We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unpleasant ordeal in the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tour-de-Faure
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unpleasant ordeal in the hotel”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We,two very experienced couples(+65 years old) in trips all around the world,went through a very unpleasant ordeal last September in the above mentioned hotel,when we asked in advance to shorten our stay from 4 nights to 3.
At first we were told that the change needs to be approved by "Booking" (the company through which we ordered the hotel) but when "Booking" sent over the confirmation (via email) the hotel suddenly announced that it wasn't enough and we will need to pay for the cancelled night if they can't manage to book someone else in our rooms instead(according to the agreement between the hotel and "Booking"). Our many requests to talk to the hotel manager were unanswered.
Only after our phone conversation with "Booking" and their involvement directly with the hotel, were we "released" from the payment, while being harshly reprimanded in a humiliating manner by a young hotel clerk (I don't want to see you here again..."). We were shocked and hurt especially in light of the fact that we acted appropriately and the hotel suffered no damage (our rooms were sold right away). On the other hand, we suffered distress and the expense of a long-distance call to "Booking".

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fanny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericviven, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
See you in an other life unpleasant customer.
Eric VIVEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    163
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
132
681
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is new and has been well designed to provide just about everything the traveller needs. It has a slightly eccentric bathroom design, including basins which slope down and have no plugs and loos with no seats. However all in all it was a good place to stay and the breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericviven, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you Frogham for your very nice comment about our hôtel. Thank very much.
Best regards.
Eric VIVEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

OK hotel, but a few problems that diminished it's value: no toilet seat (I'm not kidding - it wasn't "missing", it's just a weird design that doesn't have one - management told us it's "cleaner" that way but I'm not sure how...), a shower that didn't work (our friends in the next room reported the same problem), no window (in the ground floor rooms), and no restaurant on site (you will be "bussed" to a mediocre restaurant in the village with a van load of other guests). We had hoped for better. Nevertheless, the woman attending to the guests was courteous and as helpful as possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welltravelled044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericviven, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Many thanks Welltravelled044 for mentioning that you got a good welcome at our Hôtel Le Saint-Cirq. I would like to let you know that i feel very sorry because evreything has not been as good as you expected.
About the toilet seat, usually we have got excellent feedback because it's a lot cleaner as long as men know how to use it properly without giving you all the details.
In fact i completly agree with you, effectively it was slightly difficult to turn off the shower which is going to be fixed this week.
Finally we do mentione that we do not have restaurants at the hôtel as we have got the advantage of the village of saint-Cirq-Lapopie without the inconvenients. We have got a wonderfull view of the village, it 's so quiet, we have got plenty of space included for parking and the hôtel provide a free shuttle for joining the village for diner where there are more than 10 restaurants.
Nevertheless i hope you will keep a good souvenir of our hôtel and i hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again; Best regards.
Eric VIVEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is an oasis of peace, charm and excellence in a beautiful setting. The shuttle service to the associated restaurant in St CIrq itself was a great bonus and the food available was very good based around regional specialities. Excellent breakfast too. The rooms have been thoughtfully designed as has the whole hotel. Very helpful staff too. Sadly we had only booked for 1 night and couldn't take advantage of the bikes available for guests to use.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericviven, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Peter L you are a paradisiacal guest and i would like to thank you very much for your visit and for your wonderfull comment. All the team do appreciate because we work hard to give you a warm welcome at Hôtel Le Saint-Cirq amongst the vines, to make that you feel in an oasis of peace, in a so charming place with excellent bedrooms and looking for fresh and genuine quality products for breakfast .Peter L you are more than welcome at any time and i hope we will see you soon.
Eric VIVEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This place just takes your breathe away. The views towards Saint Circ Lapopie are sensational at any time of the day. The room we had overlooked a small vineyard with spectacular views to the old town which is quite deserving of he title of one of the best villages in France. The rooms are very well equipped and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast is more than adequate and big by European standards. The pool is heated to 26 degrees and even in late September it was not too cold for a swim. The hotel is some distance from the old town and you will need to drive. The hotel offers a mini bus transfer service but only if you use one of their restaurants. We would definitely like to return as the hotel is well located to visit the surrounding areas of the Lot Valley.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room with view to the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonM894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericviven, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
I am so pleased that you spent an excellent time at our hôtel. Thank you very much indeed Rom M884 for you visit from Australia.
Best regards.
Eric VIVEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Great breakfast and Staff very attentive and helpfull. The Hotel is well located for exploring the whole Lot valley.The parking is included on the price and is very good. The view is nice for the upper roon, however the lower roon there is not view

Room Tip: The upper roons are better then lower roons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericviven, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Ricardo R from Brazil, many thanks for you visit and so pleased you enjoyed our hôtel with its breathtaking view of the famous village of saint-Cirq-lapopie as you enjoyed visiting the quercy region from our hôtel the Lot valley, very close as well to Dordogne and Rocamadour.
Thank you again and see you soon, best regards.
Eric VIVEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Le Saint Cirq. The ground floor room had access to the view of Saint Cirq Lapopie and the vineyards. Breakfast was very good. The beds were most comfortable, and the room was charming. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We found the ground floor room very satisfactory. No noise from upstairs, and it was nice to walk o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericviven, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Great comment Harvey 44 from California, thank you very much and see you again.
Best regards.
Eric VIVEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tour-de-Faure
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Gabarres
Hotel Les Gabarres
#2 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
171 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle
13.7 mi away
Chateau de Mercues
Chateau de Mercues
#1 of 1 in Mercues
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel la Truite Doree
1.8 mi away
Hotel Les Falaises
Hotel Les Falaises
#1 of 1 in Bouzies
218 reviews
23.8 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq

Property: Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
Address: Face a Saint Cirq Lapopie | Le Mas, 46330 Tour-de-Faure, Saint-Gery, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Saint-Gery > Tour-de-Faure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tour-de-Faure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel facing Saint-Cirq-LapopieA Quercy hamlet renovated, our 26 rooms have been prepared with loving care, to pass on to you the charm and character of this beautiful place, as naturally and sincerely as possible.Large park with heated swimming pool, orchard, vineyards and truffle oaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing