! All eating areas worked really well for everyone.

This really is your own hideaway with no traffic noise and a great place to relax! With extremely helpful owners, who are there on a daily basis to offer any tips/advice on the area.

I can't recommend it enough! We will definitely be going back again!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cat_Lady8...
Guernsey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Holidays for the Soul :)”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in July 2014

If you need to get away from all the hustle and bustle of daily life, this is the place to go.
It is out the way in the sticks in peaceful tranquility, beautiful surroundings and alot of history around the area.
If you are not a fan of Wine, you will be when you get back from here! Be sure to visit losts of Vineyards.
The houses were beautiful and well equipped with everything you could need, although we didnt have Television.
It has a lush pool, stunning surroundings with some animals we would see on a daily basis.
Food can be pre cooked ready for a dinner party, also beauty therapy, massage etc can be arranged and you can choose when and what you want.
Make sure you have wheels.. shops are few and far between but if you like gathering with your friends and family for BBQs and drinks at home, this is the holiday for you, be sure to stock up on booze at the shops!

Lots of nice peaceful walks, you even get to see the cute Lizards basking in the sun. I would definitely go back again.
Only 2 things (which cant be helped) The weather wasn't good when we went there, it rained everyday but we did have some lovely warm days and we made sure we got in that pool regardless :) What i did enjoy was the Thunder Storms! Wow!! They were amazing!!!

Also the single beds/ pillows wernt to kind on my neck, I had ACDF surgery on my spine (neck Region) but everyone else seemed to do fine (so i think its just me) but if you have back problems, make sure u take your fave pillow, i forgot mine! failing that.. just drink French Wine! :D

I loved this place and the locals are lovely unlike in St Malo!!!

No Tv so if you want some music etc, bring your tablet etc (find out WIFI access)

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Idyllic surroundings and parties
Liked least: When weather was wet, we did get a bit bored
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StagsHead...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Stag Do”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just got back from my 30th/Stag Do with a group of 30+ and couldn't have ask for more.

You will not be disappointed. Ted & Jo were amazing catering our every need. Breakfast, Lunch and dinner was worth every penny and the local restaurant they recommended was great. Local pitch and put was also great. Beer and wine was on tap, swimming pool and all facilities were excellent and they made us feel right at home.

I/we couldn't believe how much we lucked out finding this place.

I will definitely be coming back and recommending it to everyone.

Cheers Ted and Jo for a weekend I will never forget!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheney H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant, Excellent & highly recommended venue for large groups!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We took our company on a trip and stayed with Tribal Holidays in September,Ted was there to greet us at Limoge airport with our pre-booked shuttle bus to transport us to our venue, not only was the accommodation beyond excellent and spacious for all 28 of us, there were so many activities on-site to keep everyone occupied and all my colleagues have been giving exemplary praise about their stay since. Ted & Jo were absolutely amazing with our catering, fielding our questions about the local villages and any other queries my group had. and many of us were very sad to leave! I would highly recommend anyone this amazing venue to stay at, the views are breath taking and the decor gives a lovely rustic French feel and style, and if you don't feel like cooking you can ask for the catered menu as the food was amazing too!

Thanks Ted and Jo, we loved every minute!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: on-site activities for all
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities and owners.
Liked least: A bit far from the shops, car necessary.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nickythom...
Sissinghurst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Where to start..... !

5 families with kids at the same school, 13 kids mostly under the age of 8. It could have been a disaster. Thankfully, despite the amount of alcohol drunk, frisby and rounders collisions and stray sheep, noone was seriously injured and we will all have had a holiday to remember.

The accommodation ...

Dont expect to find everything you need in your house. You will need to send your children to explore other people's kitchen cupboards, stash stuff in their dishwashers and borrow the occasional pair of knickers. Other than that, the place was perfect. Our bed in Le Rousseau was too soft but other than that we cant fault the place. The kids appeared with toys from the games rooms, disappeared for hours in the pool (do take a couple of older girls with you to babysit - ply them with chocolate and duty free make up!), ate up trees and occasionally appeared freshly bathed from someone elses house.
This was a good thing.

There are 2 washing machines, 2 dishwashers, hundreds of plates and bowls (and one salad tosser less than when we arrived - sorry!). Being WI sorts, we took a variety of mixers etc for cake baking but there were several tarte and loaf tins available- If you need to make a bigger cake you'll need to take your own. The BBQ was brilliant and we used it most nights. There are a few places you can eat en masse, We tended to use the covered table by the stream for breakfasts and the open table by the lawn for evening meals and had one meal inside. We easily fit 30 around the tables though we tended to have kids meals separately.

The garden is large, full of interesting bushes, trees, climbing frames, tree houses, wobbly stones for building and grass for playing rounders on. There is also a volleyball net and, occasionally, escaped sheep to catch!

There may have been restaurants locally but once we had stocked up on groceries we stayed put and catered for ourselves.

It's not cheap but it's brilliant for a big group. I dont think i would recommend it for just one family. There was another family staying along with us and i think we scared them with 3am skinny dipping, raucous singing and cackles of laughter most nights.

At this point i would just like to say we are all very normal, bright, high achieving people, not 18 - 30 yobs but everyone needs to let their hair down occasionally!

The owners were good on email and helpful.

So to finish - if you are looking for someone for over 30 people, i would recommend this place wholeheartedly. We will be talking about it for many years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the site was gorgeous.
Liked least: The mattress was so uncomfortable.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing