We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel”
Review of The Bulstone Hotel

The Bulstone Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Branscombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bulstone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
st Jean de Monts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant hotel”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at Bulstone in 2011 just as a couple and would recommend it to friends.
We had a two bedroomed suite and this was clean and comfortable with good furniture and bed linen,having the extra space was ideal for storage but would be really good foranyone with children.
The bathroom was clean,the towels that were provided in large quantise were clean fluffy and changed every day.
Breakfast menu was very good,lots of choice and freshly cooked to order and alternatives to the usual full English were provided on request I had smoked fish.
Dinner was very good, with good ingredients , menu changed each day and good wine list from C Piper Wines,a local supplier.
As well as bedroom and dining room,there was plenty of public space inc 3 acres of grounds,and woodland for all to enjoy.
A lounge just for grown ups and a playroom for children as well as a library for mom and dad.
A TV romm for all, a kitchen for somewhere to make a picnic if you planned to spend the day on the beach.
On return to the Hotel,the beauty treatment was well worth the money before dinner.
We were also pleasantly surprised with the large and free car parking, and a laundry service ideal for us as we were touring the West Country as we booked on the net it was a lucky find and we have and would recommend it to friends and family with or without children.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecile l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent a weekend at The Bulstone in February 2012 and had a great time!
The rooms where clean, the play room was great and the food was absolutely delicious! Even fresh milk was provided in the seperate kitchen and fruit was offered the whole day! Would certainly recommend it to every family with little kids who needs a break and likes to get pampered!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCFMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

if you are looking for contemporary decor and slick service then this isn't the place for you. however, if you want somewhere that offers spacious accomodation that is reasonably clean, and friendly, welcoming service then you'll love it. 5* luxury it is not but we never felt worried about the children scratching expensive furniture and never felt we had to tell them to keep quiet. the location is beautiful, the playroom is huge and full of great toys and the breakfast was lovely. as a relaxed, practical, hassle free place to stay with small children it's ideal. they even provide a boxful of bibs and a second, lower rail that children can reach on the stairs. it's clear that money has been spent on upgrading since some of these other reviews were writen. my only complaint is that as it costs the same as more upmarket hotels in the area it doesn't represent great value for money.

Room Tip: the ground floor rooms are within sight of the guest areas. great if you are nervous about leaving t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Refreshing experience, the Bulstone had a lot of character and a warm and friendly atmosphere. There was plenty for the kids to do, a playroom as well as a large garden with plenty of toys kept them entertained during the stay! Food was great and rooms were of a good standard. Recommend the Bulstone to any families looking to stay in Devon!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_atkinson52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Great for the kids, who have freedom in safety. Great dinners and wine for the adults. Friendly atmosphere. Lots to do in the area. Better value than other options we have tried. What more could we ask?

Can't believe the moaners. We are a family with two boys who have stayed for one week at the Bulstone Hotel almost every year since our boys were 1 and 3 years old. They are now 12 and 14, and still want to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surreyors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed here some months ago, and have been meaning to write a review for a while now.

I found the website led me to a false sense of high expectation with this hotel. I was disappointed. The hotel is in need of some love, but the owners are very accommodating. It really depends on what you want from your stay. For me not having paper thin Walls so you can hear the neighbours going to the loo at 3am is high on the priority list.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Froggy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Nothing really wrong, friendly and great breakfast, but room felt like a boarding house. Cheap carpets. Grey Lino bathroom. Tiny tv with poor reception. Cost double what it should have in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justplainoldmeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BULSTONE, Owner at The Bulstone Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
We are told that we offer good value for money all our accomodation is in 2 bedroom suites with full bathroom. Hotel facilities are as stated on web sites and we have just had our AA inspection and have an increased score especially for food.What is expected to be offered for breakfast other than choices of cereal, fruit, juice, yogurt, full english breakfast....
the bathrooms have non slipfloors especially designed to prevent accidents and to be hygenic unlike in a private home where carpets do tend to be the norm. Carpets in the hotel are good quality in the main Axminster and are upgraded as necessary, we are waiting the delivery of anew stair carpet.
I feel that the complainant had booked the wrong place we are very rural and does not appeal to those who prefer town life. No mention has been made of the fact that we accomodated a late arrival .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branscombe
1.7 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
434 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sidmouth
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel
The Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beer
329 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#11 of 13 in Sidmouth
68 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulstone Hotel

Property: The Bulstone Hotel
Address: Higher Bulstone, Branscombe EX12 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Branscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Branscombe
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bulstone Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Bulstone Hotel Sidmouth
The Bulstone Hotel Branscombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing