We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great old-fashioned experience in small-town Baja”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Leree

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Leree
Ranked #4 of 4 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great old-fashioned experience in small-town Baja”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

My apologies to Juanita for not writing this review earlier - I stayed at Casa Leree in February 2010. The casa is a 19th century adobe structure which is updated for all the modern amenities, and which also serves as a town museum as well as the owner's - Juanita - home.

Juanita is one of the sweetest and most engaging people you would have the fortune of meeting. She is San Ignacio's soul, historian, hostess, promotor and civic pride volunteer. She has personally laid out and marked beautiful hiking trails on the mesas above and alongside the town, as well as collected and maintained most of the town's oral and photographic history.

San Ignacio is a tiny, quiet and isolated town which is charming in and of itself, but which also serves as a gateway to other adventures - particularly whale-wathcing and desert exploring. Casa Leree fits in with the town's feel. Yes, it's old. Yes, it's someone's home. Yes, you will interact with the hostess and her dogs and wander around her gardens with the small irrigation canals left over from Mission days.

Isn't that what you wanted when you escaped to small-town Baja??

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyBoy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cerrito, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

Casa Leree is a delight, and appears to be unique in Baja. A quiet oasis in the desert. As someone else said, Juanita is wonderfully helpful without being at all overbearing. The room in the main house is probably the nicest of the 3. The other 2 are very nice, although voices carry from one room to the adjoining room. That said, I don't think Casa Leree tends to attract inconsiderate guests. The town of San Ignacio benefits from being just off the highway, helping make it a real community rather than a strip town like so many in Baja. There's at lesat one good restaurant, a few shops, and the mission church. Not to be missed! And ask about the amazing cuevas pinturas!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siege1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

A sweet and lovely spot in, as someone else said, a dusty little town. The gem of Casa Leree is Juanita. She is warm and deeply knowledgeable about her home and the village. She has done a great deal of historical research about the town and area, whihc is written up into a book and placed at each bedside table - one in Spanish and one ini English. Her own living room is the guest center and library. There is also a little shop with books and local crafts. There is a delicious light breakfast beginning at 7 am. The rooms are colorful though small. Each has a hot pot and tea or instant coffee.
This is not a fancy place. The pleasure in staying here comes from in the hospitality and knowledge of place, not designer decor. I would go back in an instant.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

My wife and I stayed at Casa Leree in 2005 and had a great experience, San Ignacio is a wonderful town. It has the beautiful mission and perfect town square, There is often something happening in the square at night maybe a volleyball game or music. Or just kids and dogs chasing footballs. Juanita is a great host so when my son and passed through this fall, 2008, we stayed a night going south and returning north. The rooms have every detail you can think of, fresh bottled water, tea bags in several varieties, soap and shampoo in the bathroom. The thick walls keep the rooms cool, and the grounds are beautifully maintained by Diego.A friendly town and a welcoming host make Casa Leree a great experience.

  • Liked — the well kept grounds
  • Disliked — Not many good restaurants in town
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cesped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2008

We arrived late in the evening to Casa Leree as we drove from Loreto that day. Juanita greeted us and showed us our room right away and was very welcoming without being overbearing. The garden is full of wonderful discoveries from the surrounding areas, including cowboy spurs hanging from trees and local craft. There is one bathroom to share for all rooms but it has a wonderful shower with lots of hot water.

We were there in Early February and it was colder than usual for the area so we were quite cold at night. There was no heat in the rooms.

The next morning we left early but I wish I had more time to explore the little museum that Juanita has inside the house. I would plant to spend an hour at least looking around if you can.

  • Liked — Uniqueness
  • Disliked — It was cold!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdonouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2008

The previous review on this website discussing Casa Leree I agree with entirely. In additiion to Juanita being a wonderful host she is attempting to recreate the history of the town of San Ignacio and has wonderful old pictures and books and . . . everything!

It is on the town square so you are right in the thick of things; even though it's not a terribly exciting town. Visiting the old church on the square is interesting. But it is the gateway to whale watching at San Ignacio Lagoon and so . . .

If you are going Whale Watching with the Kuyima Tour Group like we did her B&B is about a 1 minute walk from the main office and the place the van leaves from. Very convenient.

We went whale watching in 2005 and found this place just due to sheer dunb luck. What a find!

Next time we go whale watching at San Igancio Lagoon---and we will---I will definitely stay there again!

Robert
Napa

Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERTINNAPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2007

I have stayed twice now at the Casa Leree guesthouse in San Ignacio, Baja California. It is a wonderful place to stay in this tiny, dusty little town. It's run by a woman from Northern California who bought the restored old historic adobe in 2003. Her name is Jane but the locals call her and she prefers now to be called Juanita. The casa is right in the heart of town around the corner from the mission. It has a pleasant, private dirt courtyard with large shady trees and nice places to sit and relax. There are three guest rooms, one large one in the main house and two smaller ones in what was once the barn. They are decorated with antiques and folk art. Rates are $35-65. Caged chickens, a dog and cat also live in the courtyard. Juanita is friends with all the local folk artists and runs a small gallery and bookshop in her house. This is not a fancy place nor a luxury bed and breakfast but a simple rustic historic adobe full of old-timey charm. We love it there.






Helpful?
2 Thank marlajfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Casa Leree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leree

Property: Casa Leree
Address: Calle Madero s/n, San Ignacio 23930, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing