We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy Friday night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George at Brailes
Ranked #1 of 1 Brailes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at The George on Friday night as a stopover from the New Forest. Our twin-bedded room was small and basic, but the beds were comfortable and the room and the en suite were clean

We went out for a meal at Shipston, so did not try the food BUT the noise from the bar and outside at The George was awful. Pubs are supposed to stop serving at 11pm, but the bar and outside were still full blast after 1am. We were over the outside area at the back, which had plastic covering over the area. It sounded like live music being played at 12.30pm - whatever it was, it was very loud. It felt as though we were in the room with them.

Earplugs did not help at all. If we had known how bad it was going to be, we would never have stayed. We like a good time and enjoy music and company, but not when we are trying to sleep.
Really spoilt a good night.

Breakfast was (almost), its saving grace - well presented and cooked, the choice was excellent.

Real shame that the very late night/morning spoilt our stay. If we had known how bad it was going to be, we would have chosen somewhere else; and there was a lot of choice around and about. At £80 a night, it was not a cheap option and not one we would choose to repeat

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jeanjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horacebull, Owner at The George at Brailes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review . I am so very sorry that things went awry on your stay. It was a bit of a "one off" in that it was the culmination of the Shipston Proms fortnight . We are certainly at fault for not informing you of this event at your time of booking and for which I profusely apologize. Normally the George is a very peacefull and relaxing Inn and I wish to assure all that in the unlikely event of another night of this type any potential customers will be clearly advised at the time of booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for The George at Brailes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We recently stayed at this lovely old English country Inn. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable.
In all a very pleasant stay and excellent value for money. The cooked english breakfast was one of the best I've ever had !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Friendly staff and great hospitality. Slept very good and would recommend it for couples and overnight stay. Nice pub and great food and lovely garden. Nice and quiet location. Would go back anytime..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Situated in a lovely little village this establishment is well worth a visit. Even if it is just to meet the Landlord it is worth doing. A real character. And he keeps an excellent cellar. Real ales in excellent condition, local Cider and Lager all on draught. The food is top quality, well presented and good value. My room was a little tired but it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The ensuite was spotless. I liked the George. I will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Went to meet an old work friend at the George Inn as this was midway between our locations, what a find!! after reviewing on TripAdvisor and taking 80% of the positive reviews and ignoring the 20% of peoples reviews that you could never please we booked. Made to feel very welcome by all the pub team, because we had to leave early the following morning the landlord insistead the kitchen staff prepare us a breakfast that night to take with us the next morning. Huge beer garden at the back with kids play area, plentyof seating and immaculate lawns. rooms very clean, food great, and plenty of local ales to sample all very reasonabley priced, at £40 night B&B what a bargin, now want to return with my family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnerBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed overnight in our campervan, and did the 5 mile walk. Ate in the restaurant, and enjoyed a chilled pinot grigio, and steaming hot plate of steak and stilton pie and mash. Husband finished it off with sticky toffee pudding. Food very good. Friendly staff. Lovely garden.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

All i can say is that jenny s (Newark) must be a very miserable and difficult person to please ( see previous comments) - so we're in the country and the pub won't be as big as the Witherspoons shes probably used to! Enough of her though....
I booked ahead having seen a country walk that starts/stops from around the pub. Friendly on the email, offering good advice but from the moment we were on site in the wonderful bar ( my gosh plenty of room) staff were friendly, inviting, helpful great Hook Norton ales, lovely Hogans cider - lots of choices where to sit the garden, covered outside area, bar and restaurant!!!!!! Great food - in fact the perfect Sunday day with a 5 mile walk. Could not have been better - we will be back to stay - too be honest if your mobile home is that big that you cant drive it under that arch then as a country boy - you're not really welcome on our country roads!!!! Enjoy the George - we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori Johnston B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brailes
3.8 mi away
The White Bear
The White Bear
#2 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
71 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,507 reviews
7.4 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,513 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George Townhouse
The George Townhouse
#1 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gate at Brailes
The Gate at Brailes
#30 of 37 in Banbury
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George at Brailes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George at Brailes

Address: High Street | Lower Brailes, Brailes OX15 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Brailes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brailes
Price Range: £63 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George at Brailes 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is a delightful Inn situated just 16 miles from Shakespeare's Stratford upon Avon and perfectly situated for touring the north Cotswolds. We have five pleasing and comfortable rooms , together with a really fabulous 1.5 Acre Garden , charming 14th century restaurant and well stocked Bar serving fine cask ales & ciders together with a good wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George at Brailes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George At Brailes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing