We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Price Low Quality” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clumber Park Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clumber Park
rotherham,england
Level Contributor
170 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“High Price Low Quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

If the owners of this hotel are employing someone to ensure the quality you should be guaranteed to receive for the the price you have to pay to stay here they should be feeling ripped off like I am.We were allocated room 21 and welcomed by a large stain on both the carpet and the brown bed runner.The bed had the thickest,heaviest duvet we have ever seen on our worldwide travels,no sheet just this duvet on a warm and humid night with no A/c or fan in the room so we woke up several times soaked in sweat.The room ceiling and walls were cracked with a large cobweb hanging from the ceiling,more about spiders and insects later.The bathroom featured an ill fitting toilet seat so much so that I had to hold up the seat to use to toilet,the pop up bath plug was on the side of the bath and when my wife had a bath we found out why,you needed to take the plug out fully so the water would drain away,grout missing from the floor tiles,discoloured sealing round the bath and an extractor fan that sounded like a tractor.When we went to The Courtyard for our family get together dinner there was a few flying insects buzzing round and several spiders webs with there meals in the apex of the roof.The dining room staff seems so disorganised that our daughter had to go and ask if we could be served with bread.The food was very good when it was served.The staff came out with a birthday cake for my wife that our daughter had brought from home and they said they would bring out some cream,many photos were taken,candles re-lit several times for the chlidren to blow out,the cake was cut,handed out and eaten then hey presto some cream was brought to the table after everybody had finished eating.The next morning while waiting in the reception area for breakfast I noticed a cabinet containing jewellery and the top was covered in dead insects that looked like they had been there a long time.The breakfast staff were much better organised and knew what they were doing,the food was good but a few items like baked beans and fried eggs were missing.On going back to our room after breakfast there was a large cobweb with a lovely big spider at the centre in the corridor.
So if you want somewhere expensive to stay and study spiders and insects with a poor bedroom and bathroom I can recommend this hotel and room 21.
There must be another hotel close by that is cheaper,cleaner and offering better quality and value for money.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 21 unless they have sorted it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    317
    221
    168
    82
See reviews for
167
456
28
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Reading mixed reviews on trip advisor before we arrived I wondered how our visit would turn out!!! While I'm very pleased to tell everyone it was fantastic. Our room (no 74) was very clean and had been recently updated with modern fixtures and fittings. Good decor and white modern bathroom suite always feels refreshing when entering your room and we were both very pleased!! The bed was comfy and being situated above the spa which closes at 9 pm, we had a very good and quiet nights sleep!!
The spa was clean and all usual treatments available. I had a back massage which was very good if a little short. Should have been 25 mins but barely lasted 20.
Our evening meal in the courtyard was excellent. I had the lamb shoulder which just fell apart on my fork! The breakfast was also very good. It was buffet style which worked well and the service was very good. Maybe we got lucky with our stay but all I can do is be honest and it was very good indeed.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaykay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights this week whilst on a training course nearby, I have stayed at the hotel before but did not write a review, my company use it on a regular basis for lots of staff and I assume we get discounted rates some can't comment on price of rooms.
The hotel staff I found to be excellent as normal and very helpful, the restaurant manager (didn't get her name) offered her opinion on what food to have as I couldnt make my mind up, her choices were superb. Food was a little overpriced in my opinion but the quality very good, I assume they can charge an uplifted priced as the hotel is isolated with no other food outlets nearby.
Breakfast was plentiful if you timed it right as there was a full coach load of people staying who came down as a large group, thankfully I managed to get in before them on both days.
The room I was allocated (36) faced the main road and my gripes are (1) there was no headboard (2) there were only 2 pillows on a very large bed (3) the were no net curtains so there was no privacy (4) the shower head was extremely grubby however I did report this to reception and it was changed immediately
Overall a good hotel in comparrison to others have stayed in in the same area

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickhere4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at Clumber park hotel during August. we were made to feel very welcome our room was very spacious and very clean everything was lovely, also very peacefull and had a great nights sleep, The breakfast the next morning was delicious and there was plenty to choose from, our children loved how they could go and top up their drinks! nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed in the Clumber Park hotel last week as I was over in the area on business for four days. I was advised prior to booking that the hotel was booked out on the Tuesday night so it meant I would have to find another hotel for this night. I was put on a standby list but a room never materialised.

First things first, this is not a hotel designed for business customers. The rates are quite expensive for someone who might arrive in late and leave early the next morning and is unable to avail of the hotels facilities. Also, rooms do not have free wi-fi which should is a must for every hotel these days. There is free wi-fi in the hotel lobby however.

The rooms themselves are quite nice but the executive room I stayed in was not as large as some executive rooms I have stayed in in the past – the only difference I noted between the executive room and the regular rooms (which I stayed in for the other nights of my stay) was that the exec room had a king size bed. Also, the bathrooms only have a shower/bath; a separate shower would have been nicer.

I had dinner in the hotel each night I stayed there as there is not much else in the local vicinity. There is a decent selection on the menu in the bar but the food is a little expensive. I did not eat in the hotel restaurant – being turned off by the request to wear smart casual clothing while in the restaurant. The breakfast is buffet style, with the usual food you would expect – selection of cereals, fruit and English breakfast.

The hotel has a good gym and spa/swimming pool. The gym is small but was not busy during my stay so I had full access to all gym equipment. The swimming pool is heated and there is also a Jacuzzi, hot tub, sauna and steam room, everything you would expect from a spa.

This is a good hotel but I felt it was let down by some of its staff, in particular the lady I dealt with at reception. My request to have my receipt split out to only show room price was denied, even though it is quite easily done as I have seen it performed in other hotels. Also, I felt more could have been done to try and accommodate me on the second night of my stay, rather than forcing me to find another hotel. However, all of the waiting staff I dealt with were pleasant and friendly.

In all, this is a nice but expensive hotel. I would recommend it to older couples looking for a relaxing trip away for a few days but not to business people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jor_lsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Arrived Saturday evening, check in smooth. We were given directions to our room, but it was quite hard to find, lots of corridors and as we weren't the only ones struggling, I knew it wasn't just us lacking in a sense of direction. Our room was supposedly executive and although I haven't seen the standard rooms, it really was quite a basic set up, but there is an iron, ironing board and hairdryer in the wardrobe. Bathroom clean and nicely decorated with lovely complimentary toiletries. We ate in the a la carte restaurant and the food was fantastic. Top tip - the cheese board is large, plenty for two. The beds are comfortable and the rooms quite, so you don't hear other people's toilets flushing (always a plus). Breakfast is self service with everything you could ask for fruit, cereal, yoghurt, toast, croissants, muffins, cooked breakfast, juice, tea and coffee. On to the spa, I had an Indian head massage, it was ok. The girls who work their seem nice, but I've had better. My friend really enjoyed her hot stone massage. Now the down side, there was a wedding on and we felt the staff were stretched a little thin, so getting drinks at the bar took a fair amount of time. The place is nicely decorated but a little worn in places. The spa is generally quite dark, especially the pool area, which flows into the jacuzzi so cool water. The hot tub outside is warm, but there was film around the edge. I'm sure it's all the lotions and potions people use, but it's not what you want to see and really put me off. All in all a nice trip and just across the road from Clumber Park, which is a lovely day out. I wouldn't expect top notch, but a nice break.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank classy2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Good friendly staff. Nicola in the Normantinn Restaurant a joy! Place was clean and professional. Room good size and very clean and well maintained. Food at dinner excellent.Breakfast excellent. Staff attentive and when we said bit chilly in the conservatory in the morning went quickly and got heating. Executive room was £99 which included use of gym and spa. Defintely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a discount. I got £10 off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clumber Park
6.2 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
20.3 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clumber Park Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clumber Park Hotel and Spa

Property: Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Address: Blyth Road, Clumber Park S80 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Clumber Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clumber Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clumber Park Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your Clumber Park Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clumber Park Hotel Clumber Park
Clumber Park Hotel And Spa Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing