We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel disappointing,spa great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clumber Park
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Booked a so called executive room,found it very average,small and the free mini bar consisted of 2 cans of soft drinks and 2 bars of chocolate.Overall feel of hotel was dated aiming for more of retirement age clientele.Also food and drink very expensive £4.60 for a pint of peroni beer! Booked a massage and treatment for myself and wife which was really enjoyable,the pool and hot tubs werent busy so we made full use of these.If ever i went there again i'd just use the spa and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: book a room elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marinerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am sorry that you felt the hotel is dated I am however pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spa.
If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for one night as a couple to celebrate our wedding anniversary in an executive room
£145 for the room was a little excessive - the room was dark and quite basic but we were given crisps water fizzy drinks and mars bars in the fridge. There was proper milk in the fridge too for the tea/ coffee
The spa was very busy and there was no bed to relax on
I had a 1/2 hour massage which was excellent and the staff were very friendly
We ate in the Court Yard restaurant and the food and service were good but again a little expensive -£93 for 3 courses and a bottle of wine .Very nice touch was that they cleared the tables around us but left all the candles burning so we didn't feel rushed
The next morning we had to wait for a table as there was an after wedding breakfast in the main restaurant and we had to keep asking for orange juice/ bread etc
Overall a nice experience but just disappointed with the room

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am sorry that aspects of your stay with us were not as you expected. I am however, pleased you enjoyed our New Leaf Spa and the treatments you received. Thank you also for complimenting our food and service, your comments will be passed throughout the team.

If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I visited Clumber Park Spa for the Whispering Willow Spa Day yesterday & had such a wonderful time! Brilliant service & very relaxing treatments! I had an add on of a scalp massage which was on offer on the day. Layla was a brilliant therapist & made me feel very at ease. Great product recommendations too! Delicious lunch (I had the butternut squash tart- yum!) & I thoroughly enjoyed having a glass of wine whilst chilling out in the outdoor jacuzzi! Only criticisms if I was being very picky would be the changing rooms need a bit of updating (very clean though- just showers need better drainage & there was no hand cream) and the treatment rooms could do with being a bit darker with more candles.
All In all an absolutely wonderful, tranquil, luxurious experience! I will definitely be returning again soon! Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyRapunzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent visit, I am delighted with your comments and will pass these throughout the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We recently stayed at Clumber Park Hotel, due to the location been great to the park where we had friends stopping, and a central point to other places in the area. Upon arrival the venue looked great and the reception area where nice and friendly. Been asked to make full payment on arrival was a little shock, due to every hotel I have stayed in, final payment is made on departure. We were allocated a ground floor room adjacent to the main road (room 8), while making our way to the room through the hotel we made observation of the reception area, restaurant etc., and they looked great. When we approached our room, which I must say at £110 per night we were a little shocked to experience the disappointment. Just outside the room door, they had been a leak and a hole cut out of the ceiling with an old ice cream tub wedged into the hole to catch water dripping. This must have been here sometime, due to the fact that the carpet below had a very bad damp mark and mould growing. When we went into our room I where even more shocked, the walls had been liner papered and painted, but the paper was curling of the walls. The Carpet was stained and dated, the beds where not comfy at all, and the bathroom was a disgrace. The door to bathroom was dirty, the frame work was smashed, and the bathroom side was in desperate need of some maintenance. We decided to use the bar on the evening but with a wedding on in the main suite it appeared that they was only one lad running the bar that also waited the restaurant area, so a little wait at the bar to be served or for someone to make an appearance. The morning breakfast food was great, and staff appeared to be very friendly, the only problem in this area the staff failed to take away used plates or bowls after you had finished with them. I now released why full payment up front is required as on departure it appeared that we were not the only one complaining about the discomfort sleep and rooms appearance. Also I failed to ask the question why the smoke detector in our room had a installation dust cap cover still on it???? I cannot comment on the spa as we decided not to use it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A party of friends and I stayed at the Clumber Park on a spa day and night package.

The spa was clean and relaxed and the treatment I had was fantastic - thank you for the lovely nails Davina! However, spar gets busier as the day goes on, round the pool all chairs and loungers reserved with towels.

We had a three course meal as part of the package we were booked in on. Food lovely and good value however, a really long waiting time between courses. There was a wedding in the hotel on the evening we stayed which is probably the reason for this.

Drinks in the bar very expensive!

The major let down for the hotel was the rooms, very dark - no main light just lamps. Decor was also dark adding to the probem. The walls are paper thin, you could hear the people in the rooms next to ours moving around, plugging in and using hairdryers and flushing the toliet. The fact that the rooms were so poor really let down the other aspects of our stay in the Clumber Park.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaarrgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our New Leaf Spa is in high demand of a weekend however, the reservation of loungers is not acceptable and we will look into this.
I apologise for the delay in food service this may have been due to the wedding and also our other restaurant being full. If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

It has a good go at being a modestly upmarket spa hotel, but can't quite pull it off, at least not consistently. Easiest to review the different components separately...

Hotel room - standard double was not terrible, but a bit drab - splash of colour wouldn't go amiss. Plus there were connecting doors (locked, thankfully!) to neighbouring rooms, so the sound insulation is poor. On the upside, a really nice bathroom, and reasonably comfy bed.

Spa - is very nice as hotel pools with attached steam rooms and saunas go, although you might be disappointing if expecting more of a spa complex. Pool is 12m and deep enough for a proper swim. Hot tub outside very bijou in a slightly odd garden setting. Sauna nice and hot, steam room a bit on the cool and small side. Nice cafe/bar area attached, and you can sup a bubbly from the Jacuzzi if you wish!

Restaurants - 'Normanton Inn' was OK, pleasant enough, but a bit overpriced for what you got, and a design and feel that lacks coherence. Fish and chips and beefburger meals are around £13; mushrooms and pancetta gnocchi a rather lovely special at about the same. Selection of breads was a good nibble to start with (but butter and marg in a packets not the classiest touch) and the olives bad value at around £4 for 7 or 8 pretty average olives. Wine variable - a decent merlot at £20, but Paddock Chardonnay at £18.50 was bland - I've had better supermarket bottles of the same for a fiver! Food and ambiance much better on our second night (Saturday) than the Friday, which felt a bit dead. Service and staff friendly and helpful.

Breakfast - not bad. A serviceable cold buffet selection then a choice of breakfasts from a menu. Eggs Benedict were excellent. Full English pretty good, nice black pudding, couple of rashers of bacon, one tomato, one mushroom, one egg to order, and a single sausage (could have done with two). Polenta sausage option didn't really do it for us.

Oddments - they so need new carpets in the one of the staircase corridors above the spa, and the request to wear shoes in the conservatory restaurant is just dated!

All in all, it serves a purpose - a good base for enjoying Clumber Park or Sherwood Pines biking etc. (Spa and Sauna great after a day's riding!), But I'd be disappointed if the hotel was the main thing I was visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoganJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of March on business. It is a really nice hotel. There is a fridge in the room which is a plus. The room is nice and clean and the breakfast is nice and fresh. Worth a visit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Bupsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Manager at Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us whilst on business. I do hope we are able to welcome you back to the Clumber Park Hotel & Spa in the future.

If you would like to contact the hotel to discuss your comments in person, please feel free to do so, the hotel telephone number is 01623 835333. Kind regards, Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clumber Park
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
192 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
21.4 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Retford Markham Moor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa

Address: Blyth Road, Clumber Park S80 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Clumber Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clumber Park
Price Range: £57 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clumber Park Hotel Clumber Park
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel And Spa Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing