We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clumber Park Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clumber Park
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

A party of friends and I stayed at the Clumber Park on a spa day and night package.

The spa was clean and relaxed and the treatment I had was fantastic - thank you for the lovely nails Davina! However, spar gets busier as the day goes on, round the pool all chairs and loungers reserved with towels.

We had a three course meal as part of the package we were booked in on. Food lovely and good value however, a really long waiting time between courses. There was a wedding in the hotel on the evening we stayed which is probably the reason for this.

Drinks in the bar very expensive!

The major let down for the hotel was the rooms, very dark - no main light just lamps. Decor was also dark adding to the probem. The walls are paper thin, you could hear the people in the rooms next to ours moving around, plugging in and using hairdryers and flushing the toliet. The fact that the rooms were so poor really let down the other aspects of our stay in the Clumber Park.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaarrgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Clumber Park Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our New Leaf Spa is in high demand of a weekend however, the reservation of loungers is not acceptable and we will look into this.
I apologise for the delay in food service this may have been due to the wedding and also our other restaurant being full. If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    317
    221
    168
    82
See reviews for
167
456
28
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
225 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

It has a good go at being a modestly upmarket spa hotel, but can't quite pull it off, at least not consistently. Easiest to review the different components separately...

Hotel room - standard double was not terrible, but a bit drab - splash of colour wouldn't go amiss. Plus there were connecting doors (locked, thankfully!) to neighbouring rooms, so the sound insulation is poor. On the upside, a really nice bathroom, and reasonably comfy bed.

Spa - is very nice as hotel pools with attached steam rooms and saunas go, although you might be disappointing if expecting more of a spa complex. Pool is 12m and deep enough for a proper swim. Hot tub outside very bijou in a slightly odd garden setting. Sauna nice and hot, steam room a bit on the cool and small side. Nice cafe/bar area attached, and you can sup a bubbly from the Jacuzzi if you wish!

Restaurants - 'Normanton Inn' was OK, pleasant enough, but a bit overpriced for what you got, and a design and feel that lacks coherence. Fish and chips and beefburger meals are around £13; mushrooms and pancetta gnocchi a rather lovely special at about the same. Selection of breads was a good nibble to start with (but butter and marg in a packets not the classiest touch) and the olives bad value at around £4 for 7 or 8 pretty average olives. Wine variable - a decent merlot at £20, but Paddock Chardonnay at £18.50 was bland - I've had better supermarket bottles of the same for a fiver! Food and ambiance much better on our second night (Saturday) than the Friday, which felt a bit dead. Service and staff friendly and helpful.

Breakfast - not bad. A serviceable cold buffet selection then a choice of breakfasts from a menu. Eggs Benedict were excellent. Full English pretty good, nice black pudding, couple of rashers of bacon, one tomato, one mushroom, one egg to order, and a single sausage (could have done with two). Polenta sausage option didn't really do it for us.

Oddments - they so need new carpets in the one of the staircase corridors above the spa, and the request to wear shoes in the conservatory restaurant is just dated!

All in all, it serves a purpose - a good base for enjoying Clumber Park or Sherwood Pines biking etc. (Spa and Sauna great after a day's riding!), But I'd be disappointed if the hotel was the main thing I was visiting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoganJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Clumber Park Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of March on business. It is a really nice hotel. There is a fridge in the room which is a plus. The room is nice and clean and the breakfast is nice and fresh. Worth a visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CillaA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Clumber Park Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst on business. I do hope we are able to welcome you back to the Clumber Park Hotel & Spa in the future.

If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

First impressions great nice clean and friendly. Reception staff 5 star, we had a cream tea in the bar, staff friendly and helpful. Couldn't believe that it was a three rate Hotel. Room very clean and fresh, our room was number 21 and we were on a spa break from the 4th to the 6th of April. The spa was great the staff fantastic and nothing was a problem. Evening meal once again very friendly and attentive staff run by Jo how was friendly and could not do enough. Day to much the same really enjoyable I just couldn't understand why it rated a three. Food is good staff friendly and helpful, housekeeping doing a great job as our rom was spotless. Went down for breakfast on Sunday morning and we were sent through to the bar, well not good noisy the tables were not really designed to eat at after all it's a bar, if I wanted to have breakfast at Whetherspoons that's were I would have gone, food was slow coming out breakfast took an hour the juices were empty the cold counter you had to keep asking for things as everything had run out. If I had, had breakfast in bed or somewhere else this would have been a 5. Very disappointed they dropped the ball at the end, this is a real pity as this is a great Hotel and I am disappointed it's not a max as it really should be, better planning by management and it would be great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Clumber Park Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the end of your stay. However, I was delighted to read all other comments and these have been passed onto all members of the team. With regards to the breakfast being within our two restaurants, in order to accommodate every guest at the same time we feel it is better to have the two areas open on a weekend rather than have guests waiting in reception for a table, this however does not excuse the fact that you were waiting for juices and cold buffet items and we will look into this immediately.

If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

stayed here for 1 night as i did a charity walk just opposite on in the beautiful Clumber Park. Hotel is very nice.. very large so take note where you are going as i ended up in the wrong corridor a few times. staff are very friendly and helpful. Had a 3 course meal in a private dining room and the food was amazing! would defo go back.

Room Tip: i had an executive room and couldnt fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xloudedahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Clumber Park Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was a little bit worried about going to this hotel because of some of the negative reviews on here.However the hotel was lovely and I could not fault it.

The room was quiet, clean and nicely furnished.I had paid for an upgrade so it had little touches of luxury.

The food was amazing in the evening. The breakfast was to a good restaurant standard.

I could not fault the customer service,the staff were so friendly and attentive.

The price of the stay was more expensive than a budget hotel but worth paying the extra.This hotel is on the door step of sherwood forest so people should expect to pay extra.

To all the nit pickers on here I think there expectations are unrealistic as I have stayed in many hotels and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polly8468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Clumber Park Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments, all of which will be passed onto the team.

If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked the check in and chill out package for our group of five and had a fantastic "girls" night in. The executive rooms were clean and well equipped with luxury toiletries, towelling robes and slippers and a mini fridge with complimentary soft drinks, water and snacks. We visited the spa and enjoyed using the outdoor hot tub, it was lovely and warm and comfortably seated all five of us. We also enjoyed using the indoor swimming pool and lazing around on the poolside loungers. There were plenty of towels available and we were able to swap our damp robes for dry ones before returning to our rooms. We had booked access to the Chill Out lounge, this was marvellous and I highly recommend this room to anybody planning a party or a get together. The lounge had six large sofas, various tables and lots of lamps and large candles. It had a projector screen and plenty of DVDs to choose from.The room was ours to use from 1pm to midnight and was a great area to relax in. We were able to decorate it with banners and balloons and we chose to have our afternoon tea in this lounge, it was very well presented and served. During the evening we were given glasses of bubbly and a large dish of popcorn to have whilst watching movies, talking and laughing! Supper was a choice of two menus (included in the price of the package), we chose to have chilli con carne. We were brought two large bowls of chilli,(one was vegetarian, one traditional), these were served with rice, wedges and garlic bread. There was a lemon curd eton mess for pudding. The supper was very good and we were able to choose what time we would like it to be served. We all thought that our executive rooms were comfortable and had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was chosen from a varied menu and was delicious.. Overall the experience was excellent, the staff were all very helpful and made our celebration a big success.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sram200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Clumber Park Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased the team helped to make your event and stay so special. All of your kind comments will be passed onto the team.

If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clumber Park
6.2 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
20.3 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clumber Park Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clumber Park Hotel and Spa

Property: Clumber Park Hotel and Spa
Address: Blyth Road, Clumber Park S80 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Clumber Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clumber Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clumber Park Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Lastminute so you can book your Clumber Park Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clumber Park Hotel Clumber Park
Clumber Park Hotel And Spa Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing