We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay At The George Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George at Brailes
Ranked #1 of 1 Brailes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Stay At The George Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Went to meet an old work friend at the George Inn as this was midway between our locations, what a find!! after reviewing on TripAdvisor and taking 80% of the positive reviews and ignoring the 20% of peoples reviews that you could never please we booked. Made to feel very welcome by all the pub team, because we had to leave early the following morning the landlord insistead the kitchen staff prepare us a breakfast that night to take with us the next morning. Huge beer garden at the back with kids play area, plentyof seating and immaculate lawns. rooms very clean, food great, and plenty of local ales to sample all very reasonabley priced, at £40 night B&B what a bargin, now want to return with my family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnerBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    40
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
63
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight in our campervan, and did the 5 mile walk. Ate in the restaurant, and enjoyed a chilled pinot grigio, and steaming hot plate of steak and stilton pie and mash. Husband finished it off with sticky toffee pudding. Food very good. Friendly staff. Lovely garden.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cubbington, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

All i can say is that jenny s (Newark) must be a very miserable and difficult person to please ( see previous comments) - so we're in the country and the pub won't be as big as the Witherspoons shes probably used to! Enough of her though....
I booked ahead having seen a country walk that starts/stops from around the pub. Friendly on the email, offering good advice but from the moment we were on site in the wonderful bar ( my gosh plenty of room) staff were friendly, inviting, helpful great Hook Norton ales, lovely Hogans cider - lots of choices where to sit the garden, covered outside area, bar and restaurant!!!!!! Great food - in fact the perfect Sunday day with a 5 mile walk. Could not have been better - we will be back to stay - too be honest if your mobile home is that big that you cant drive it under that arch then as a country boy - you're not really welcome on our country roads!!!! Enjoy the George - we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori Johnston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I am gob smacked upon reading the review of the lady from Newark a posted a few days ago - I am equally as pleased to be able to report my own experience there, which was directly in contradiction to the report of Jenny S (Lady... from Newark) On our annual tour of the Cotswold's we decided to call in, what a great welcome, both from the staff and the locals. Its dog friendly and full of people of all ages.

The food was excellent, and whilst I was ordering food I overheard a friendly chef passing advice on from her mum to one of the locals (I was presume they were locals) on how to cook lamb rump steaks. Her enthusiasm for cooking food and her smile was infectious. I heard her say her mum was also working that evening (the source of her advice!!), I was not disappointed with how they cooked what I was served, the food was excellent, hot, well presented, flavorsome and plentiful. We could not have asked for better. My partner thouroughly enjoyed his meal as well.

The pub itself is great, its quite large, in fact the bar area is larger than other local pubs we have visited in the area, but its warm and friendly with a really nice atmosphere and buzz to it.

Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

proper bar. lovely food and comfy rooms. can't say enough about The George.
genuine staff and friendly locals. flag stone floors, half beamed rooms, listed doors. charming throughout. open fires in the bar when the weather is not so pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was at this Inn for barely 13 hours, but the friendly faces of the barmaid and the female boss were just what I needed at 9pm on a wet Easter Monday. I had a good night's sleep and a first class breakfast. so it would be good to return some other time and stay a while. Check out time is advertised as 10.30am, so I was a little surprised to be asked at 10.27am what time I was leaving! We shall however excuse that in view of the friendly welcome and, at £40 with a full English that included black pudding, it was great value

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the George for a friend's birthday celebration weekend and were very pleasantly surprised both by the atmosphere and genuine olde world charm of the place and the speed at which we were welcomed as if we were locals and regular customers, rather than weekenders from Denmark. Everything from the open log fire in the bar to the terrace heaters in the outdoor smoking area, gave the impression of a genuine desire to provide comfort and warmth (literally & metaphorically) to all guests... this was also true of the attitude, friendliness and playful sense of humour displayed by all of the staff: it even resulted in my becoming friends on Facebook with both of our hosts, Vikki & Gary. The food was superb whether eating in the more formal surrounding of the dining room or in the bar. The only minor criticism I have was that we had only one key between us, which meant that I had to get help to enter our room after my girlfriend had retired and mistakenly locked the door. However, the door was soon opened by the staff when I mentioned it and it was a very small thing that did nothing to spoil a wonderful weekend. I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brailes
7.4 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gate at Brailes
The Gate at Brailes
#26 of 39 in Banbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George Townhouse
The George Townhouse
#1 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mine Hill House
Mine Hill House
#22 of 39 in Banbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
The Old Kiln House Bed and Break...
#1 of 11 in Shipston-on-Stour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 2 in Long Compton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Brailes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Brailes

Property: The George at Brailes
Address: High Street | Lower Brailes, Brailes OX15 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Brailes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brailes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George at Brailes 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is a delightful Inn situated just 16 miles from Shakespeare's Stratford upon Avon and perfectly situated for touring the north Cotswolds. We have five pleasing and comfortable rooms , together with a really fabulous 1.5 Acre Garden , charming 14th century restaurant and well stocked Bar serving fine cask ales & ciders together with a good wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The George at Brailes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George At Brailes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing