We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pub in Branscombe”
Review of The Fountain Head

The Fountain Head
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Branscombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best pub in Branscombe”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

All year round one of our favourite walks is from the cliff top car park in Beer over and under the cliffs to Branscombe through the woods on the west of Branscombe valley to the Fountainhead Inn. Why? It’s a great pub. The food is good, not expensive and the beer is always perfect.
This visit was on my own but in May seven of us walked there and had a brilliant lunch time and all agreed it would take a lot to beat this pub. The Fountainhead is a pub that does good food and not a restaurant that pretends to be a pub.If I lived in the area I would be there every week

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisbwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    71
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoy this jewel”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This pub retains age old charm and is a friendly and well run establishment in a great village amidst rolling hills. The menu offers reasonably priced high quality fare and a choice of real ales. Go there!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ate twice in one day!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday. Was very busy lunch time but the food kept flying out!
We had a selection of fresh made sandwiches made on doorstop chunky bread! Delicious!
We returned in the evening, which was again very busy! Food was very quick to come out. Definitely recommend the chicken and bacon lasagne and the rump steak. Faultless!
We will be back before our trip is over!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Covar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
“Huge portions of food ”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in here at 6 o'clock one evening for an evening meal the restaurant was full so we had to find a seat in the bar.

The pub was very busy but we managed to find a secluded table in what seemed to be an old separate part of the pub. Apart from a window it was a bit claustrophobic in there.

The food was excellent, huge portions and very tasty indeed.

The only downsides were done of the guests didn't seem to be able to speak quietly, and given the small interior, the noise really does vibrate around you! The log fire was lit which is lovely, but at times the smell of smoke was a bit overpowering.

The pub says it has a car park, though this is a very small dirt area where three or four cars can park. Apart from that, you can try and park on the road outside, though parking in general is a bit difficult.

Overall a lovely old pub with huge portions of good food. I would definitely try and secure a table in the restaurant part however rather than the bar.

Helpful?
1 Thank GaryH_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sets the standard.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Been going to this pub for many years, the food is always excellent even when they are choc full. Very popular, with walkers and locals alike.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TBCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fountain Head also viewed

 

Been to The Fountain Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing